Midwest Transport Reviews | Glassdoor

Midwest Transport Reviews

Updated Oct 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.0
21%
Recommend to a Friend
20%
Approve of CEO
Midwest Transport CEO Barb Hohlbaugh (no image)
Barb Hohlbaugh
10 Ratings
  1. "Great work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Truck Driver in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Midwest Transport full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work was plentiful management was great

    Cons

    Work every holiday only one day a week off on Monday only

    Midwest Transport2018-05-13
  2. "Threatened by a violent co worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Class A Cdl Truck Driver 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Midwest Transport full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I liked my job and had been on it for over 2 years, it was laid back and the work easy for me.

    Cons

    I was working with a new relay driver who had a disposition to violent and menacing, that’s why I left. The manager offered me a lesser position instead of removing the troubled driver from the route that I so much appreciated so I resigned.

    Continue reading
    Midwest Transport2019-10-27
  3. "Mistake"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Midwest Transport full-time

    Pros

    local work , decent equipment and good lead mechanic

    Cons

    time schedule was bad, a lot of night driving, have to keep up with your hours or you will be cheated out of some, never know what you are doing from day to day, they pay over time after 40, but it is hard to get 40, they cut you off at around 36, they also want you to work the weekends sometimes without notice

    Midwest Transport2018-03-19
  4. "Have to fight for 401k money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Midwest Transport part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Usps pay rate good but that's it.

    Cons

    But won't pay for the hours you work. Old worn out trucks!

    Continue reading
    Midwest Transport2018-01-04
  5. "A Very Good Mail Contractor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - 21-years Mail Hauling Experience in Columbia, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Midwest Transport part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good equipment with good maintenance scheduling good driver support through driver managers great hourly pay for mail routes

    Cons

    many trailers need upgrading need a better electronic logging system

    Midwest Transport2017-10-05
  6. "Driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Driver in Jersey City, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Midwest Transport part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They pay good on time good trucks

    Cons

    Poor manger lack of communication

    Continue reading
    Midwest Transport2017-09-22
  7. "US Mail Driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Truck Driver in Cookeville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Midwest Transport full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Steady work and pay is good but that is dictated by the US Postal Service.

    Cons

    Old equipment and management are clueless and refuse to listen to drivers about improvement to equipment and routes.

    Continue reading
    Midwest Transport2017-06-06
  8. Helpful (1)

    "CDL Class A Driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cdl Class A Driver in Rochester, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Midwest Transport full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Health Insurance, I guess. Boss was nice, but needed to work 6 days a week (extra 2 days more than scheduled) to help with routes because people were quitting left and right. Didn't complain, supposed to be extra money right?

    Cons

    Payroll doesn't pay correct amounts if any amount at all. This has been a CONSISTENT issue since starting work but also to others to the point there are a few lawsuits against the company just in Rochester, NY as of right now, however instead of doing something about it, the company keeps making excuses for the "poor two girls in payroll". Unbelievable. Need to drive equipment that breaks down consistently and after a "quick" repair (more like being stranded in Ohio for a day and a half) it's expected to run like brand new... except reality check it doesn't and it breaks down again (but that's fine get it fixed and you better drive through your reset break to get back on time because it's the mail and needs to get there...Unreal..). Doesn't pay 401K although receiving money from the USPS to do so... So where is the money going? Oh that's right. That's 2 more lawsuits they have going just in Rochester!

    Continue reading
    Midwest Transport2017-06-08
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Let go for what? I was released rom my job for refusing to drive 180 miles round trip (and 3+ Hrs). To do a 12 hour run"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Midwest Transport

    Pros

    USPS Contract pays well. About it.

    Cons

    Worn out equipment-average truck mileage 1,000,000mi+. Invested in other 600,000 mile worn out vehicles. Impossible to contact management. Unreal expectations from the company. 16 hr layovers 3x a week for 45 hrs pay for being gone 90 hrs/week. EXPENSIVE medical.

    Continue reading
    Midwest Transport2016-09-14
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Management don't know how to manage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Midwest Transport full-time

    Pros

    Good hours. That's all I have found. If there's anything else it hasn't ever showed up.

    Cons

    Management lies, plays favorites and doesn't know how to supervise Thier employees. Lazy employees and management doesn't see it excuse they stay in the office and never interact with the hourly.

    Continue reading
    Midwest Transport2016-07-07

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 19 reviews