Mills Fleet Farm Reviews | Glassdoor

Mills Fleet Farm Reviews

Updated Sep 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 254 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
36%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
Mills Fleet Farm CEO Derick Prelle
Derick Prelle
28 Ratings
Pros
  • "Premium pay on weekends is a nice perk(in 14 reviews)

  • "Great coworkers and fairly flexible with part time hours(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "the point system isn't fair to the employees(in 20 reviews)

  • "Part time hours are sometimes scarce(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Family Friendly Flexible Company with Advancement Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Buyer Support Specialist in Appleton, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mills Fleet Farm full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Job hour flexibility, comparable benefits, good morale and work environment

    Cons

    Facilities need updating, more space needed

    Advice to Management

    Add work from home options for hourly associates

    Mills Fleet Farm2019-02-22
  2. "Great job out of High School"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Auto Technician 

    I worked at Mills Fleet Farm part-time

    Pros

    Great organization to work for

    Cons

    Christmas time was extremely busy

    Mills Fleet Farm2019-09-17
  3. "Good high school job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Fargo, ND
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mills Fleet Farm part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    worked with my school schedule

    Cons

    Wanted us to push credit cards too much

    Mills Fleet Farm2019-09-17
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mills Fleet Farm full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Overall Fleet has taken care of me through the years. Good work enviroment.

    Cons

    Its retail. Can get crazy

    Mills Fleet Farm2019-09-10
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Very awesome company to work with if you can work well with others. The office isn't that great but it's do-able."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stock Associate in Monticello, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mills Fleet Farm part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The benefits and people you can work with. The opportunities it opens when you leave.

    Cons

    The office is not very good, 3 separate times I was cut short of my paychecks and went from 260 to 130 or lower because of their mistakes. I did get the pay next pay period of 2 weeks so it's a rough start but once the ball is rolling it kinda will be smooth sailing from there.

    Advice to Management

    Learn the job on the floor and what we deal with before you start telling us what to do please ;)

    Mills Fleet Farm2019-08-25
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Used to be a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Transportation Supervisor in Appleton, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mills Fleet Farm full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with in department

    Cons

    Poor communication, very little development, managers talk a good game but don't live by their own words, store shelves are bare, not a lot of collaboration to solve problems, lots of finger pointing

    Mills Fleet Farm2019-08-09
  7. "Was a good company before they were bought out."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Loss Prevention Supervisor in Ashwaubenon, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mills Fleet Farm full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some real fun people work there. Stores are not open to late.

    Cons

    Very little room to advance. Pay is a joke. They would rather hire part time people and give each person 20 hours or less a week so they don’t have to pay health insurance. Most store managers have been around for years and have no respect for employees.

    Advice to Management

    Quit so other people can help improve the company.

    Mills Fleet Farm2019-08-30
  8. "Not enough training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Plymouth, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mills Fleet Farm part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay is excellent for the job

    Cons

    not enough or good enough training...need longer to train someone.

    Mills Fleet Farm2019-07-27
  9. "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Hermantown, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mills Fleet Farm part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Not much. Can depend mostly on middle managers and who they hire.

    Cons

    No real incentives. Over work leads under schedule part time.

    Advice to Management

    Employees are people not just numbers. Cliche but the truth here.

    Mills Fleet Farm2019-07-31
  10. "Low Pay, Lies, Unfair Termination, Unreal Expectations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mills Fleet Farm

    Pros

    I look good in orange and it was close to home.

    Cons

    They hired me as PT at $11.25/hr for weekend shifts and said they pay $2.25/hr bonus for weekends. A month after my hire date, they announce a huge company organization change and take away that bonus. They knew it was happening when they hired me. They said I would get $500 bonus to make up for it if I made it thru the year. Their Kronos system failed to display my shifts and I was terminated for (allegedly)... missing shifts I was not scheduled for. They fire people for the smallest things, decline training, under staff, and make floor employees do stocking while also helping customers. Their promotion system is a joke. And their breaks policies are a scam. No break unless you work 6 hours, then they schedule you 5.5...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Disgruntled employees make poor sales people. Treat them with respect, be honest, and make them feel wanted. When you only have 1 person in a department, you cannot write them up for not finishing stock. They are bombarded with questions from customers! Especially for $11.25/hr.

    Mills Fleet Farm2019-08-02
Found 254 reviews