KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Middesk

Engaged Employer

Middesk

Add a Review

Middesk Reviews

Updated May 4, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8 of over 8 reviews

4.5
88%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Middesk CEO Kyle Mack  (no image)
Kyle Mack
5 Ratings

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

403

60 Comments

Join the conversation on
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Smart, Funny, Humble Teammates. Love it!

    May 4, 2022 - Customer Experience Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    * Smart, down-to-earth teammates make it so easy and fun to come to work each day. Rare! * Positive, helpful, and well-organized onboarding experience with a nice cohort of new folks made the first two weeks stress-free. * Many meetings and events include genuinely enjoyable team building aspects within them, e.g. Zoom games, personal presentations, etc... Those really matter, since it then feels OK to bring your whole self to work. Again, super rare. Makes coming into work that much more enjoyable. * Welcoming environment in which to ask questions and test out new ideas.

    Cons

    * Like all startups at this stage, there are a few internal tool and process kinks to be worked out. However, everyone is very transparent about any known shortcomings in that area and we're all actively working to make improvements to internal processes each day!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Hidden Tech Startup Gem

    Nov 12, 2021 - Growth Lead in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - people - culture - strategy - product market fit - vibes - design - warmth - best investors - best clients - top tier tech / eng talent - super cool / smart founders

    Cons

    - we have to hire more people to grow this rocket ship even faster and I hope we don’t lose the golden goose vibe - could be more organized

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    VERY well run company, great culture, and an exciting future!

    Oct 17, 2020 - Sales in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've worked at several start-ups and I have to say this is the most well run of them all. Management is transparent, cares for every employee, and they hire incredible people. One of the things I love most is how Middesk strikes the perfect balance between structure and autonomy; enough structure to feel supported and close to coworkers while also providing the freedom and trust to test ideas and take on new projects. Also, every employee at this company is top-notch. Not only in terms of skills and expertise, but also in terms of different backgrounds and being all around great human beings. It's an absolute pleasure to go to work with this team every day. Simply put, there's a reason why this company is surrounded by some of the best minds and investors in the world. No matter which angle you look at it from– the people, culture, mission, vision, values, opportunity, etc. – it's clear as day that Middesk is primed to achieve great things.

    Cons

    The company is growing and moving fast, so if you're looking for something more laid back this might not be the place for you.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Early Success, Great Culture, Innovative Product

    Feb 18, 2021 - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Middesk is an incredible place to work. We have a small team of driven, talented, and fun people, and the positive energy is further amplified by our early success in fundraising and product adoption. Because our company is growing so quickly in terms of usage and employees, it means that every day, I get to come in and think about new and interesting problems. The executives are experienced in the industry, clear in their vision, and down-to-earth to make working with them enjoyable. I feel lucky to be part of this team, and I'm very optimistic about where the company is going.

    Cons

    Given our early stage, projects and priorities are sometimes less clear than they would be at a big company. Some people may not enjoy the work of having to navigate this ambiguity, but I personally find it to be engaging.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    High Caliber Start-Up with Even Better People

    Apr 14, 2021 - Head of Sales in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Its very rare you find a group of people with a truly nuanced approach that is moving in the same direction together as a Team. Ive had the opportunity to work at quite a few early-stage startups and was luckily enough to see them mature as legit tech businesses. Middesk is better run with a true focus on what needs to happen to get to the next level. There are high expectations but the teams support each other in a way that makes each win feel significant and every challenging moment feel like youre on the verge of a breakthrough

    Cons

    High expectations which may or not be a con- for folks. Hyper transparency around work product and progress, very hard to hide or drag. Wearing many hats also forces folks to context shift between strategic planning and tactical work.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Amazing company with a creative team and customer-driven vision

    Feb 17, 2021 - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    From the get-go, its been clear that Middesk has focused on serving it's customers as a team. Each member of the company has worked across various projects and has enabled the company to be nimble and incredibly responsive to our customers. Additionally, the product has grown over time, at a pace that I have never really seen before. This goes hand-in-hand with our team willing to take some pretty bold bets; and much like any young company, there are bets that don't quite pan out. But the failures are what our team has learned pretty quickly from, and are embraced as fantastic learning opportunities. I personally have had the opportunity to work with everyone on the team, contribute in ways I want to, and build product to not only support customers, but also teammates that use internal tooling!

