Millcreek Community Hospital Reviews | Glassdoor

Millcreek Community Hospital Reviews

Updated May 20, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Millcreek Community Hospital CEO Mary L. Eckert
Mary L. Eckert
2 Ratings
  1. "Feels like the good old days before huge conglomerate hospital corporations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Erie, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Millcreek Community Hospital

    Pros

    Parking is great. The people in HR are nice...all the time. Housekeeping does a good job keeping the place looking clean and neat. The cafeteria is cheap and the food is good. The food service employees are always nice. They hire real police for security and they are pleasant and visable, not hiding in a room just watching security camera tv. All the departments are small enough that it's easy to get to know at least...

    Show More

    Cons

    Middle management could use more help, many seem stretched thin. Pay is biweekly. Some things are not the latest and greatest technology wise but do the job just the same.

    Millcreek Community Hospital2017-11-27
  2. "Patient Account analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Millcreek Community Hospital full-time

    Pros

    They provide nice benefits for all full time employees

    Cons

    Management, difficult to move up within departments

    Millcreek Community Hospital2018-05-20
  3. "Difficult doctors to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Erie, PA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Millcreek Community Hospital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Smaller Hospitol better for department and co workers

    Cons

    Difficult to work with surgeons lack of equipment

    Advice to Management

    Better schedule s

    Millcreek Community Hospital2017-08-04
  4. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Millcreek Community Hospital full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    12 hour shifts, great coworkers

    Cons

    Low pay and frequent schedule changes

    Millcreek Community Hospital2017-04-03
  5. "Medical Transcriptionist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Transcriptionist in Erie, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Millcreek Community Hospital full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Excellent benefits and retirement plan, small hospital. Hospital census mostly psychiatric and detox. Lots of outpatient surgery. Being small in size keeps it friendly and cozy maybe. Part of the largest census medical school in the country, LECOM (Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine.

    Cons

    Too many chiefs, people in charge or overseeing not qualified; being small if you know someone you can get what you want. Sometimes tough getting vacation you want. Not much room for advancement.

    Advice to Management

    Get qualified people to manage, you don't use people from other dept to manage

    Millcreek Community Hospital2016-11-05
  6. "Unfair practices by unit management and HR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Erie, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Millcreek Community Hospital for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Most coworkers were very friendly.

    Cons

    the hardest working ppl get the least amount of pay and are generally treated poorly by other coworkers because of job status. MCH is the only place I have ever worked where people talk about you behind your back constantly about things that are nobody else's business. Some managers are very unprofessional by doing this in my opinion.

    Advice to Management

    I wonder if Mary (CEO) is aware of this problem with management? It seems that she is not because she is a woman of integrity and respect for others as well as the Ferretti's. I often think about letting them all know what kind of people they're allowing run their hospitals reputation into the ground.

    Millcreek Community Hospital2016-11-30
  7. "Worst job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Millcreek Community Hospital full-time

    Pros

    The only thing that was nice is my time was flexible.

    Cons

    Overworked due to combining two positions into one. Heavy work flow. No appreciation for working over to try to keep afloat with the work. Micromanaged by upper management. Manager didnt want to be bothered with questions or concerns. Basically just held the title & had an office. Alot of hospital staff were not very nice to work. Just a very cold atmosphere.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees like a person not another number. Appreciate what they do & provide positive feedback instead of all the negatives.

    Millcreek Community Hospital2016-07-30
  8. "Work is what you make of it such as everything in life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Millcreek Community Hospital full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Love the people that I work with, the patients, our docs are the best. It is a small hospital everyone knows everyone else. The CEO is always out and walks the halls and she knows everyone's name. Many perks, free coffee, free lunch on weekends and holidays. 403B program, Insurance is great and if you use an MAE physician everyone in your family can see a doc for free.

    Cons

    Negative attitude from staff who are extremely spoiled and they all feel entitled. It is appalling to think that nurses should only work Monday thru Friday no weekends, no holidays. We are 24 hours a day 7 days a week 365 days a year. Come to work and don't complain.

    Advice to Management

    Encourage nurses to attend seminars, pay for seminars and provide some at the hospital for us

    Millcreek Community Hospital2016-02-08
  9. "Good first year"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Millcreek Community Hospital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    my manager and co-workers -- Availability of manager and top management -- the CEO walks around -- able to talk to her. Only local control hospital in Erie --

    Cons

    There could be greater communication Some co-workers are not up to standards, but they have been working on this

    Advice to Management

    there needs to be better training, but on the whole this is good place to work

    Millcreek Community Hospital2015-11-09
  10. "Horrible Upper Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Erie, PA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Millcreek Community Hospital full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Love the people I work with.

    Cons

    Horrible wages. Embarrassing raises. Never any staff. Upper management Does not care about the employees and voices that. They do not care about your family life or illnesses.

    Millcreek Community Hospital2015-09-28
Found 18 reviews