Milliman Reviews | Glassdoor

Milliman Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 255 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
79%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Milliman CEO Steve White
Steve White
107 Ratings
Pros
  • "smart people interesting work especially with data analysis(in 18 reviews)

  • "Good benefits, good local atmosphere(in 17 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (8)

    "Milliman IntelliScript is a great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Brookfield, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Milliman full-time

    Pros

    Lots of smart, forward-thinking people work here, who are always willing to help. It feels like a family. Plenty of opportunity to learn and contribute. I love coming to work everyday!

    Cons

    Not really a con, but IntelliScript is a fast growing practice. There's lots of opportunity, but sometimes it can feel a little chaotic.

    Milliman2019-03-28
  2. Helpful (9)

    "IntelliScript is a fun and unique practice of Milliman"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brookfield, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Milliman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Our practice creates powerful analytics SaaS tools that are used for underwriting. It feels like working for a successful start-up, underneath the protective umbrella of a bigger company (hello, corporation-sized benefits!). There's tons of opportunity to share ideas -- for new products, better ways of doing things, fun ways to bond as co-workers -- and if it's your idea, you get to make it happen. Leadership is transparent...

    Show More

    Cons

    Lots of growth in the past 3+ years makes it harder for everyone to feel connected all the time. We love adopting technology, which sometimes means reeling everybody back in to standardize a process -- change is hard when you're focused on progress all day.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the bonding opportunities like the baseball game, semi-annual meetings, holiday party, and free Thursday lunches!

    Milliman2019-03-22
  3. Helpful (8)

    "Found my dream job at IntelliScript!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Information Technology in Brookfield, WI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Milliman full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    What can I say besides I've found the job of my dreams. Never have I felt so part of something so incredible. Joining IntelliScript isn't joining a company, it's joining a family! I'm given all the freedom to explore what I want to do.

    Cons

    No necessarily a con, but at first I was shocked with how nice everyone is. Coming from a really large company I thought maybe everyone was insincere. But after almost a year I can easily say no, they are just the best bunch of co-workers ever,

    Milliman2019-03-25
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Milliman IntelliScript is a dynamic and engaging place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Milliman full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Opportunity to develop skills and work on projects that interest you: The core job functions are engaging, and there's so much opportunity to focus on areas that interest you, including working with other departments and suggesting new projects. Professional development is highly encouraged, whether it's through taking on new projects or attending conferences. Open and honest communication: both management and staff...

    Show More

    Cons

    IntelliScript is a fast-growing division of Milliman and it's undergoing some growing pains while processes that worked well in a small company are redesigned. With such rapid change it can sometimes be hard to know which person to consult or which process to follow.

    Milliman2019-03-27
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Working at Intelliscript is Fulfilling and Thought-Provoking Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Actuarial Analyst in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Milliman full-time

    Pros

    Taking due diligence is valued and rewarded. There are many opportunities to grow and to learn new skills. New and nontraditional ideas are considered seriously.

    Cons

    Starting salary for actuarial positions is lower compared to other positions in the area. Much of the work is very non-traditional which can make the actuarial exams seem unnecessary.

    Milliman2019-03-23
  6. Helpful (5)

    "IntelliScript is a high growth practice with all the benefits of a major consulting firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Actuarial Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Milliman full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    IntelliScript has a startup-like culture which embraces new ideas and innovation. The actuarial study program provides competitive hours/compensation to any of the other major consulting firms. At the Chicago office, there is freedom to work remotely. My managers are always open to hearing new ideas. IT is very responsive. Very talented colleagues.

    Cons

    One of the challenges faced by a rapidly growing practice is staying organized without putting up too much red tape.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to cultivate a culture of innovation and embrace new technologies

    Milliman2019-03-18
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Ideal for Ambitious & Career-Focused"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Actuarial Analyst in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Milliman full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Incredibly interesting work from varied clients Extremely intelligent coworkers that are passionate and welcoming Great benefits and compensation package Generous and available upper-level management/ownership Advancement is largely driven by the individual Business is growing and has been for years, it seems like

    Cons

    Work schedule can be demanding It sounds like there can be some office politics at a higher level Hard to get up to speed after starting

    Milliman2019-03-21
  8. "Actuarial"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Actuarial Analyst in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Milliman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Practices are quite disjoint aside from non-compete.

    Cons

    Some practices are bit of oddballs.

    Milliman2019-03-13
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Actuarial Analyst in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Milliman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Positive work environment - Everyone is willing to help if you ask.

    Cons

    not any i can think of

    Milliman2019-03-04
  10. "Depends on your location"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Milliman full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Innovative company, good people, nice life-work balance, continued education stimulated.

    Cons

    There is some rivalry between different offices.

    Milliman2019-02-13
Found 255 reviews