Milgard Manufacturing Reviews | Glassdoor

Milgard Manufacturing Reviews

Updated December 4, 2017
130 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

130 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • There are a number of great people that work for Milgard (in 11 reviews)

  • great company with state of the art products (in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • Poor work/life balance at times, especially the summer months (in 7 reviews)

  • Upper management did not always see it that way (in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Good people, management needs work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Tacoma, WA
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Tacoma, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Milgard Manufacturing full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    I work with some of the most individually kind and caring people around.
    Everyday is a new challenge
    I have found a mentor who I respect and engage with often
    Working in a company that actually produces a physical product is rewarding and gives no small amount of pride

    Cons

    Group culture here is either corporate rah-rah or on a witch hunt
    Everyday is a new challenge because tomorrow is never planned for
    Because of the other two issues the quality of our product is currently in question

    Advice to Management

    Focus on quality, not the sale. Though sales is important our service afterwards is killing us.

    Milgard Manufacturing Response

    Oct 9, 2017 – Manager, Recruiting and Talent Management

    Thank you for your positive comments. We're pleased you found a mentor that can assist you in your career - we believe in the power of mentorship. We're always focused on our service and appreciate... More


  2. "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Slotter in Dixon, CA
    Former Employee - Slotter in Dixon, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Milgard Manufacturing full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    youll workout overtime like no other.

    Cons

    poor management, dont get much help as a slotter

    Advice to Management

    If you guys really want to know why people quit all the time start with the slotters. dont ask the people on the line. I seen atleast 20 people get hired and leave within the first week or two. You guys lie to them about the hours, you guys need to be straight up and tell them "your gonna work overtime and your getting no help because we couldnt find any of the 20 people that work the line to help. so while they go home on time you have to stay and work an extra 3 hours with no help". Whatever shift you work, I bet you anything you wont have time to have a life.

  3. "sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in San Jose, CA
    Former Employee - Sales in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Milgard Manufacturing full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    great company with state of the art products

    Cons

    high volume expectations on sales

    Advice to Management

    be a little reasonable during a recession

    Milgard Manufacturing Response

    Oct 9, 2017 – Manager, Recruiting and Talent Management

    Thank you for your feedback! We are glad your time with Milgard was positive and that you would recommend us to others.


  4. "Professional yet family oriented the PERFECT balance!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Credit Analyst in Tacoma, WA
    Current Employee - Senior Credit Analyst in Tacoma, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Milgard Manufacturing full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great Benefits with a welcoming team from the beginning of the hiring process to the end

    Cons

    i don't have any at this time

    Milgard Manufacturing Response

    Aug 22, 2017 – Manager, Recruiting and Talent Management

    Thank you so much for your kind words about Milgard. We're glad you joined the team and took the time to share your experience with others!


  5. "Thank you to my manager, his manager and HR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Credit Analyst in Tacoma, WA
    Current Employee - Credit Analyst in Tacoma, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Milgard Manufacturing full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I was having concerns about all of the hours I was working. Management listened to my manager, and he was approved to hire additional people, and to bring in temps to help lighten the load.

    Cons

    During the interview process, I was not aware of all of the overtime hours expected.

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for listening to your department.

    Milgard Manufacturing Response

    Aug 22, 2017 – Manager, Recruiting and Talent Management

    Thank you for sharing your comments with your Manager and then with others! We appreciate your care and concern about how we're doing - your input is valued! Keep your ideas coming!


  6. "Great Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager
    Former Employee - Manager
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Milgard Manufacturing full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Great opportunity for growth, challenging but supportive environment. Business is growing which is good for everyone.

    Cons

    Growth means you will be stretched - be ready to invest the time and energy that it takes. Company going through some change - change is hard.

    Advice to Management

    Stick with it - change is hard. be sure to communicate frequently with everyone.

    Milgard Manufacturing Response

    Aug 10, 2017 – Manager, Recruiting and Talent Management

    Thank you so much for your feedback, which is so valuable to us! And thank you for the eight years you gave to Milgard! We wish you the very best of success in your new endeavors!


  7. "Minimum wage?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    I'm not an employee, I do research for folks looking for work, or better opportunities. Is this a minimum wage job?

    Cons

    None as of yet, hoping my clients can apply of worth it.

    Milgard Manufacturing Response

    Aug 22, 2017 – Manager, Recruiting and Talent Management

    Not minimum wage, no! We want people to stay at Milgard and also move up and advance their careers. There is opportunity to grow in your skill set, in your compensation and in your rewards!

  8. "It's production"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Milgard Manufacturing full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, always busy, no layoffs.

    Cons

    Required overtime, no clear direction from management.

    Advice to Management

    Follow through, be more clear in your direction, give more back to the workers that hold you up, stop firing experienced individuals. Employee retainment!

    Milgard Manufacturing Response

    Aug 10, 2017 – Manager, Recruiting and Talent Management

    Thank you for your feedback! We're glad you are on our team and your input is very valuable to us. You're right - clear direction is important and we will continue to strive to be clear and... More


  9. "Accounting/ Finance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance/Accounting in Tacoma, WA
    Current Employee - Finance/Accounting in Tacoma, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Milgard Manufacturing full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    *Extremely organized hiring process by HR Dept. Very efficient. Best I've seen.
    *Professional managers that listen to the employees suggestions.
    *Good benefits.
    *Ongoing training online at regular intervals.
    *Annual bonuses.
    *You pick the position you want in the company and they will try to groom you for it going forward. Future plan is essential here. You don't see that much any more.

    Cons

    Long hours at first for salaried employees.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. You are doing an awesome job.

    Milgard Manufacturing Response

    Jul 25, 2017 – Manager, Recruiting and Talent Management

    Thank you so much for your comments about your experience here at Milgard. We want the interviewing, hiring-in, and work experience to be as positive and helpful as possible. 2017 is shaping up to... More


  10. "Looking through the window"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Worker in Dixon, CA
    Former Employee - Production Worker in Dixon, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Milgard Manufacturing full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    The employees are great to work with .

    Cons

    Management needs help with people/employee skill as far as Individuals being respected.

    Advice to Management

    Stop putting fear in your GOOD employees life, make them feel that they are appreciated.

    Milgard Manufacturing Response

    Aug 10, 2017 – Manager, Recruiting and Talent Management

    Thank you for your feedback, which we value! We will pass your comments along to management and appreciate that you took the time to share them with us.


Showing 130 of 135 reviews
Reset Filters