KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Milgard Manufacturing

Is this your company?

Milgard Manufacturing

Add a Review

Milgard Manufacturing Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Mar 12, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 of over 227 reviews

4.0
67%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Milgard Manufacturing CEO, MI Windows and Doors Matt DeSoto
Matt DeSoto
19 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people internal and external(in 14 reviews)

  • "Fast pace job make time go by faster if you like to stay busy(in 10 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Sometimes can be working long hours(in 11 reviews)

  • "This shows a TON of upper management (corporate) instability(in 8 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Milgard Manufacturing and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "long hours"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Thank you!

      Nov 25, 2018 - Credit Analyst in Fife, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Milgard has an awesome monetary match program for donations made to non-profit organizations. Thank you very much!

      Cons

      Sometimes can be working long hours.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Milgard Manufacturing Response

      Senior Manager, Talent Development

      Thank you so much for your feedback which is so appreciated. Glad you are on the Milgard Team!

    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Ok

      Mar 12, 2020 - Painter in Sacramento, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay and great benefits

      Cons

      Long hours and not enough home time

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Milgard Manufacturing Response

      Senior Manager, Talent Development

      Thank you for your feedback, which is so important to us! You highlighted some great advantages included in our comprehensive benefit offerings. We do try very hard to manage and limit overtime as we want to ensure a positive work/life balance for all. One of Milgard's core values is to continuously improve. Thank you for sharing!

    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Customer service

      Oct 4, 2019 - Customer Service Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People you work with are good and pay is good

      Cons

      Long hours and managers aren’t the greatest

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Milgard Manufacturing Response

      Senior Manager, Talent Development

      Thank you for your feedback, which is so important to us! We wish you only the very best in your career pursuits!

    4. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      More than small problems.

      Oct 20, 2018 - Warehouse Associate in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Health benefits are good Steady Paycheck Good people to work with

      Cons

      Far away from corporate headquarters. Denver (actually in Aurora, but tags as Denver) is very much "out of site out of mind" it seems to corporate. Emergency situations (a manager quits and somebody needs to fill the position immediately), or the quarterly "planned visit" are the only time we see anybody from corporate. Anytime we need anything (more people hired, an employee deserves a raise outside of the once a year (sometimes) "raise day", positions created, anything that is more than buying the small materials we need, has to be approved through corporate. However, corporate isn't around to see the need, so everything needed takes forever to get (rarely) approved. High turnover throughout. From entry level positions, through management. I have seen at least 3 different "GM's", 3 different Finance Managers (soon to be 4), 4 different production managers, easily 15+ production supervisors, 25+ Production line Leads, and hundreds (I would venture to say into a thousand, but I don't have supporting information) of production floor employees come and go. I haven't been here 10 years yet. This shows a TON of upper management (corporate) instability. People generally don't quit their job, they quit their manager. However, there are no stable managers, as every 2 years its somebody new coming in to prove themselves and change everything again. - Very hard on the people to do this again and again. Most of the seasoned employees lose respect for the management positions, because this new guy is just going to be gone in a little while like all the others. Lack of opportunity for advancement. Milgard Denver has periodically attempted to do employee training and furthering, but gives up on it quickly. From the "Learning to Lead" program that taught employees some of the skills to lead production teams, to the "Bridge Program" that gave some higher "Lean" teaching to Supervisors and Leads, they do nothing now, giving up on them because they don't have the time or resources to dedicate to furthering employees. In the years I have worked for Milgard Denver, I have only seen 2 employees (Both of which are indirect labor/office employees) receive actual promotions. Denver will promote an employee to "Production Lead" pretty quickly and easily, that's just a small pay raise with the expectation that you make sure your department performs. Nothing to write home about considering the responsibility put in your lap for the pay increase. Every other position above production lead (salary starts above production lead) is hired from outside, not promoted from within. To put it simply, this means that if you weren't hired as a supervisor or higher, you will never advance to supervisor or higher. This is especially harmful to moral when a supervisor or manager leaves the company (and they do it often), and it falls onto the "lower in the chain of command" employees to pick up the slack and keep things running, to take care of the customers and company. Employees that aspire for more, will jump in and do the extra work, but are never credited or promoted. Milgard will hire somebody from the outside again, who will have to learn the processes, and will leave the company in less than 2 years, and the circle begins again. - Dead End Job means you can't advance, Milgard Denver is a dead end job for anybody that wants advancements opportunities. Cost of Living - Doesn't match pay rate. Colorado has been booming over the last several years (Good thing) and the cost of living has increased, but the pay rate at Milgard Denver has not increased to match. Other companies in the area offer better pay, so we lose good employees to higher paying companies. It also makes it harder to find good employees for the lower pay rate, contributing to our very high turnover rate. This in turn contributes to quality issues, difficulty in hitting UPEH goals, and having to work long hours to get the jobs done. All contributing to cost of business.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Milgard Manufacturing Response

