Mike's Bikes Reviews | Glassdoor

Mike's Bikes Reviews

Updated 28 Feb 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 51 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Mike's Bikes CEO Ken Martin and Matt Adams (no image)
Ken Martin and Matt Adams
36 Ratings
Pros
  • "(in 7 reviews)

  • "Waves off customers come in and you have to work with a lot of people who don't understand how bicycles work(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Being located in a Tech predominant area the cost of living is really high versus what can be made in the cycling industry(in 4 reviews)

  • "Working weekends can be bothersome if you race(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "One of the best bike shops to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mike's Bikes full-time

    Pros

    Mikes bikes has a fun culture and the people in the industry make it that much better. MB pays better than most the industry while also supplying benefits which not many bike shops do.

    Cons

    Not a con of the company, but a con of the industry. Being located in a Tech predominant area the cost of living is really high versus what can be made in the cycling industry.

    Mike's Bikes2018-12-12
  2. "Great Atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mike's Bikes full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company with strong core values. Awesome products and coworkers.

    Cons

    Working weekends, but hey that's retail baby.

    Mike's Bikes2019-02-28
  3. "Part time sales Associate here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Mike's Bikes part-time

    Pros

    It was really a good time

    Cons

    Not really much to say bad

    Mike's Bikes2018-08-15
  4. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Mike's Bikes full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun place to work if cycling is one of your things. The positive work environment, with employee benefits such as free bike demos.

    Cons

    You work primarily with dudes.

    Mike's Bikes2018-07-12
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mike's Bikes full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Discounts on bikes and mostly great poeple to work with

    Cons

    I really enjoyed it, but I think you have to be passionate about bikes and cycling to like it there. And as always, a lot depends on the people you work directly with.

    Advice to Management

    Little conversations with store employees go a long way to breaking down the sense of us and them between retail and corporate positions.

    Mike's Bikes2018-05-14
  6. "Mikes is a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mike's Bikes full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Mikes has a full benefit package with 401k , great employee purchase programs and paid time off. Plus you get paid to ride your bike even on your days off

    Cons

    The stores are often understaffed to keep payroll low and this leads to overworked employees

    Mike's Bikes2018-05-13
  7. "Great if you like and know bikes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Petaluma, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mike's Bikes part-time

    Pros

    It's a great place if you're obsessed with bikes and anything bike related. If you're into one discipline of biking, you'll quickly learn about all the other disciplines.

    Cons

    Retail related cons like working on commission with customers who are browsing to ultimately order online.

    Mike's Bikes2018-03-20
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Disinterested, absent leadership that is failing to adapt"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mike's Bikes part-time

    Pros

    Great people, fun picnics, everyone loves bikes

    Cons

    CEO is absent the majority of the time. No exaggeration, he often is present at HQ less than 10 days per month. And when he does show up, he is aloof and dismissive. I am pretty sure he never knew my name. I know many people who still work there and I hear it has only gotten worse, which is really surprising. With a changing retail climate, antiquated business model, expensive large footprint stores and a top-heavy... payroll, his absence and attitude seem horribly short-sighted and irresponsible. Good luck to you, Mike's BIkes.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Start showing up for work at your own company.

    Mike's Bikes2018-02-03
  9. "Bicycle Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Mike's Bikes part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good folks for the most part. Good mix of people, mostly guys but women too. At the store I work it's a pretty chill atmosphere and everybody usually works around schedules to meet everyone's needs, so long as you're not the guy that's always late at the last minute or you simply don't do your job. Even then the current managers are flexible. The work itself is on your feet most of the day. Waves off customers come... in and you have to work with a lot of people who don't understand how bicycles work. Even on a basic level. It's surprising, when it shouldn't be really. Anyway you learn the tools. Everyone is supportive. Oh and everyone gets a cut of commission in the tech department. And then tech gets a small cut from the sales. So there's a base bay plus average commissions.

    Show More

    Cons

    Personally it's too much of a drinking crowd for me, but if you like your beer and parties like most people do, then that's not a con I guess. Otherwise management from corporate headquarters can screw with shop routines. And the bikes get crowded in the back. I'm not an inspector or official, but the racks for the bikes aren't anchored.

    Advice to Management

    It is what it is. It's the culture man.

    Mike's Bikes2017-10-10
  10. "IT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Support in San Rafael, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mike's Bikes full-time

    Pros

    They encourage you to ride, but that's just because they don't know what work needs to be done.

    Cons

    Upper management has no idea what they're doing and couldn't be bothered to show up in the office.

    Advice to Management

    Learn how to run a retail business in the digital age.

    Mike's Bikes2017-10-25
Found 51 reviews