Middle Tennessee State University Reviews | Glassdoor

Middle Tennessee State University Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 150 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Middle Tennessee State University CEO Sidney A. McPhee
Sidney A. McPhee
55 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great experience to work with MTSU(in 15 reviews)

  • "The benefits are great due to being considered a state employee(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Middle management issues, low pay, too many additional items required by university policy distracting from primary academic purpose(in 9 reviews)

  • "There are no cons for this university(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great School"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Middle Tennessee State University full-time

      Pros

      Passionate teachers & students, nice campus

      Cons

      Smaller town with not as many amenities.

      Middle Tennessee State University2019-04-03
    • "Underpaid, overworked, big variation between departments"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Middle Tennessee State University full-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        Love Tennessee -- it's a beautiful state. Working with students is a pleasure.

        Cons

        There is a significant disparity among workloads between departments; the pay is low in comparison to state universities in other states; not enough academic freedom in my particular department; highly influenced by state politics.

        Middle Tennessee State University2019-05-14
      • "GTA's Review"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant 
        Recommends
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Middle Tennessee State University part-time

        Pros

        Payment for tuition Good experience for new teachers

        Cons

        Reimbursement of $850 was not enough No teaching classes

        Middle Tennessee State University2019-04-15
      • "Best place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Graduate Research/Teaching Assistant 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Middle Tennessee State University part-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        Best working relationship with coworkers.

        Cons

        Challenges in life balances

        Advice to Management

        Best

        Middle Tennessee State University2019-04-03
      • "Friendly Environment but slow as hell"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Staff in Murfreesboro, TN
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I have been working at Middle Tennessee State University full-time for more than 6 years

        Pros

        people are super friendly and incredibly great at heart and in the face. there are many passionate students to interact with. you can find many knowledgable professors on the campus. peaceful environment

        Cons

        Everything is so slow, they work when they feel like working Managers really do not care about making things better Some buildings are old and need immediate Not many funding opportunities IT support is the worst ever, lovely people but with no care for the service not a research university from a professor or a student point of view

        Advice to Management

        have some care for the grace of GOD. there are many tasks you can do better, the place, and the students need your attention. being the nice guy is the worst management style, please stay away from it. As a top manager, spend some time to find our about the mangers in your team, do not think that bullying won't happen in an academic environment.

        Middle Tennessee State University2019-03-08
      • "Really depends on the department"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant in Murfreesboro, TN
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Middle Tennessee State University part-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        Helps to cover your cost of education

        Cons

        essentially indentured servitude. The pay is not enough to live on, so you either have to grind yourself into the ground looking for adjunct work at Vol State or other community colleges or you have to live off student loans.

        Advice to Management

        Stop treating grad students like we're expendable. you build your departments on our backs.

        Middle Tennessee State University2019-02-13
      • "Great Place to Work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at Middle Tennessee State University full-time for more than 6 years

        Pros

        Hours and benefits are great

        Cons

        Pay is low, definitely below market for most positions

        Middle Tennessee State University2019-01-27
      • "MTSU Farms"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Student Worker Farm Hand in Murfreesboro, TN
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I worked at Middle Tennessee State University for more than 4 years

        Pros

        Work around your class schedule. Great opportunity for learning relevant information about field of agriculture. Very fulfilling work, learned a lot from experienced workers. Great coworkers.

        Cons

        Pay was not too great.

        Advice to Management

        Managers were wonderful people

        Middle Tennessee State University2019-01-14
      • "Undergraduate Academic Tutor"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Murfreesboro, TN
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Middle Tennessee State University part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Working as an academic tutor for Middle Tennessee State University never seemed over-bearing. It was fairly simple to balance my work schedule with classes and so forth without one sliding to the back-burner.

        Cons

        The only downside to working my position as a tutor was the fact that I was the only one with in-depth knowledge of the engineering design courses, which meant that some days I would be the only tutor receiving students to assist in the engineering office. This wasn't a problem for me, but other tutors expressed some concern regarding the fact that they would hardly have any students to tutor in their respective fields....

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        I'd consider having more tutors that are specifically knowledgeable about the CAD courses provided at MTSU, since the large demographic of students seeking tutoring assistance fit this similar profile.

        Middle Tennessee State University2019-01-12
      • "Flexibility for Student Workers at MTSU"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Academic Tutor in Murfreesboro, TN
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Middle Tennessee State University part-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        Every supervisor I had while an undergraduate student worker at MTSU was very understanding of the occasional sudden changes of schedule that came with being an involved student.

        Cons

        There were very few downsides if any.

        Middle Tennessee State University2018-12-21
      Found 150 reviews