KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Millennial Media

Part of AOL
Is this your company?

Millennial Media

Add a Review

Millennial Media Reviews

Updated Jul 16, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 71 of over 73 reviews

3.3
55%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Millennial Media CEO Michael Barrett (no image)
Michael Barrett
31 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fast growing company with some upward mobility(in 5 reviews)

  • "great people, fun place to work and learn(in 5 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Pay was not where it should have been and ops is all in baltimore which for a west coast seller is a huge challenge(in 6 reviews)

  • "Company has undergone a serious cultural shift since IPO and Jumptap avquisition(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Human Resources

      Nov 29, 2017 -  in Baltimore, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Culture, Transparent Communication, Fast Paced

      Cons

      There aren't many more companies like this

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Where common sense goes to die.

      Jun 19, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are pockets of smart, talented and inventive people who want to make a difference and do amazing things. The culture created by the employees is strong, far stronger than the one the company tries to push.

      Cons

      Poor communication internally, even non-existent at times. Utter lack of direction since the merger. There has been zero integration plan to date. No one is taking responsibility either which is baffling to see at the senior exec level. Where is the accountability? Engineers are leaving in record numbers, can't get necessary work done to operate efficiently or potentially scale. There is a general inability to attract solid talent which is a vicious cycle. We have far more attrition than anyone can keep up with. The identity of the company since the merger seems in question. The Baltimore HQ no longer has the weight it used to but those here haven't fully recognized that. Career pathing isn't a focus in most orgs. It depends on the individual managers to make something out of nothing in that regard. Be more aggressive about cutting the under performers. There are too many hanging on and being mediocre and it's poisoning the environment for those who perform.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Amazing first experience in the workforce

      May 4, 2015 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I had worked odd jobs throughout high school and college, and had never had a real corporate experience. After graduation I got an internship working in one and I hated it. I counted the hours and couldn't wait for the work day to end. Since joing Millennial Media, I actually enjoy going to work every day. the people I work with are great. Everyone has been helpful in showing me the ropes, my managers are patient and are very eager to help me learn and grow. I've worked jobs before with little recognition, and Millennial feels like the opposite. Every task no matter how small it feels like I'm being told how great of a job I'm doing. Being able to be in an environment with such mutual respect and easy to get along people makes waking up every morning a real treat.

      Cons

      Reall the only downsides I have had with Millennial are the same struggles that come at any technology company. You are very reliant on it. And the slightest bug or issues can be very frustratting when you are in a good work flow, or if something you are working on is time sensitive.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Steer clear...

      Aug 28, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Baltimore, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great, fun office in Baltimore. Lots of perks and flexible working schedule. Ability to work with well known brands. Good spot for first job out of school.

      Cons

      Executive leadership rarely around anymore and mid-level executives seem like they're just along for the ride. They approached employees in the spring asking them to post positive reviews on Glassdoor to improve their image. Image is everything. Focus way too much on having fun and can't be taken seriously especially with the company doing so poorly. Sales and marketing churn through cash on clients that never actually spend with company. Mid-level management is extremely inexperienced. Promotions from specialist to "sr manager" with no experience managing people and no training. Tech teams are disorganized and can't roll out products before they've become obsolete or redundant. They're constantly changing the org which has led to key departures and high turnover. There have been HR issues that get ignored or buried due to fear of retribution. The days of the startup mentality, passion and sense of community are long gone.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      A good place to start, but I'm happy to leave.

      Feb 13, 2014 - Developer in Baltimore, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Low stress opportunities to learn. Fellow developers are willing to help each other out. A few very hard-working people who really want to do some cool things.

      Cons

      An unusual amount of drama. Bad management. Very high turnover rate. The CEO bailed, and the board brought in someone entirely unfamiliar with the company to fill his shoes. Constantly changing business strategies that never seem to amount to anything. Business driven development is extremely frustrating because the business doesn't really know what they want. It's a very stale environment where too many people seem to have given up on higher career aspirations. Go to work, complete your JIRA tickets, eat lunch, go home. Developers (or anyone not in upper-level management, really) are not appreciated, and therefore advancement/raises are rare. People will ask repeatedly to be paid what they are actually worth, but by the time a raise comes around, they have put in their two weeks' notice.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Majorly in flux, not for the timid

      Oct 4, 2014 - Account Executive in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Historically, the company treated it's employees very well while pressing hard for optimal performance. There are some sharp minds at Millennial. There are people there who are good at team building and providing incentives. People can have fun.

