Millward Brown "market research" Reviews | Glassdoor

Millward Brown Employee Reviews about "market research"

Updated Nov 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
72%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Millward Brown CEO Travyn Rhall
Travyn Rhall
177 Ratings
Pros
  • "good work environment and you get to pick which shifts you work so it's really flexible(in 50 reviews)

  • "Best place to start off career in Market Research(in 49 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "market research"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Market Research Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Market Research Analyst in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Millward Brown for less than a year

    Pros

    Very good company. I learned several things about the process of market research, though what I did was very basic things.

    Cons

    Maybe I could have done some professional job, but its a very worthful experience.

    Advice to Management

    People there are pretty nice.

    Millward Brown2016-07-25
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Fake culture and stingy pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Millward Brown full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good place if you want to get thrown into client work and answer every beck and call email. You will get 200 emails a day if you work in Millward Brown Digital. Good place to get experience, and then get out.

    Cons

    Fake culture - the teams have created a fake sense of open and inclusive culture. Sad because you will think they are great when you interview, and then you realize you have to be part of the in girls club or a man to be treated equally. Promotions are based on your social standing with the team, or if you complain loud and often enough. They promote people who have little experience or just due to time, not... according to their contributions to the team. Their pay is comparable to other market research vendors, but they make you work twice as hard. Don’t be fooled by the meals and Uber’s home. You’d rather have a higher salary than all the “overtime” comps they give you.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Good teams start from the top down. There is a reason why so many of the best talent has left. All the proactive and innovative people have moved on, so think about how to create a real culture where people with talent want to stay.

    Millward Brown2018-06-10
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Toxic Culture, Sinking Ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Service Analyst in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Millward Brown full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    +Opportunity to work on big name brands +Name recognition and pedigree that comes with working for a major market research company +Good introduction to the world of digital advertising

    Cons

    -High turnover, to such an extent promotions have become based off of who's left rather than who's qualified; most qualified employees have left already, leaving middle/upper management no choice but to promote unqualified candidates due to attrition -Systemic lack of motivation due to poor management + realization that employees are working for a company that prizes politics over professionalism -Toxic,... cutthroat workplace culture defined by personal politics rather than objective job performance; no remote efforts to invest in building a good workplace environment -Pay is below market rate -Miles of red tape precluding any meaningful change in the organization -Substantial disconnect between C-suite and the rest of the company -Company is sinking - along with WPP - and will continue to do so as the rest of the digital media world advances in legitimately meaningful ways

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Invest more in your junior employees and learn to change as the rest of the digital ad world evolves.

    Millward Brown2018-04-06
  4. Helpful (1)

    "excellent ground floor market research education"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Millward Brown full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Significant opportunities for learning in the market research field

    Cons

    Cannot think of any at this time

    Advice to Management

    Continue to align employee strengths with company objectives

    Millward Brown2017-03-20
  5. "Client-facing role with a lot of room to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Millward Brown full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Even for junior staff, you have a lot of opportunity to interact with clients, present reports, etc. - In the client services role, you get exposure to project scoping, sales, project management, research- basically everything - The work is cool and at the cutting edge of the marketing research industry - Exposure to very high-profile brands, since KMB basically works with everybody - You are encouraged to... seek out opportunities beyond the day to day - working with product teams, marketing team, finance, industry events, etc. - Management seeks to be transparent, especially with team goals and finances - You can be a top performing employee and only work 45 hours per week - A lot of happy hours and team events - The team is very young and fun - very few egos

    Show More

    Cons

    - They can be slow to promote even the most deserving employees - Senior management plays favorites - you want to work hard and be well-liked to succeed - A lot of management is there because they've been there for a while - there aren't a lot of brilliant managers who will inspire you - For many clients, the work KMB does is just a small piece of the overall measurement plan, so you'll get some clients that are... not that engaged - A few people have negative attitudes - Client service is responsible for a lot of tasks that should fall under an operations team - you spend a lot of time with menial tasks rather than analyzing data

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Cut down the red tape and promote deserving people faster - Create more operational efficiencies

    Millward Brown2017-03-01
  6. "Great people, great culture, good management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends

    I have been working at Millward Brown

    Pros

    Great experience working for top market research company, great company culture

    Cons

    Hard to get things passed internally between different managers

    Millward Brown2017-01-19
  7. "Associate Client Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Millward Brown

    Pros

    Lots of training and learning opportunities; collaborative environment; leaders in the industry of digital marketing research. You are given the opportunity to work with a variety of client, publishers, agencies, and advertisers.

    Cons

    Very corporate; Takes a long time to be promoted. Because the company is so large, it can take a while to coordinate with other offices, especially those outside of the US.

