Miller-Valentine Reviews | Glassdoor

Miller-Valentine Reviews

Updated March 22, 2017
17 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

3.9
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Bill Krul II
13 Ratings

17 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

  1. "Mostly happy"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cincinnati, OH
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Miller-Valentine full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Flexible schedule
    Good work environment
    Friendly associates

    Cons

    Frustrations with computer network & software

    Miller-Valentine Response

    Apr 3, 2017 – Director, Human Resources

    Thank you for your input! Addressing constantly changing technology developments is a priority for our IS team. Consider communicating to them any issues.


  2. "Excellent Company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Manager in Bedford Heights, Cuyahoga, OH
    Current Employee - Community Manager in Bedford Heights, Cuyahoga, OH
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Miller-Valentine (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    AWESOME PLACE TO WORK, I wish I knew about this company 7 years ago, absolutely the best place to work

    Cons

    Need more properties in the Cleveland / Akron area

    Miller-Valentine Response

    Oct 10, 2016 – Director, Human Resources

    Thank you for sharing! We strive to provide a strong employment experience and continue to review potential locations to grow. Cleveland/Akron area is a great location.


  3. "Unfair company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance in Hickory, NC
    Former Employee - Maintenance in Hickory, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    I liked the job itself and the benefits were good. They're quick to give you vacation and sick time. It could be a really good job if you worked for a good manager.

    Cons

    You're just a number. It's a big corporation and they don't care about individuals. I was bullied and belittled and lied to by my manager. My manager didn't respect me or act professional. I thought Human Resources would care and make things right but when I reached out to them they fired the entire staff. The problemsbetween my manager and I were getting bad but instead of firing one or both of us they fired the whole staff! And three of us got along great! It was only the manager that brought the problems in.

    Advice to Management

    Learn to care about individuals and don't throw the baby out with the bath water. Yeah, there were a lot of issues between me and my manager, but you threw away an outstanding (even beloved within the community) leasing specialist and a very good maintenance man. That was off the charts stupid!

    Miller-Valentine Response

    Dec 13, 2016 – Director, Human Resources

    Miller-Valentine Group strives to care for our Associates and immediately address misunderstandings that sometimes occur among team members. When conflicts arise, our “Open Door” policy allows for ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Construction company with a solid foundation"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fixer of Bleeps, Bloops, and Flickering Whizbangs in Dayton, OH
    Current Employee - Fixer of Bleeps, Bloops, and Flickering Whizbangs in Dayton, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Miller-Valentine full-time

    Pros

    After being with MVG for over a decade, I've gotten to know a broad cross section of the folks that work here. Our associates are hard working, responsible, and courteous professionals that do good work while still having a few laughs. The leadership communicates well with the rest of the team, and isn't afraid to answer tough questions. Overall, I feel this company's approach on how to do business is a major part of what attracts employees as well as clients.

    Simply put, this really is a great place to work.

    Cons

    Pretty much the only major thing I notice from a negative standpoint is a resistance to change. Some folks have been here for multiple decades, and have gotten very good at doing their jobs in specific ways. The familiarity with older processes, as well as a perceived lack of time to investigate newer ones, results in a tendency not to investigate possible improvements. This is understandable, as we're all very busy and thus reluctant to learn new things when we know we can get the job done "the old way". But still, I feel perhaps sometimes we let good things pass us by as a result.


  6. "Community manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Community Manager in Fostoria, OH
    Former Employee - Community Manager in Fostoria, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Miller-Valentine (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Wonderful company to work for -take very good care of their people.

    Cons

    Headquartered in Cincinnati so face to face time is seldom available.

    Advice to Management

    Open lines of communication are working well for the field representatives

    Miller-Valentine Response

    Aug 9, 2016 – Director, Human Resources

    Thank you for your input. Face to face communication with Associates in our many geographic locations is a challenge we are constantly striving to improve. We understand the importance of this issue ... More


  7. "Great Starting Construction Project Management Employer"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Cincinnati, OH
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Miller-Valentine (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Miller Valentine hires co-op students from local universities and provides on the job experience and training. New hires can quickly take on greater amounts of responsibility depending on performance. In booming years, the bonuses are healthy. Some really great people to work with and for.

    Cons

    Miller Valentine didn't seem very willing to give raises or promotions. For many consecutive years , bonuses of any amount were not issued due to struggling construction market. Your experience might vary widely depending on which senior project manager you are working for.

    Advice to Management

    Issue bonuses, raises or promotions when performance merits them. If performance is lacking confront that as well, so employees know if there is a reason for the lack of raises or promotions or if it is just office politics.

    Miller-Valentine Response

    Aug 9, 2016 – Director, Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. We strive to offer competitive and fair market compensation which includes bonuses based on individual and company performance. Performance reviews are conducted yearly ... More


  8. "Great Company!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cincinnati, OH
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    MVG treats their employees great and never makes you feel like just a number. Management trusts their team to use their skills without micromanaging everything.

    Cons

    Some people complain about pay compared to the industry norms. This didn't affect me personally, but depending on your role you may make a lot more elsewhere.


  9. "Commercial Construction"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Project Manager/Estimator in Moraine, OH
    Current Employee - Assistant Project Manager/Estimator in Moraine, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Miller-Valentine (More than a year)

    Pros

    Very Technical and detailed orientated.

    Cons

    Workload is indiscriminately distributed throughout department. Poor direction by management.

    Advice to Management

    Do a better job training personnel. Establish SOP


  10. "Property Manger"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Property Manager in Pittsburgh, PA
    Former Employee - Property Manager in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Miller-Valentine full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    One of the best Management Companies I worked for.

    Cons

    Sometimes communication doesn't get where it needs to.


  11. "This is the way a company should be run - sharing ideas in both directions."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Co-Op in Dayton, OH
    Former Employee - Co-Op in Dayton, OH
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Good people to work with
    Company is concern about its employees

    Cons

    Not a lot of advancement opportunities

    Miller-Valentine Response

    Aug 16, 2016 – Director, Human Resources

    Miller-Valentine Group is consistently focusing our attention on individual discussions and development of career opportunities for our Associates. Good momentum since 2011!


Showing 17 of 19 reviews
Reset Filters