      Cons

      Very few people who are rank and file actually believe that the company is moving in the right direction. There seems to be a lot of flailing around. As far as values, I once heard an Account executive wonder out loud hot it was that she became such a liar, telling her clients that she was delivering on contracted media as the agency wanted. When presented with making revenue, no one in operations or sales seems to care about being honest with the client.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work!

      May 2, 2014 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've been at Millennial Media for two years. Before my move to Millennial, I worked closely with dozens of different companies. After getting to know many different companies well, and from my two years here, I can honestly say that I believe Millennial is one of the best places to work. That is why I chose to work here, and why I’m still here. In the states, the main locations are Baltimore (HQ), Boston, San Francisco, DC, and New York. The offices have large and open work spaces, and all have a modern and somewhat techy feel to them. The company throws outings to sports games and local venues, has big holiday parties and catered events throughout the year, holds company hackmatches, has fruit, drinks, and gaming areas throughout the offices, and participates in tons of local charity events. They even took over a restaurant and bar next to the headquarters in Baltimore where people can hang out, work, and take advantage of the daily free breakfast buffet. The dress code is casual; wear whatever you want as long as it’s not offensive. They are having the team that built Under Armour’s headquarters design and build out a huge modern office addition to the Baltimore location in the next few months. I think the company is 600+ people right now. Throughout technology we have people who are active in the community and do development in their spare time. Many of us have side start-ups, apps, etc. To me, that’s the type of engineer you want to be around, innovate and passionate. I’ve seen hard work pay off through a bunch of internal transfers and promotions. We have leadership from all over who are well connected and hands-on in driving the company forward in their different business units. As in any large environment some people have different opinions on how things should be done, and though it can be frustrating at times, I’d rather be in a company where people challenge each other with progressive ideas and new technologies than one where people just go with the flow. People at Millennial are friends. Maybe it’s because there have been so many referrals, but there are close groups in all of the offices. I love the industry we’re in, love that we are encouraged to explore and develop new technologies, and think the future is bright here.

      Cons

      The company itself has been pretty much doubling in size every year for the past 3 - 4 years. Sure, there have been some growing pains through taking the company public and through acquisitions, but to me the pros vastly out way the cons.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Employee

      So Much Potential

      Aug 19, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Company Outings, free snacks (Boston), free breakfast & snacks (Baltimore), solid hardware, great office locations, and mostly friendly employees. They do a lot to promote a corporate culture and they do that well. Millennial Media seems to be relatively solid, financially and is a definite player in the industry.

      Cons

      Management lacks leadership. Organizational Chart too complex: Too many levels of differentiation and management. High turnover leads to understaffing, which leads to more work to complete.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great opportunity in huge industry, but absolutely the worst talent level I've ever seen

      Jul 27, 2013 - Vice President in Baltimore, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They are in the right business and people get to work on some really cutting edge stuff. It's also a fun work environment where people enjoy themselves.

      Cons

      Management, especially CEO Paul are just atrocious. The talent level is abysmal. I've never worked with so many dumb people before. Paul does nothing of value. He's not involved at all in Sales, Product, Tech. He cares more about what color the walls are painted and which band is going to play at the Christmas party. Sets absolutely the wrong tone for the whole company. Everyone leaves at 5pm, no one really gets startup culture and because of that Google will kick their asses on the long run. Also, their tech truly sucks.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Company, Passionate People

      May 13, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Everyone is passionate about the products they are working on, the clients they are selling to and the technology platform that runs our business. Very little politics, fun culture with a good mix of work hard/play hard. Leaders are visible and willing to go the extra mile. Good benefits. Love the unlimited paid time off.

      Cons

      So many offices and no real central location (even though Boston and Baltimore are bigger offices).

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 71 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Millennial Media Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Millennial Media? Share Your Experiences

    Millennial Media logo
    or