    Cons

    Young companies trek into the unknown, and with anything that is not certain, there is a bit of hesitation. This may come in the form of product organization, balancing planning with building product quickly, and growing sub-teams.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Fast and well-structured startup with huge opportunity

    Nov 14, 2020 - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Middesk is the first startup I've worked at, and it certainly defies the expectations I had about the typical Silicon Valley startup. The company is pretty well run thanks to time put in by management. The product has good market fit and is showing growth regularly. Middesk boasts a strong list of investors and customers. I've also personally found a lot of opportunities to work in new areas and to learn. The tech stack is relatively modern, and features are shipped quickly. Overall the team is super positive and I really enjoy the culture. I don't sense toxicity and genuinely enjoy working with anyone on the team, engineering or otherwise. I think there's a lot of opportunity left for the current product to grow, and for new products to spring up. In regards to the one negative review - while there are some fair points, it's hard to take any of it as truth when a sentence like this is included: "To be 100% crystal clear, I firmly believe I was ultimately fired for beating my boss in an arcade game in front of our coworkers." This is utterly ridiculous - that someone could legitimately believe this shows ignorance to their own faults and possible reasons for termination. For me it made the review highly suspect, and now having been here for more than half a year I know it's mostly embellishment and selective biases.

    Cons

    Middesk is still a startup and can't avoid all the typical shortcomings that come with them. Some weeks can be a crunch, timelines can be tight, and growth can be hard to keep up.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Confused, reckless, best to avoid.

    Jan 30, 2020 - Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    An amazingly talented designer. They compensate well for their stage.

    Cons

    Long, but absolutely critical to consider before joining: Please be aware that my contributions were celebrated up until the moment I was terminated without warning - you can catch photos of me smiling with the rest of the team in a Middesk shirt two days before I wrote this comment. I am a professional with a long history at successful startups, many of which were exited amicably and provide references to this day. Until now, I have never left a bad review for any former employer. I relocated overnight to assist this company during a time of need, provided solo coverage of operations while everyone else - including the founders- went on vacation, and produced celebrated content in the absence of direction or management. Rest assured any reply that characterizes me as anything less than dedicated and honest is mere face-saving PR drivel, if not outright libel. ***Of particular note, in our 1:1 only a week prior to my termination, the CEO had told me to relax because the quality of my work was quite good, and that ample warning would be given if we headed down a "bad path." Strangely, and in obvious direct opposition to these promises, this termination occurred less than a week later, directly following a company outing where I won a competitive video game against the CEO. For the remainder of that night, he would not speak to or look at me, and it was only under visible duress that he shook my hand before leaving. The very next morning, my 1:1 was rescheduled in preparation for the termination. You can't make this kind of pettiness up. ***To be 100% crystal clear, I firmly believe I was ultimately fired for beating my boss in an arcade game in front of our coworkers. After the termination, the CEO misplaced my office keys and threatened to cut my severance pay unless I could produce them. (Worth noting this severance pay was established in a verbal agreement without any conditions about office property to begin with.) I want to be unmistakable here, to help talented people avoid misstepping into this office: Like many Silicon Valley would-be tech evangelists, the CEO's first impression is the result of a practiced revenue generating mask. This story reflects the vindictive, petty personality you can expect once the veneer wears off (or see directly if you pay close attention to his behavior around the office.) Even if you believe yourself in his good graces, be aware that he is not sincere, and there's a definite predatory slant to his deeper thinking. On top of this, the CEO is highly confused, unsure of how the industry he works in uses his products, is willing to hire and fire with very little information, and is ultimately unwilling to adjust for his volatile feelings. Call center workflow: Expected operations task turnaround time is 1 minute. Operations employees are expected to action accounts over their lunch period. 12 hour days are not considered exceptional. "Flex" time in the absence of any actual PTO or RTO solution. Yes, it's the kind where you're indiscriminately criticized for using it depending on how adaptable the management is feeling on the days you need off. Large partnerships are largely unbilled pilots or fallback solutions. Goals and results are kept nebulous to account for the lackluster framework given to any individual assignment or project. Expect to be given extremely broad directives that can only be satisfied by political maneuvering - somehow this culture has been achieved in a team of only nine. Significant issues with diversity - utter lack of any sign of initiatives or racial diversity in core management team. We were given a seminar explicitly on making our behavior more attractive to women. Closely following this, management is making the mistakes characteristic of the inexperienced leadership of a small group of nerdy individuals (all hires to junior roles fall in the demographic of women from 22-28, creating a gendered power imbalance that smacks of both a predatory nature and unconscious sexism.) There's a "core management" team in a company of nine.

    Continue reading
    16 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 8 of 8 English Reviews

Popular Careers with Middesk Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Middesk? Share Your Experiences

or

Middesk Photos

+ Add Photo
Middesk photo of: Halloween Hackathon
Middesk photo of: rock climbing team event

Have you worked here?

See All Photos