Milestones Grill & Bar Server Reviews | Glassdoor

Milestones Grill & Bar Server Reviews

Updated Feb 5, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
63%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
Milestones Grill & Bar COO Mark Findlay (no image)
Mark Findlay
6 Ratings
  1. "Love it here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Milestones Grill & Bar part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I love it at Milestones. Everyone is friendly, the environment is generally positive, people have a good time on shift, and the money is decent.

    Cons

    Shifts can be short when not shift leading. Typical restaurant drama.

    Milestones Grill & Bar2020-02-01
  2. "Worst company I worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Food Server 

    I worked at Milestones Grill & Bar full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It was always busy even during the day

    Cons

    I got into a car accident and could hardly walk, they wouldn’t let me take time off to go to phyiso or even rest, even with my doctors note

    Continue reading
    Milestones Grill & Bar2020-02-05
  3. "Typical Restaurant Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Waiter in Markham, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Milestones Grill & Bar part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very family-like environment, flexible hours.

    Cons

    Stressful, concerned over labour hours so shifts are always cut, lazy staff and competitive staff.

    Milestones Grill & Bar2019-11-21
  4. "Milestones"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Server 

    I have been working at Milestones Grill & Bar part-time

    Pros

    - Team-oriented - Professional - Amenable - Good training program

    Cons

    - One bad apple can sour a batch. - Discipline can be considered too stern.

    Continue reading
    Milestones Grill & Bar2019-08-07
  5. "not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Milestones Grill & Bar part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    you make money, that's about it.

    Cons

    everything else. management is terrible and forces women servers to wear dresses and high heels and hair down while men have no guidelines.

    Continue reading
    Milestones Grill & Bar2019-04-16
  6. "Good server job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Server in Kingston, ON

    I worked at Milestones Grill & Bar part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Good on-boarding process - Opportunity for cross training in a variety of roles - Respectful managers/coworkers - Flexible working hours

    Cons

    - High turnover so there is less of a community feeling

    Milestones Grill & Bar2018-10-04
  7. "Great Concept"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Milestones Grill & Bar part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work for!

    Cons

    Hard to move up and develop career

    Continue reading
    Milestones Grill & Bar2018-08-28
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Meh."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Toronto, ON

    I worked at Milestones Grill & Bar part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good company Good incentives Decent pay

    Cons

    too strict long hours management was taking tips

    Continue reading
    Milestones Grill & Bar2018-04-29
  9. "Can be decent if you are willing to commit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Milestones Grill & Bar full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Organized and structured work environment. Low tip out (3.5%). No micro managing. Good shifts in the summertime. If you put in the time, and are closing/ serving in the lounge, tips can be really great.

    Cons

    If you’re not shift leading/cocktail serving, shifts are extremely short. Anywhere from 2-5 hours. So if you’re not working a split shift, money isn’t as good when considering sales and number of hours worked. Food running is a priority so it can be a lot to always be offering “hands” to the expo/their unique callback system is definitely not for everyone. Scheduling is not as flexible in that they lean more towards keeping people with open availabilities. Sussex is one of the locations where seniority really means something. Training is insanely long. Honestly, I have a very neutral outlook on the place... nothing really special. Would really only recommend working here if you plan on staying long term.

    Continue reading
    Milestones Grill & Bar2018-03-31
  10. "Excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Victoria, BC
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Milestones Grill & Bar full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The training is some of the best you'll get in this industry. It may seem over the top to some but it makes the floor and team work really well. They have very high expectations of the food, service, cleanliness, guest experience and management. It's a really fun place to work and management supports you and is always trying to help you improve.

    Cons

    Could improve the local beer/wine selection but because they are corporate it's a bit difficult but they have made improvements with this over the time I worked there. Very busy and fast paced restaurant if you aren't willing to hustle this isn't the place for you.

    Continue reading
    Milestones Grill & Bar2018-03-08
Found 26 reviews