    Advice to Management

    Promote more quickly and be less hesitant to assign responsibilities to keep young talent from leaving for greener pastures

    Millward Brown2016-04-30
  8. Helpful (4)

    ""Sweat Shop" -Why You Should Not Work Here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - N/A in Norwalk, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Millward Brown full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits Exposure to large brands Free Coffee

    Cons

    Everyone has different experiences and there are many sides to the story but I would warn against working at the Norwalk MB. On my team the people had a distinctly rude and blunt personality. I was repeatedly bullied by upper management with comments such as "Do you want to work here?" and "Did you even try?"( I assure you I was a strong performer with a positive review). In fact, I was even called a "baby" when I... cried in front of a manager once, which is an extremely inappropriate response for a manager. Also a manager was talking to a coworker about me on a internal messages and messaged me instead, a silly mistake but none the less rude and cruel. One person on my team would keep track of my work hours and tell my boss whenever I left early even if I came in at 7:00AM in the morning (the phrase "do you" does not exist here- everyone is in everyone's business). Additionally, I was called a "liar" by upper management when I made an honest mistake and had no training and was just confused and used the wrong document as a reference. To summarize this is not a safe or welcoming environment. I would describe it as hostile and cruel. The environment is not one you can grow in for all positions perform the same task. I equate it to being on an assembly line and you are continuously putting the muffler on a car. when you become a VP you get to polish the muffler then sell it:) There is little learning about marketing or advertising you just learn the MB way. It is a dead end job unless you are committed to performing copy testing at MB or Ipsos for the rest of your life. Training is minimal and happens extremely late if at all. In their job application, they promise training but in my time there I was trained once and it was after 8 months of working there. Mangers are too busy to teach you anything. Whenever I had a meeting with my manager he would rudely make me wait while every 5 minutes he responded to emails. Again the people here do not know how to be managers and are self centered jerks. The negative stereotype of market research personality pervades here. They are inconsiderate and not self aware but do anything to get the job done. They are not trusted advisors but instead afraid of their clients and franticly going through the motions to answer requests a soon as possible. Additionally, they do not have the knowledge of advertising to be trusted advisors. Management is untrained and does not have leadership qualities. If you are lower level your opinion does not matter even if you have a good idea. In this organization everyone's voice is not equal. There is little work life balance. I often worked 12-14 hours one day of the week and worked on weekends too. Because you are working long hours your hourly pay is very low compared to if you worked only 40hrs per week. Managers like to micromanage you because you do not have ownership of your own projects so all your work is passed off as theirs. Rarely do you receive positive feedback or reinforcement. Their culture focuses on the negative and disciplining you so you fit their ideal. aka drink the koolaide Work life balance and culture does depend on your client and the projects you have going on at the time. People are often overwhelmed and ask for help with very few volunteers. However I would suggest against volunteering because people there do not understand that you are helping them and will inevitably make more trouble for you. Yet they do say "Thank you" after they complain. I would not say the environment is competitive because you rarely move up in a position but I would say that everyone is watching and very judgmental. Most people are extremely uptight. Everyone acts as if something is up you know where, preventing them from sitting comfortably in their desk chairs. If you think this is an ad agency you are wrong. Though I would say the work is collaborative (but micromanaged- rarely work together work is passed down) and slightly creative it is the MB way or the highway and at a low level you are doing things the way your manager wants. No mentorship program Everyone is overwork and overextended that they are very focused on themselves and their tasks. For example as part of being new I had to shadow someone in another department. After 2 months of trying to arrange this because it is mandatory, the person I was supposed to shadow told me she was too busy and passed me on to someone who worked for her. People are not generous or flexible with their time. Again everyones experience can vary but this was a true disaster of a work experience.The Cons out weigh the pros.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Do not force fun to change the culture. Forced fun is not fun Allocate some of the budget to training, especially training manager on how to be managers leadership is extremely flawed R-E-S-P-E-C-T your employees Be less uptight Create a work life balance

    Millward Brown2016-05-10
  9. Helpful (14)

    "Get your start, then get out."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Millward Brown full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    -An okay place for young, energetic, optimistic recent college grads who don't know any better and who don't expect to earn much to get their start in the cut-throat, over-worked world of Market Research. -Company offers healthcare benefits (albeit with high deductibles). -Company offers a 401k plan with okay matching. -Free coffee.

