Milgard Manufacturing Reviews | Glassdoor

Milgard Manufacturing Reviews

Updated October 24, 2017
36 reviews

Filter

Filter


4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Vishal Singh
1 Rating

36 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • There are a number of great people that work for Milgard (in 11 reviews)

  • great company with state of the art products (in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • At times, work life balance can get out of kilter (in 7 reviews)

  • Upper management did not always see it that way (in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Milgard Manufacturing full-time

    Pros

    Good wages, great culture and people

    Cons

    Poor work/life balance at times, especially the summer months.


  2. "Great culture and commitment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portland, OR
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Milgard Manufacturing full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Driven environment to succeed and to push employees to do their best
    Fast pace of work to keep employees engaged
    Strong customer focus

    Cons

    At times, work life balance can get out of kilter

    Advice to Management

    Continue to focus on advanced management training

    Milgard Manufacturing Response

    Oct 11, 2017 – Manager, Recruiting and Talent Management

    Thank you for your feedback and for your tenure with us over these past eight years. We are so glad you are part of the Milgard Portland team!

  3. "My experience at Milgard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Worker in Fife, WA
    Former Employee - Production Worker in Fife, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Milgard Manufacturing full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Plant meeting are always great and they give employees opportunity to speak their mind. Employees get rewarded with free catering lunch for great work and work free accident.

    Cons

    Too many gossipers and sometimes problems aren't solve fairly.

    Advice to Management

    Great management!

    Milgard Manufacturing Response

    Oct 9, 2017 – Manager, Recruiting and Talent Management

    Thank you for your positive and constructive feedback about your experience working with us at Milgard. We appreciate your input so much and hope you will consider coming back to work with us in the... More


  4. "sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in San Jose, CA
    Former Employee - Sales in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Milgard Manufacturing full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    great company with state of the art products

    Cons

    high volume expectations on sales

    Advice to Management

    be a little reasonable during a recession

    Milgard Manufacturing Response

    Oct 9, 2017 – Manager, Recruiting and Talent Management

    Thank you for your feedback! We are glad your time with Milgard was positive and that you would recommend us to others.


  5. "Great Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager
    Former Employee - Manager
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Milgard Manufacturing full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Great opportunity for growth, challenging but supportive environment. Business is growing which is good for everyone.

    Cons

    Growth means you will be stretched - be ready to invest the time and energy that it takes. Company going through some change - change is hard.

    Advice to Management

    Stick with it - change is hard. be sure to communicate frequently with everyone.

    Milgard Manufacturing Response

    Aug 10, 2017 – Manager, Recruiting and Talent Management

    Thank you so much for your feedback, which is so valuable to us! And thank you for the eight years you gave to Milgard! We wish you the very best of success in your new endeavors!


  6. "Accounting/ Finance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance/Accounting in Tacoma, WA
    Current Employee - Finance/Accounting in Tacoma, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Milgard Manufacturing full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    *Extremely organized hiring process by HR Dept. Very efficient. Best I've seen.
    *Professional managers that listen to the employees suggestions.
    *Good benefits.
    *Ongoing training online at regular intervals.
    *Annual bonuses.
    *You pick the position you want in the company and they will try to groom you for it going forward. Future plan is essential here. You don't see that much any more.

    Cons

    Long hours at first for salaried employees.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. You are doing an awesome job.

    Milgard Manufacturing Response

    Jul 25, 2017 – Manager, Recruiting and Talent Management

    Thank you so much for your comments about your experience here at Milgard. We want the interviewing, hiring-in, and work experience to be as positive and helpful as possible. 2017 is shaping up to... More


  7. "Worked here for the summer in between academic sessions."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Worker in Tacoma, WA
    Former Employee - Production Worker in Tacoma, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Milgard Manufacturing part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good atmosphere, lots of highly skilled workers in each of the departments. Get to know many of the employees very quickly.

    Cons

    I can't say a whole lot about the company because I was only here on a temporary basis for one summer. While not unique to the company, it did suffer a bit from the recession and is still in a building mode.

    Milgard Manufacturing Response

    May 3, 2017 – Manager, Recruiting and Talent Management

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your summer with us. Best of success to you in your career endeavors in future!

  8. "Machine operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Milgard Manufacturing full-time

    Pros

    Good pay nice leads laid back

    Cons

    Supervisors play favoritism to certain people

    Milgard Manufacturing Response

    May 24, 2017 – Manager, Recruiting and Talent Management

    Thank you for taking the time to comment and also for recommending Milgard as a place to work!


  9. "Newly hired"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - New Hire in Tacoma, WA
    Current Employee - New Hire in Tacoma, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Milgard Manufacturing full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great interview process that went smoothly from start to finish. Workspace (computer, system access, etc) was ready to go when I arrived which is a big plus over other companies where I have had to wait up to a week to be able to start working/training.

    Cons

    Do not have any at this time.

    Milgard Manufacturing Response

    Mar 27, 2017 – HR Generalist

    Thank you so much for the positive feedback! We are happy to hear you had a positive on-boarding experience with the Tacoma team. We strive to make our new hires feel welcomed and ready to make a... More


  10. "Challenging and Rewarding Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tacoma, WA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tacoma, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Milgard Manufacturing full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Milgard is a company where people can grow their career. There are many examples of individuals who have progressed in the organization by showing a high level of ability, engagement and aspiration. Company offers a strong benefits package and competitive pay. Milgard's products have a great reputation in the market and it's cool to be a part of something that is so highly regarded.

    Cons

    The expectations for performance are high, and not everyone is comfortable with that. in the first year the company offers 5 vacation days and 4 personal days, which is okay but could be better. After one year it jumps to 10 days and 4 days.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the hours for production to under 50 in the summer months.

    Milgard Manufacturing Response

    Mar 6, 2017 – HR Generalist

    What wonderful feedback from a tenured employee - we are thankful for everyone who continues to grow and progress within their career here at Milgard. Successful employees means a successful company... More


Showing 36 of 134 reviews
Reset Filters