Miller Pipeline Reviews

Updated Feb 6, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
65%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Miller Pipeline CEO Doug Banning (no image)
Doug Banning
15 Ratings
  1. "Loved the co-workers, great working environment, and and loved the line of work."

    5.0
     

    I worked at Miller Pipeline

    Pros

    Good pay; with excellent benefits, and plenty of overtime.

    Cons

    Potentially hazardous work; sometimes very dangerous neighborhoods.

    Continue reading
    Miller Pipeline2020-02-07
  2. "great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Foreman in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Miller Pipeline full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great company to work for

    Cons

    hard physical work heat and cold conditions

    Miller Pipeline2020-01-28
  3. "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hdd Operator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Miller Pipeline full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work is great people are good to work for

    Cons

    Not much chance to advance

    Miller Pipeline2019-12-10
  4. "I'll never admit to working here"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chester, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Miller Pipeline full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Learned about other places that where much better to work and paid more from all the other employees.

    Cons

    There's just too much to list. What a terrible time in my life. I just wish I could forget.

    Continue reading
    Miller Pipeline2019-10-29

    Miller Pipeline Response

    November 4, 2019Human Resources Manager

    We are sorry to hear about your experience at Miller Pipeline. Please know that we take your feedback seriously and will work with the leadership teams to improve working conditions.

  5. "Room to grow within"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Construction Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Miller Pipeline full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good company with very good benefits.

    Cons

    The company could improve its communications better with team members.

    Miller Pipeline2019-08-19
  6. "Good company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance Technician 

    I have been working at Miller Pipeline full-time

    Pros

    Great way to learn about pipe maintenance for steel, plastic, and cast iron.

    Cons

    This type of work is not for everybody

    Miller Pipeline2019-08-27
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Deceiving Perceptions"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Miller Pipeline full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The insurance benefits are really good. Majority of the employees are very friendly.

    Cons

    It seems like a great place to be for a while. However it becomes apparent that upper management is not great. There's no set policies, but a lot of management discretion rules that obviously don't apply company wide and it gets quite unfair....everywhere from the dress code, to certain people being allowed to twiddle their thumbs and keep their jobs, all the way to allowing certain people to come and go as they please, and if their department will work when time off is offered by the highest of management for holidays. Growth within the company is talked about in interviews, but it isn't very feasible with the current structure. Several people have left because of the lack of growth and development. Some people are treated with respect, while other key players are talked down to and treated unfairly, to the point of making employees cry. Managers aren't free to run their departments, as they are heavily micromanaged.

    Continue reading
    Miller Pipeline2019-07-29

    Miller Pipeline Response

    August 15, 2019Human Resources Manager

    Dear Fellow Employee, Thank you for your feedback. You have raised some very useful points. We certainly agree that our benefits are really good and that we have many, many friendly, talented people. It is also a fair point that we are not a policy heavy company when it comes to our people programs (although we have every legally required policy and numerous other contemporary policies). We do rely on manager judgement and discretion in leading our workforce. In the area of our dress code specifically, we put together a team of employee volunteers three weeks ago to consider updating our dress guidelines, which we became effective in July. We hope you have enjoyed these changes. In terms of growth and development, we have an eye on that and we are continuously striving to provide additional, customized opportunities. Many employees at Miller Pipeline have advanced throughout the years -- from our regional vice presidents, many of whom started working as field laborers, to our CEO who began his career here as an accountant. Through our Foreman and Supervisor Leadership Training programs, we have seen positive outcomes. Within office positions, the career paths are more customizable and open-ended. If there are areas in which you would like to develop, but you don't see a way to do so, please come talk with one of us in HR.

  8. Helpful (3)

    "Once Was A Great Company. Now? Not So Much!"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Foreman in Harrisburg, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Miller Pipeline full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great peers and coworkers. Local management, field leadership, and support staff were all wonderful. Overall, a decent company at the local level (at least, in my locality - I cannot speak to other markets and geographic territories) with reasonable starting pay and growth opportunities.

    Cons

    Centralized support and leadership (ie. Corporate entities in Indianapolis) are HORRIBLE. My sentiment is not unique - I have heard from numerous other coworkers about how Miller Pipeline USED TO BE a great company that was focused on its employees, and the results showed - Employee satisfaction was very high. However, in the past 5 years or so, the corporate structure and people working out of corporate headquarters has changed that focus- employees are noticing and are NOT happy. Paychecks are routinely short, or otherwise inaccurate (and when called, no one in payroll cares enough to proactively fix it and get offended when called out for it), HR has no idea and no interest in assisting employees with things like understanding union agreements, or bonus structures, or anything else that falls under their purview, good luck actually speaking to anyone from the safety department!

    Continue reading
    Miller Pipeline2019-04-23

    Miller Pipeline Response

    May 3, 2019Human Resources Manager

    We appreciate your honest feedback. Quality and Commitment to the Team are two corporate values and we take them very seriously. Our corporate departments work together as a team to answer employee questions and correct errors if they exist. As a company with a national reach, it is easy for employees to experience some disconnect across locations. Every location experiences different challenges. We depend upon field support and local managers to provide accurate data to the corporate office, which they do regularly at an amazing rate. Payroll does an incredible job producing 3,200 paychecks every week - 52 times per year. Working with almost 100 union contracts, we normally do refer union members to their local union representatives to get accurate information. I hope your negative experience was an isolated incident. However, we will review your concerns within our corporate teams to identify the possible causes and solutions. Our corporate teams know that serving the field employees is of top importance.

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Just okay"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Miller Pipeline full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    the coworkers are a lot of fun and make you laugh.

    Cons

    - unorganized work environment - management does not listen to employees.

    Continue reading
    Miller Pipeline2019-04-19

    Miller Pipeline Response

    May 3, 2019Human Resources Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. We hope that your experience with Miller Pipeline improves. We will notify the local teams in Ohio about your concerns.

  10. Helpful (2)

    "Labor for miller Pipline"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Laborer in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Miller Pipeline full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great starting pay, opportunity to advance to operator, Learn a lot of different skills, A lot of people are great to work with, they help you get your CDL, great overtime pay.

    Cons

    working outside in the winter, working in the rain, no PTO, No sick days, no paid holidays, If you get the wrong forman your life can be miserable.

    Continue reading
    Miller Pipeline2019-01-05

    Miller Pipeline Response

    January 15, 2019Human Resources Manager

    Thank you for your review! We are interested in hearing all feedback from current and former employees. In all field positions (Laborer, Operator, Foremen, etc.) all holiday, vacation and sick time is determined by and managed by the local union. Miller Pipeline is proud to sponsor employee benefits programs for medical, dental, vision, disability, and life insurance coverage. Those plans are also administered by the unions. Company leadership teams along with Human Resources are aware that training and development of all employees is a high priority and affects the success of the business. We care about helping our employees be the best they can be and reach their own career goals. Along those lines, we are regularly working to develop all managers and leaders, and to nurture a culture of learning. This includes foremen and superintendent training, joint leadership training among MVerge companies, regional development and mentorship programs, incentive pay, and other perks/benefits of the job.

Found 33 reviews