KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Milgard Manufacturing

Is this your company?

Milgard Manufacturing

Add a Review

Milgard Manufacturing Employee Reviews about "great people"

Updated Nov 5, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 of over 227 reviews

4.0
67%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Milgard Manufacturing CEO, MI Windows and Doors Matt DeSoto
Matt DeSoto
19 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people internal and external(in 14 reviews)

  • "Fast pace job make time go by faster if you like to stay busy(in 10 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Sometimes can be working long hours(in 11 reviews)

  • "This shows a TON of upper management (corporate) instability(in 8 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Milgard Manufacturing and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "great people"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Milgard Windows&Doors

      Nov 10, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great People, Great Benefits and Steady income

      Cons

      Loud Noises, PPE can be uncomfortable after a while

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Milgard Manufacturing Response

      HR Generalist

      We love to hear that you are satisfied with the people you work with, your benefits, and your wages with Milgard! We strive to ensure we are providing a comprehensive and competitive benefit package to all our employees. Please connect with your Supervisor or HR Manager in regards to your PPE. We want everyone to be comfortable and safe at all times so it might be time to re-evaluate your current PPE gear.

    2. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      A company in transition

      Mar 3, 2017 - Engineering Manager in Tacoma, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are a number of great people that work for Milgard. Some of those great people are quite talented at certain things and can teach you a lot if you are willing to learn. I've learned that sometimes it is best to spend 90% of the time listening and 10% of the time asking questions. When at first you disagree with what you hear, take the time to see if there truly is a method to the madness.

      Cons

      The absolute biggest con of working for Milgard is the concept of accountability. Milgard recently went from the old Milgard Philosophy to a new "cultural beliefs" and then again to a new "Milgard Core Values." Many employees are hesitant to embrace these as the question in their minds is, "Will this change again." I personally believe that they've settled on something given the new (interim) president and the heavier hand of Masco influence. I'm hoping that 6 months from now, what I now call a "con" will no longer be such.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Milgard Manufacturing Response

      HR Generalist

      We are very appreciative of your 5 year tenure with Milgard and your honest feedback. As you've mentioned, Milgard has transitioned from a philosophy founded by Gary Milgard to a set of Core Values that strategically aligns with Masco. With these changes, Milgard focuses their commitment on the goals of 2017 through 5 core values; focusing on our customer, cultivating high performing teams, respect for the individual, continuously improve and drive for results. We are excited for what 2017 has in store!

    3. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      HR Business Partner

      Feb 28, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are some really great people who work for Milgard that have been with the company through its ups and down. These people live and breathe Milgard, its Philosophy of Respect, Customer Service and Excellence, and the high quality the Milgard name stands for. These are the people that keep me coming back to work each day.

      Cons

      Pay is not competitive unless you are an elite member of the management staff hierarchy. The rest of the employees are simply afterthoughts. There is no work-life balance--employees are expected to pour their blood, sweat and tears into the business but the business gives you nothing back. Raises are not related to your work effort and often times people are passed up for promotions based on popularity, not skills and qualifications. Managers are not held accountable and the sword always falls on the "little guys."

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Milgard Manufacturing Response

      HR Generalist

      As a member of the HR team, you know the value of employees exercising the Open Door Policy to express concerns, frustrations, and suggestions. As demonstrated above, there are definitely some things bothering you and we would encourage you to also seek out your supervisor or a member of the Corporate HR team to discuss what you are seeing and experiencing.

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Wonderful almost close knit family environment at corporate office.

      Jul 27, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people to work with . People who work hard and do not bring their own agendas do very well. There have been some bad eggs (posting on this board) but were either fired or left the company. Executives are good people..seem to care a lot about employees

      Cons

      Profit sharing was cut and just recently started up again but not a lot. Lot of changes past few years but looks like its getting better. Bonus program is best I ever had.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Paint Department

      Feb 7, 2018 - Paint in Sacramento, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      New to the company. But great people to work with. Very family based. Definately a career based company. Management is great. Excellent benifits and bonuses. Awesome lunch room! All around great company. Pays decent to

      Cons

      No parking! No overtime for new hires.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Milgard Manufacturing Response

      Talent Acquisition Specialist

      Welcome to the team! We are really happy that you have chosen Milgard to pursue your career goals. We look forward to seeing your career grow with us in the future.

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Wonderful place to work.

      Feb 24, 2012 -  in Tacoma, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Compared to where I have worked in the past, very good team work. A sense of family and we are all in it together vs brutal corporate environment. Great people to work with.

      Cons

      Difficult past few years with downturn in housing. Pay and benefits have taken a hit.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Fast paced

      Oct 19, 2011 - Inside Sales Representative in Portland, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great people great company philosophy

      Cons

      CONSTANTLY downsizing. been demoted once due to lay offs BUT I was able to remain employed

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Milgard rating

      Apr 28, 2018 - Inside Sales Representative in Sacramento, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people internal and external. Fast pace. Good pay and benefits.

      Cons

      You are expected to work a lot of OT

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Milgard Manufacturing Response

      Manager, Recruiting and Talent Management

      Thank you for your comments and for the ten years you spent with us. We wish you only the very best in your career pursuits!

    9. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Milgard Windows

      Jun 24, 2010 - Senior Sales Representative in Hollister, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people! Fair Compensation. Quarterly reviews provide regular feedback to every employee.

      Cons

      Weak senior management. Politics within the organization are considered sport. Milgard cultivates conflict between employees believing it makes them a better organization.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Disappointing

      Mar 5, 2013 - Anonymous Employee in Tacoma, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I worked with some really great people.

      Cons

      Extremely old fashioned company down to the good ole boys club. People are very frequently promoted or passed over for reasons other than merit and talent. Very few opportunities for women and minorities to grow. There is a distinct favoritism shown toward Mormons. Very few employee perks or incentives. Raises are always up in the air (except for executives) or virtually non existent.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 14 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Milgard Manufacturing Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Milgard Manufacturing? Share Your Experiences

    or