Milk Bar Reviews | Glassdoor

Milk Bar Reviews

Updated Sep 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Milk Bar CEO Christina Tosi (no image)
Christina Tosi
33 Ratings
Pros
  • "I have been at Milk Bar for about a month(in 8 reviews)

  • "Work environment is extremely friendly and collaborative(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours and lots of meetings(in 6 reviews)

  • "When asked to think about the pros of working for Milk Bar, I couldn't think of any recent ones(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Fun & Easy Job, Too Much Corporate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier/Barista 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Milk Bar part-time

    Pros

    The job is easy and fun. The pay is great for the type of job and you get tips. At some stores everyone is friends, but at others, there's constant drama. Overall it's a great company to work for. They care about the workers, the benefits are great, they give Christmas presents, and there's company parties quarterly .

    Cons

    It's getting a little too corporate! It's not the same local New York brand it used to be. They are very focused on maximum profit and expansion, and sometimes lose sight of what made them so special to begin with.

    Milk Bar2019-05-08
  2. "Bad Management, Good Coworkers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Key Holder in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Milk Bar part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get to meet a lot of different people since you will have the opportunity to work in other store locations and most of them have a background in food/customer service. If you are passionate about working in food, this place is a good start and you get to learn how to make all types of espressos!

    Cons

    Sometimes you will be moved to a different store location for a shift but you won't be asked until a few hours before your shift starts. And since there are so many store locations in NYC, no one is watching over to see how managers are treating their employees. Working all midnight shifts is not fun especially when it is supposed to be split evenly with other employees.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure the employees are getting treated fairly and everyone has equal opportunity for growth. Have a set training period for keyholders instead of managers deciding for you when you are ready to become one.

    Milk Bar2019-09-25
  3. Helpful (3)

    "An awful micromanaged shame of a bakery."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - FOH in Melrose, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Milk Bar full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get pay checks weekly

    Cons

    The hours, the lighting, management, Christina Tosi, having to lie to customers about the freshness of the product. The product.

    Advice to Management

    It's 2019 you should stop letting misogynistic men run your establishment.

    Milk Bar2019-08-15
  4. Helpful (4)

    "One of the most bizarre placed I ever worked!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Milk Bar full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They bring cake into the office sometimes. The restrooms are pretty nice.

    Cons

    I have seen more mature people at a daycare than at Milk Bar. If you don't have a million tattoos on your arms, then you don't fit in with their idea of "culture." Very few people there are smart / work hard and instead they just talk about bs most of the day. They recently fired their COO and turnover in the company is extremely high. Some very weird employees - whole thing is bizarre.

    Milk Bar2019-07-29
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Milk bar ex employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in New York, NY
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Milk Bar part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Love being aroud food and snacking? Milk is a good fit for you.

    Cons

    It get very hot in the stores at times.

    Milk Bar2019-06-02
  6. "Teamwork makes the dream work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Assistant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Milk Bar part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The HR team is committed . I appreciate that when I need help, it's given and when an assignment is handed to me, I am not micro-managed. I have flexibility in terms of schedule which helps a lot because I am a full time student.

    Cons

    I don't have more time to become part of the team.

    Milk Bar2019-05-07
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fulfillment Associate in Brooklyn, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Milk Bar full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Stable 40 hours a week Usually fair with schedule request Overtime available often Free lunch

    Cons

    Low pay and infrequent raises Too many supervisors, many of them not very useful Overly noisy environment, supervisors/managers never tell anyone to lower music Unnecessary culture of passive aggression from all levels of workers Qualified employees will be passed over for promotions in favor of new hires

    Advice to Management

    If employees are upset there's probably a good reason Management/supervisors should not be passive aggressive to employees

    Milk Bar2019-04-13
  8. "fast-paced & fun environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Milk Bar full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - everyone's opinions are valued - entrepreneurial spirit and "get it done" mentalities are encouraged, with little-to-no red tape - people are genuine and don't take themselves too seriously

    Cons

    - for such a small org, communication across teams could be better - business could be more proactive vs. reactive

    Advice to Management

    -create clearer org structure - it's often unclear who is responsible for what within the organization -all staff meetings would be nice - major company updates are often communicated in silos which can lead to misunderstandings or lack of clarity of the way forward

    Milk Bar2019-04-01
  9. Helpful (2)

    "FOH"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - FOH in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Milk Bar part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and opportunities to grow with in the company.

    Cons

    management is VERY unappreciative if the staff.

    Advice to Management

    Need to have better attitudes. Pay more attention on workers progress instead of ignoring and doubting them.

    Milk Bar2019-02-15
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Low quality products and unprofessional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Milk Bar full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    flexible hours that kinda it

    Cons

    frozen /expired food on shelves, incompetent management & immature staff

    Advice to Management

    spend more time on the existing stores and their cleanliness and less time on opening new ones. We once pushed cookies that were past shelf life so long that the spare stock expired too. I once sold a woman from out of state who was so excited to be at milk bar a frozen solid slice of pie because that's what we had. We were told that the coffee has a shelf life of 3 years absolutely disgusting. working there broke... my heart.

    Show More
    Milk Bar2019-03-02
Found 57 reviews