Miller Canfield Reviews | Glassdoor

Miller Canfield Reviews

Updated Dec 10, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Miller Canfield CEO Michael P. McGee  (no image)
Michael P. McGee
7 Ratings
  1. "Senior Attorney"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Miller Canfield full-time

    Pros

    Great professionals and collaboration.

    Cons

    Silos in practice groups.

    Miller Canfield2018-08-01
  2. "Good Company and Nice People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Miller Canfield full-time

    Pros

    Great location, great hours and really nice people.

    Cons

    I believe there are no Cons to working at Miller Canfield

    Advice to Management

    Great job

    Miller Canfield2018-12-10
  3. "Great firm, very political"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Attorney in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Miller Canfield full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Smart people, hard working colleagues, good benefits

    Cons

    Long hours, tough commute, no time for family

    Advice to Management

    Consider more flexible working arrangements. Law is the last industry to embrace this but it is very important.

    Miller Canfield2018-02-27
  4. "attorney"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Miller Canfield full-time

    Pros

    Good environment and friendly colleagues

    Cons

    I really enjoy working there. No cons

    Miller Canfield2017-07-20
  5. "Bad corporate culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Miller Canfield full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some good attorneys. The CEO seems normal. Efforts on the firm level to improve, but groups do whatever they want to do.

    Cons

    Horrible corporate culture in some of the groups. Partners do all the work and don't train the associates. There is a serious lack of transparency. Most successful partners inherited their biggest clients, but they spend much of their time preaching about practice development and billing hours.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure your associates get proper training.

    Miller Canfield2017-07-05
  6. "A GREAT COMPANY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Paralegal in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Miller Canfield for more than 10 years

    Pros

    A great place to work!

    Cons

    Not enough paid parking for employees.

    Advice to Management

    Become aware of the culture climate of your employees.

    Miller Canfield2017-01-26
  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Miller Canfield

    Pros

    Dynamic team, Salary, relaxed environment,

    Cons

    Nothing for me, but I'm a fairly new employee

    Miller Canfield2016-02-22
  8. "Law Clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Miller Canfield part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent location and nice office space. Great pay and good benefits. Lots of little perks like food days and social events.

    Cons

    I didn't have too many complaints. My direct supervisor was amazing, but I heard other people complain about their supervisors being too harsh and not giving clear directions.

    Miller Canfield2015-09-09
  9. "Legal Secretary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Legal Secretary in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Miller Canfield full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Honestly, I couldn't find one.

    Cons

    I agree with the last review. Horrible place to work, not training , very bad environment to work.

    Advice to Management

    Close the branch in Chicago or be more careful choosing your team.

    Miller Canfield2015-07-09
  10. Helpful (4)

    "No central oversight over group managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Miller Canfield full-time

    Pros

    Some groups are much better than others. The firm attracts qualified and nice associates, but many of them leave. There are new efforts and programs to retain employees and reach out to alumni. A good summer program for law school students. The current CEO seems much better.

    Cons

    Virtually no oversight over group leaders. Very little to no training in certain groups. Group management is more interested in spreading fear than motivating employees. Some partners take credit for associates' clients and put their names on publications written by others. Many partners seem just miserable and unhappy to be alive, which is not very inspiring. Some groups are very sexist (have few or 0 female... partners, especially with children). There is some serious hypocrisy and cynicism in group management (lectures about morality from partners, who take credit for others’ work). A firm’s culture and morale depends on the people. Miller Canfield does have some great people, but there is simply too much autonomy given to a few bad leaders.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There should be better oversight of group leaders, and more training for associates. Partners should be expected to train associates, instead of taking all the work and expecting associates to learn on their own. A polite and open culture should be encouraged. If you treat associates with respect, they will reciprocate (most of them at least), if you treat them as nuisance, they will leave. Nobody should be... miserable at their job. What is the point of that?

    Show More
    Miller Canfield2015-06-10
Found 18 reviews