      Senior Manager, Talent Development

      Thank you for your feedback, and for all you accomplished during your time at Milgard. We appreciate your feedback and take it to heart for future improvements. Thank you for sharing and we wish you all the best.

    5. 2.0
      Former Employee

      warehouse manager

      Apr 24, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good pay for supervisor and above

      Cons

      long hours and poor company management

      1 person found this review helpful

      Milgard Manufacturing Response

      Manager, Recruiting and Talent Management

      We do try very hard to manage and limit overtime as we want to ensure a positive work/life balance for all. We also have a new President at the helm of the company who is very committed to employee well-being. Thank you for your comments and for your time with us!

    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Accounting/ Finance

      Jul 24, 2017 - Finance/Accounting in Tacoma, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      *Extremely organized hiring process by HR Dept. Very efficient. Best I've seen. *Professional managers that listen to the employees suggestions. *Good benefits. *Ongoing training online at regular intervals. *Annual bonuses. *You pick the position you want in the company and they will try to groom you for it going forward. Future plan is essential here. You don't see that much any more.

      Cons

      Long hours at first for salaried employees.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Milgard Manufacturing Response

      Manager, Recruiting and Talent Management

      Thank you so much for your comments about your experience here at Milgard. We want the interviewing, hiring-in, and work experience to be as positive and helpful as possible. 2017 is shaping up to be a banner year - thank you for being part of it!

    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      shipper

      May 21, 2017 - Shipper in Tacoma, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      friendly people, good benfits, good place to work, willing to train in new area if willing to learn more about windows and doors

      Cons

      doesn't pay good for the work they want done, long hours

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Milgard Manufacturing Response

      Manager, Recruiting and Talent Management

      Thank you for your feedback! We're glad you recommend Milgard as a place to work! Compensation is always important to each of us and we recognize that our operators are hard workers who give their all. Currently we are evaluating compensation as we do every year. Thanks for your feedback.

    8. 3.0
      Former Contractor, less than 1 year

      Software Engineer

      Jul 15, 2016 - Software Engineer in Tacoma, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice laid back setup, broken into teams of very talented individuals of diverse backgrounds, friendly management.

      Cons

      Long hours, hard pressing deadlines, poor design choices occasionally made

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Warehouse Off-Loader/Loader/Order Puller at Milgard

      Jun 17, 2016 - Order Puller/Loader/Receiving Associate in Temecula, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent Pay, Gym, Job Rotations, Benefits, 401k, Multiple Discounts other than Milgard Product Discounts, co-workers were very respectful

      Cons

      VERY physically strenuous, be prepared to work very long hours, temp agency for first 2-3 weeks, employees tend to complain once in awhile over stupid things. Job is 5 days a week, 10 hours a day. Benefits won't kick in until after 60-90 days. This isn't a job for everyone.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Production Supervisor

      Jan 12, 2016 - Production Supervisor/Plant Superintendent in Tacoma, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great co-workers, pay, location, benefits

      Cons

      Long hours, some upper management issues,

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 11 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Milgard Manufacturing Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Milgard Manufacturing? Share Your Experiences

    or