Midstate College Reviews

Updated Aug 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
62%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Midstate College President Meredith Bunch
Meredith Bunch
6 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Terrific Place to Work

    Feb 21, 2019 - Director in Peoria, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Midstate is a small, privately owned college Everyone here is treated like family with caring and compassion Everyone's opinion and suggestions are taken into account on a daily basis, we are encouraged to make quality improvements to our departments and make suggestions that may help other departments as well or the college in general Everyone is willing to step up and help out and to work together as a team Flexibility in scheduling

    Cons

    Being a for-profit institution, there are many more regulations and requirements from state and Federal agencies that we have to meet and adhere to in comparison to not-for-profits. Midstate has risen to each of these challenges for over 130 years and will continue to do so.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Low standards in P-Town

    Sep 25, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A decent amount of paid vacation time. The campus closes for two weeks over Christmas. Laid-back environment. Great to help non-traditional students achieve their goal of completing college.

    Cons

    This college brags about its “family” atmosphere, which is code for dysfunction and preference for hiring unqualified family members even when regular staff are laid off. Expect very low pay with no raises or opportunities for advancement while the president doesn’t show any adverse financial effects from the super-low student enrollment rate. They prefer to hire adjunct faculty and pay them horribly, rather than investing in full-time faculty to better the college. They have no standards for students- they will accept anyone!! Straight D’s in high school? No problem! If you can get loans, you can go here. When students start classes, they will continue to be treated like low-achieving high school students. The college preys on low-income students who are not made aware of the financial burden of attending this pricey for-profit college. Admissions is set up as a 1-stop shop, so you can sign up for college on your way home from the grocery store. I’m amazed that this place is still open.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Midstate College is CLOSED - Bankruptcy

    Aug 17, 2019 - Program Director 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Midstate College is CLOSED - Bankruptcy declared

    Cons

    Bankruptcy has been declared and the college is closed after 131 years. The CEO spent too much money on indulgences and erected a student center that was excessive in size and scope.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Midstate College is a great place to work.

    Feb 1, 2019 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The faculty, staff, and administration are very supportive of one another. Everyone makes themselves available for each other, as well as for the students.

    Cons

    I can’t think of any cons at this time.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Cultivating creative minds in students AND employees

    Mar 12, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working for a smaller institution has proved as enlightening as I assumed it would. What surprised me most about Midstate is that regardless of the current dip in enrollment experienced country-wide, administration has refused to forfeit the culture of comfort that its employees have come to know. Each of my coworkers are responsible for challenging and ambitious job functions--many individuals' positions would be difficult to fill with two or three new-hires. As a result, much of the "magical mystery" of what work occurs during a normal business day elsewhere, is here transparent. Growth while working at Midstate College is not an option, it is ensured-- and while the challenging but rewarding work guarantees it, the close-knit atmosphere makes it pleasant. The benefits, ranging from great 401(k) matching to waived tuition for my immediate family, are certainly nothing to complain about either. I may even take them up on tuition reimbursement towards my post-graduate degree in the future, as many of my coworkers have. Sense of accomplishment is important, but so is balance. Midstate gives more than adequate vacation time and was extremely flexible during what was, to my family, a time of certain tragedy. I am forever loyal to Midstate, as it is to its students and alumni. All I can speak to is my experience, and I'm glad to have experienced Midstate.

    Cons

    In my world, there are very few cons at Midstate. It is all a matter of perspective, and one would run into that anywhere.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Faculty

    Oct 17, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    *Family atmosphere *Flexible scheduling for faculty *Nice office space

    Cons

    *Limited departmental budget; reduced options to attend conferences.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    If only zero stars was an available option...

    Sep 17, 2018 - Adjunct Faculty in Peoria, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Best reasons to work at Midstate College? Uhhh.... Yeah, I'm drawing a blank, here. Seriously, I've got nothing nice to say.

    Cons

    The institution has been around since 1888. If things keep going the way they are currently, I doubt they'll see their 135th anniversary in five years. I think the criteria for admission is that you have a name, a SSN, and, the ability to either pay tuition via loans or the ability to land a bunch of grants. Student quality is at an all-time low. They will not turn anyone away, because, well, they want the revenue. The last pay raise to adjunct instructors was a paltry $0.40/hour. This was over the course of at least TEN years, too, so, that averages $0.04/hour/year. That's not something of which to be proud; that is a slap in the face, an utter INSULT to the folks who have made your institution what it once was. Adjunct Instructors at other local institutions make almost 1.5 times what Midstate pays. Trust me, the instructors know it, too. The administration is a joke. Most are grossly-unqualified to do their jobs, and, are only in their positions because the kiss the CEO's butt every chance they get, OR, are members of the family. CEO. What can I say? Awful. She's awful. She is NOT a leader; she does NOT have the best interests of the institution, the faculty, the staff, OR the students in-mind. She only has the best interests of herself on her mind. Anything she wants, like a new car, or a payraise, all she has to do is whine to the Board (which consists largely of her family and family friends), and, the princess gets anything and everything she wants. Spoiled brat at the helm of a company = horrible outlook for the company. This is what we have here, 100%, and, she has proven time and time again that she will not lower her lifestyle for the benefit of the masses. True leaders? Will.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    I love my Midstate family!

    Mar 11, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Peoria, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Midstate College is one of the best place places I've ever worked. The leadership of the college makes it a priority to treat every employee, member of faculty and student like a part of their family. I, personally, have been given many opportunities and feel that I am advancing my career in a very positive way by working at Midstate. The President of the College has worked her way through the entire school, performing many different key job functions, including admissions and developing the foundation for eLearning, as well as many other responsibilities. The President's leadership style, knowledge, expertise and experience prove over and over again that Midstate will continue to succeed for many years to come, just as it has since 1888. I am so proud to be a part of the Midstate family!

    Cons

    I don't have any cons to include about working for Midstate. I am genuinely very happy working for this college!

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Admissions Representative

    Jun 5, 2017 - Admissions Representative in Peoria, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The supportive faculty helped a lot of students that previously attended two or more schools unsuccessfully (or never aspired to a college degree until later in life) finish their diplomas and degrees--a terrific thing. While I was there the school outperformed any other school in the market area to train students to interview and network well to attain the real goal for them-a better life for themselves and their families. I was there so see the whole process happen for several people, and the good things about Midstate made it possible.

    Cons

    Current and present operating management punishes initiative, yet pretends to worry every quarter when enrollments are down after they discourage and even thwart good ideas from program directors and staff to promote the school to major area employers with the very students they could have helped a great deal. Midstate management richly deserves the downfall of the past few years. If you choose to work here you will never experience so much backwards arrogance and dishonesty from such average people.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    I love my job!

    Mar 11, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in East Peoria, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Small classes, individual attention to student needs, up-to-date materials and technology, excellent accreditations, prepared faculty with excellent academic credentials, salary commensurate with like institutions, high expectations backed by available resources, student focused, program admissions standards, tuition reimbursement, 401K, adequate work space conducive to class preparation and student meetings, provision of equipment and materials as justified by program demands, stimulating work environment, family atmosphere fostered within a caring environment, respect as a professional and as a colleague---not just another name, excellent community involvement.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 19 Reviews

Work at Midstate College? Share Your Experiences

Midstate College logo
or