    Cons

    For the 'churn and burn employee': -No raises or cost of living increases, company-wide, in the past 7 years for non-senior management employees. -Politics, politics, and more politics. Unless you're 'in' with the 'in crowd' you can expect to be passed up for promotions or advancement, every time. Part of 'being in' is agreeing to drink the Kool-Ade ideology which is destroying the competitiveness of the... company. -Your manager determines your fate, not you. Get stuck with an unpopular manager and you can expect to go nowhere fast. -Attempting to expand your role by taking on new responsibilities will only hurt you. People in other departments are protective of what they do and will see you as a threat; well established inter-departmental combativeness promotes an 'us vs. them' mentality within the organization. -Most departments are isolated, with upper management completely clueless to redundancies or even the basic purpose of some departments. As such, some tasks are assigned to the incorrect resources. -Hard work goes unnoticed and any accolades go to your department head or VP, not you. -Employee recognition is virtually nonexistent and unrewarding. -Employees are expected to work long hours with little to no basic compensation for extra work/consistently staying late. -Pay range is low for the industry. -Employees are treated as liabilities based on simple metrics. In essence, you're nothing more than a set of numbers, and you are treated as such, especially over time. -Job security is non-existent. Employee purges regularly occur every 36-48 months on average, culminating usually during Q2. -New employees can expect quick burnout due to inadequate staffing levels and high stress caused by massive workloads coupled with inadequate training. -No incentive for employees to go above and beyond the call of duty; instead, great amounts of energy go into protecting one's job for fear of being let go at a moment's notice. -No incentive, no advancement, no meaningful training, no recognition, no raises or bonuses, no professional growth = a very high rate of turnover. Go figure. For the company: -Extremely out of touch, secretive and arrogant leadership at the most senior management levels. -Middle managers and team leaders (the employees who actually do the work) are often ill prepared to handle direct reports and have no formal management training. They typically also do not collaborate with other managers or team leaders, so no shared learning occurs. -A stunning lack of industry innovation on virtually every level of the business, years behind many smaller, more nimble competitors. -An equally stunning lack of information security permeates the company. -Technology infrastructure is job none; the average employee uses desktop equipment that is well over 4 years old and largely unsupported. Network resources are abysmal, with absolutely no thought put into fixing basic access issues, adding much needed drive space or updating server infrastructure. -MB uses a business model that is fundamentally broken despite being rebooted (with much fanfare) 3 times in the last 15 years. -MB off shores US jobs to inferior India-based companies that have higher turnover rates than onshore MB itself. -Seniority is a very, very negative thing at MB. The longer you're with the company, the larger the bull's-eye is painted on the back of your head for termination. -MB HR is hostile towards employees who are lower than director level and only engage regular employees if they are not performing well or about to be fired. -MB HR is also inept at performing the most basic roles expected of HR in a large company. Ask a question about benefits and expect to be sent to a third party website or be handed a basic slick sheet. -Upper and senior management is unbelievably disconnected from the average employee and doesn't have any idea as to how most departments operate in the day-to-day environment that they themselves have created. -The results of internal all-company surveys are often flat-out ignored by senior management; employee advice falls on deaf ears, no matter how loud or often it is given or how sensible and practical the outcry may be. As a result, senior management comes off as pompous and arrogant as well as out of touch with the basic realities of running an effective company. -The company culture has turned overtly negative over the past several years, pitting the 'haves' against the 'have-nots' (meaning virtually anyone who isn't director level or above--and HR is the police force that ensures this unjust company hierarchy remains intact). As a result, employee morale remains at a disastrously low level and has begun negatively affecting client relationships. Yet, MB continues to strive in establishing itself as a 'premium brand' and therefore justify higher costs for relatively poor services and overall value. In essence, MB was once a great company that cared about its employees but now seeks to liquidate as many positions as possible while still somehow turning a profit. The only real opportunity belongs to those employees who can consider themselves part of the 'protected elite'. The average employee remains an inconvenient necessity and a means to an end, for the time being. So, if you are fresh out of college, full of energy and want to get your foot in the door of a world-wide market research company AND you believe you have the internal fortitude to handle a lot of stress and grief at low pay and with even less recognition, then by all means give MB a go. If you are an industry professional who is experienced in your field and looking for career advancement, however, then MB is nothing more than a dead-end and should be avoided at all costs. This is clearly a company that is making a concerted effort to fail in every imaginable way, and to its credit, it is at least succeeding in that effort. As a footnote, reviews that give this company more than 3 stars are outright lies and nothing more than thinly veiled attempts at feel-good PR which is manufactured, no doubt, by members of senior management and their HR lapdog cheerleaders. Don't buy into it.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Senior management at this point can not be expected to somehow right this sinking ship of absolute disaster. The damage caused by ridiculous and at times conflicting business models over the years have taken their toll, and another reorg isn't going to solve anything. There exists only an extremely improbable chance of ever being able to bring this company back to a respectable level, let alone as a 'premium... brand' within the industry at this point. In the meantime, the best and brightest minds will continue to flee the company in droves as fewer and fewer numbers of cheap and inexperienced labor tries to refill the already disenfranchised ranks of unmotivated employees.

    Show More
    Millward Brown2016-05-04
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Behind the times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Lynn, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Millward Brown for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some great people...some. Maybe a good starting place for entry level if they get good mentors. Stepping stone to better places.

    Cons

    Upper management is unaware, doesn't care and are prima donnas. Very reactive to issues and unwilling to change. Technology is behind and the market research is not the best. Consultants..no...data pushers yes. LOW PAY

    Advice to Management

    Get back to a higher standard of market research excellence. Get rid of some upper management who have been there too long and those who play up and drink the kool-aid.

    Millward Brown2016-01-06
Found 59 reviews