Milliken Millwork Reviews

Updated Feb 18, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
45%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Milliken Millwork President Les Milliken (no image)
Les Milliken
13 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great place!

    Dec 19, 2017 - Door Puller in Sterling Heights, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great Boss, and overall great place to work for! Always can get OT!!

    Cons

    Some of the Temps they hire are complete Lazy.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Good place

    Feb 18, 2021 - Warehouse Associate in Sterling Heights, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Always busy, good management, Plenty of hours

    Cons

    Not enough growth opportunities for most.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Mixed Experiences

    Nov 12, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of good people here, including within my department. Workload was very reasonable. The company takes pride in its product and service and has a hard-working ethic, and one can rapidly gain a lot of millwork industry knowledge and perhaps some business knowledge working here.

    Cons

    Most of the time, very inefficient and old fashioned methods were used to solve problems. In some cases, supervisors and department leads were reluctant to provide helpful equipment to get things done more effectively such as laptop computers for meetings. Above all, I expected that a job with a given title should actually utilize and help advance the skills specified in that title. This was not the case; after a year I gained mostly industry-specific skills and very little career-specific ones, and I feel that this was not sufficiently communicated to me during the interview. The other reviews here about the office politics and drama are at least partially true. I avoided it as much as I could so I never experienced the full extent of it, and the department I was in was somewhat distant from much of it. Based on the rumors I heard, the nepotism others mentioned does happen to some extent.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Awful management and poor work environment

    May 23, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They're a leader in their market, business seems to be doing well. Offices recently remodeled. There's a lot of good people who work here, who work really hard, despite what I say about management.

    Cons

    The culture here is very weird. Most of the management is cut from the same cloth - they treat their employees very poorly, are disrespectful and often verbally abusive. Tempers run high, and it's normal for management to express that. Office politics abound. People are pitted against each other and talk behind others backs. Hard work isn't rewarded, it's how well you "play the game". Lots of nepotism so a good portion of the management is untouchable, and they know it. Some of the men in management creeped me out with the slightly off-color comments they'd make toward me. Management often drinks at lunch, comes in late and leave early, all the while demanding more work be put in by their employees. Upper management (the family) is rarely around, and middle management isn't held accountable. Many broken promises. If you're thinking of taking a job here, make sure you read everything thoroughly and get it in writing. Make sure to ask in your interview about employee turnover (it's high.)

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Stay away!

    Mar 28, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Sterling Heights, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They pay and benefits were decent. Made some friends.

    Cons

    I worked here for a couple years and recently found a new job. I still keep in contact with some of my coworkers from Milliken, and they were telling me how some of the management were asking employees to post good reviews on here, mention MVA and such. I thought that was hilarious because that's absolutely something the shady management at Milliken would do. They were always pulling stunts like that. I can't speak to the other reviewers, but I was not terminated, I found a new job because this one had become unbearable. Management behaves like children. Like being yelled at for no reason? I'm not talking yelled at like getting a talking to, but YELLED at. Screaming. How about being pit against your coworkers? Family company = a lot of people who can't be fired or repremanded because they're family. They act accordingly. There's no such thing as teamwork here. You have to quickly learn who can and can't be trusted, because a lot of people will try to throw you under the bus constantly. This is an office, not a reality show! It's really ridiculous looking back at, being that that kind of environment. I'm so glad I got out of there.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Excellent fair company

    Mar 13, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Sterling Heights, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Milliken Millwork is a family owned company and you are treated with respect and kindness. If you work hard upper Management promotes you and you are given great opportunities from there. Good job is rewarded with yearly MVA, all employees receive a bonus, great pay and good benefits.

    Cons

    Terminated employees usually are the ones with the biggest complaints, that everything sucked and management sucks etc.. they are pissed because they were terminated. The biggest con is the location, many employees live far and STILL continue to work here .

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Horrible with new JELDWEN takeover

    Aug 18, 2018 - Office in Sterling Heights, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    None they messed us all up

    Cons

    Old upper management was all let go horrible no direction now

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Not Just a Job, a Career!!

    Mar 14, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Sterling Heights, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Milliken Millwork has so much to offer for anyone who is ambitious and hard working. I came to this company with minimal experience and have been allowed to grow greatly in my position. The company is very accommodating, employees will never go without anything. Annual MVA bonus is an another wonderful perk offered to employees! The environment at MMI is very welcoming and there are no office politics. Managers & Directors are approachable and not intimidating to work with. Milliken is a growing company with endless potential and I'm very grateful to be on the team!

    Cons

    The location is not close to home so the winter weather commute can be challenging.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Bad company

    Aug 12, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Not very much positive I can think of. Free coffee, I get my own desk?

    Cons

    Not a great job, not a great company. My boss likes to stir things up. All my coworkers hate the boss, and as soon as he leaves every day (before everyone else naturally) everyone can't stop complaining about him. I mean, he is a bad boss but I don't need to hear about it every single day. I just want to do my job and go home. Then the boss likes to turn us all against each other. If someone is out for the day, everyone talks bad about that person all day long. Management joins in and encourages this. Such a toxic environment, so many politics. Just let me do my job. I'll quit as soon as I find another job, and I hope everyone else in my department does the same since they all seem to hate this place so much.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    GREAT PLACE TO WORK AT!

    May 31, 2017 - Administrative Assistant in Sterling Heights, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have been working at Milliken Millwork for 5 months now and I must say I love working here. Everyone I work with is very kind. I am grateful to work for a company who really appreciates their employees! THE President/ C.E.O of the company is by far the most generous boss I have ever worked with.

    Cons

    Right now I don't have any cons I am happy with how everything is going!

    2 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 30 Reviews

Work at Milliken Millwork? Share Your Experiences

Milliken Millwork logo
or