Milwaukee County Parks Reviews | Glassdoor

Milwaukee County Parks Reviews

Updated Jul 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 30 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Milwaukee County Parks CEO Jim Sullivan
Jim Sullivan
2 Ratings
  1. "Head Lifeguard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Milwaukee County Parks part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible Hours Relative Autonomy Supportive Supervisors Good Pay

    Cons

    Stressful on busy days Long Hours

    Advice to Management

    Continue to support staff and offer diverse learning opportunities, and you will see tremendous growth in your employees. Positive reinforcement goes a long way.

    Milwaukee County Parks2019-01-04
  2. "Beautiful setting, benefits lacking."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Parks Employee in Milwaukee, WI
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Milwaukee County Parks part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working in a beautiful setting, great co-workers.

    Cons

    County keeps long-term employees just under part-time hours to avoid providing benefits. Forces a 2-week yearly layoff also.

    Advice to Management

    I'm aware that the County probably is lacking in funding to provide proper benefits and competitive pay. Still, this is demoralizing. Probably a better job for younger people or people whose spouses' jobs provide benefits and higher income.

    Milwaukee County Parks2019-07-16
  3. "It was a fine place to work part time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Park Worker III 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Milwaukee County Parks part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots of freedom. Got along with coworkers great

    Cons

    Always double check your paycheck. Things can move very slowly

    Milwaukee County Parks2019-01-26
  4. "Lifeguard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Milwaukee County Parks part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great group of coworkers if you fit in.

    Cons

    supervisors were unrealistic and showed lack of care for their work

    Advice to Management

    Listen to workers more.

    Milwaukee County Parks2018-09-05
  5. "Aquatics Lifeguarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Seasonal Lifeguard 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Milwaukee County Parks part-time

    Pros

    Competitive hourly wage for a summer job

    Cons

    Archaic management structure rooted in para-militarism

    Milwaukee County Parks2018-03-12
  6. "I love working with the Parks. I do everything here and I love doing it!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Park Worker III in Franklin, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Milwaukee County Parks part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Milwaukee County Parks is a great place to work with friendly people and an awesome work environment to be in.

    Cons

    The soccer league led that play are messy a lot and most don’t clean up after themselves other that’s about it.

    Advice to Management

    Give credit to your workers and they will do better work. Don’t complain about every little thing because you are the people that cause that way because of budgeting!

    Milwaukee County Parks2017-10-11
  7. Helpful (1)

    "It is a good position for teens in the summer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Milwaukee County Parks part-time

    Pros

    Management and co-workers are very chill.

    Cons

    Either sitting all day or walking around no in between.

    Milwaukee County Parks2017-06-20
  8. "Park Worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Milwaukee County Parks part-time

    Pros

    Friendly co-workers/manager Good work conditions Great summer job for high school/college student

    Cons

    No cons to mention here

    Milwaukee County Parks2017-06-19
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Park Worker level 3"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Park Worker Level III in Milwaukee, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Milwaukee County Parks part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You will never have the same thing happen twice. Everyday brings something new.

    Cons

    Everything that happens to you maybe a new experience, but a bad one. Expect to be injured a lot. management is terrible and i'm pretty sure they do not screen anyone before they hire them.

    Advice to Management

    Stop hiring friends of friends.

    Milwaukee County Parks2017-04-28
  10. "Seasonal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Milwaukee County Parks

    Pros

    Work outside, lots of freedom

    Cons

    Low pay, bad communication

    Milwaukee County Parks2017-04-08
Found 30 reviews