Midwood Ambulance Reviews | Glassdoor

Midwood Ambulance Reviews

Updated Feb 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Midwood Ambulance CEO John Rapisarda
John Rapisarda
2 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Job Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Midwood Ambulance full-time

      Pros

      Family owned business, with down to earth management.

      Cons

      Little room for growth there.

      Midwood Ambulance2016-11-20
    • "Great place to start off but don’t stay."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - EMT-B in Brooklyn, NY
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Midwood Ambulance full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Steady schedule. Union. Paid every week.

      Cons

      Low wage. Overworked. Hard to pick up extra shifts if your a Non- Driver as well. Dispatch is EXTREMELY rude. Only 2 or 3 has a human bone. HR is not for the employee as it should be. The rules in the employee hand book changes when they feel like. Favoritism lives here. You have to always double check your hours especially if your “manually” clocked in.

      Advice to Management

      Treat the EMTs and Medics with respect. Remember that before you got into the office you were once in the road as well. Also pay better and you wouldn’t loose so many people.

      Midwood Ambulance2019-02-26
    • "Emergency Medical Technician"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Emergency Medical Technician in Brooklyn, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Midwood Ambulance full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      This job gave me the experience I needed to know Medically

      Cons

      The pay rate need to improve

      Advice to Management

      Need a better pay rate for the Employees

      Midwood Ambulance2018-10-10
    • "Good work experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - EMT-Basic in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Midwood Ambulance full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Overtime available flexibility in work schedule

      Cons

      Low started wage and no extra for experience

      Midwood Ambulance2018-09-06
    • "Midwood"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Midwood Ambulance part-time

      Pros

      Not a bad place to work

      Cons

      Expect to be spoken down to by dispatchers and don't expect them to care about your levels of fatigue when you are over worked. We are people not machines...

      Advice to Management

      Be fair!

      Midwood Ambulance2018-09-05
    • "Emt"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Career Opportunities
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I have been working at Midwood Ambulance full-time

      Pros

      Good for a starting job , they hire almost any new emts Decent experience Polishing up on EMT skills

      Cons

      Management is very biased. They will play favorites . HR department doesn't work with you well.

      Midwood Ambulance2018-06-16
    • "Don't Do it."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - EMT 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Midwood Ambulance full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Buses always cleaned by maintenance.

      Cons

      Dispatchers become your bosses. Too much favoritism in the workplace.

      Midwood Ambulance2018-03-28
    • "midwood company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - EMT-B in Brooklyn, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at Midwood Ambulance full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      is a great company to earn your experience as an emt or a paramedic

      Cons

      the payment isn't that great minimum wage.

      Midwood Ambulance2018-02-05
    • "Good place to start out"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Midwood Ambulance full-time

        Pros

        Good place to get initial experience as an EMT.

        Cons

        Low pay

        Midwood Ambulance2017-08-17
      • "Emergency medical technician"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Emergency Medical Technician 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I have been working at Midwood Ambulance full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        A great experience getting to know Patients and co worker working with Motivated people understanding how Important my job title is And what an impact I make when it comes to patient care

        Cons

        Other Co-workers complaining about their job and disrespect for the title that they have and for the company peoples conduct is the only con

        Midwood Ambulance2017-08-11
      Found 17 reviews