KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

MindGym

Engaged Employer

MindGym

Add a Review

MindGym Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Oct 8, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 of over 131 reviews

3.3
53%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
MindGym CEO Octavius Black (no image)
Octavius Black
85 Ratings
Pros
  • "You can also take some of the Mind Gym courses to learn(in 31 reviews)

  • "While the environment is very fast paced it isn't internally competitive(in 8 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "No training outside of Mind Gym courses(in 16 reviews)

  • "The company is a high pressure work environment(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Consulting

    Join the conversation on
    Join the conversation on

    Reviews about "work environment"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Challenging but rewarding place to work

      Nov 11, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Brilliant and talented people -Amazing organizational mission -Tons of runway for career growth -Strong YoY financial performance -Great international exposure With the right mindset and attitude, Mind Gym is an amazing place. If you're looking to grow fast, this is the place to be.

      Cons

      -Steep learning curve -Challenging work environment -Growing pains -High expectations -Poor systems/technology Mind Gym is very fast-paced and far from your traditional 9-5. For some, this poses great opportunity. For others, it can be too much to handle.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Unethical, poor leadership, high turnover

      Oct 8, 2021 - Client Services 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nothing about working for MindGym is positive. Employees are worked to death, the organization lacks diversity (but ironically offers DEI trainings), and the work culture is sick or swim .

      Cons

      Where do I start? MindGym is not for everyone. This company is not for professionals who want to work in an environment that is rooted in growth and opportunity. MindGym is not for people who want to be respected by executives, HR, managers, and their coworkers. As you can see on Glassdoor, the CEO is responsive to employees who voice their concerns about this terrible company. It is also apparent how he overtly gaslights each response and invalidates people's experiences. He says, "I hope you find somewhere that suits you better" instead of creating a work environment where EVERYONE feels like they can thrive. Do not waste your time working for a business like MindGym. Perhaps if clients took a look at MindGym's glassdoor they would invest their money else where and receive executive and management trainings that they desperately need .

      9 people found this review helpful

      MindGym Response

      Thanks for taking the time to leave your review on MindGym. We are working hard on creating an inclusive environment where everyone can thrive but I appreciate this wasn't the case for you. We are in an incredibly fast growing stage of our journey and the pace of change is demanding. We are seeing a positive trend in promotions and growth for our colleagues although we recognise there is always more we can do which we are trying to address with our revised talent planning process. I would very much welcome the opportunity to speak to you directly about your experience so I can learn more. Thanks Zarina

    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great potential but misaligned focus/expectations

      Apr 30, 2021 - Senior Project Manager in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - People! Some of the smartest and most well-rounded individuals I've worked with in my entire career. - Culture. The firm has built a decent culture with nice perks and social events. - Meaningful work and the impact it has on people in a positive manner. - Learning. I was here for ~1.5 years and was stretched in many ways and learned a lot. You can also take some of the Mind Gym courses to learn.

      Cons

      - Capacity and getting every ounce out of employees. There is a big push to give Project Managers volume and more projects without realizing how much effort each project takes and the impact it has. - Constant focus and push on revenue recognition. Management was strict about this and so much time spent on: how do we convince the customer to sign-off on this work product? Revenue is important but it felt sleezy the work it was discussed and pushed internally. - Lack of work-life and flexability; it's a strict 9 AM to 6 PM and WFH is frowned upon. Preference is everyone is in the office so can constantly be watched and be micromanaged to some extent. - Very high-pace, and at times, stressful work environment. The average employee tenure is around 1-1.50 years and I observed a lot of turnaround at the firm (and since I've left). - Internal inter-department tension: Delivery focus was revenue recognition while other groups wanted to work on deliverables at their own pace, so there is constant clash between Project Managers, designers and solution archtitects. - Comp is horrible. There is no annual bonus or annual raise (which I learned after the fact). The firm doesn't even take into account inflation and that's not acceptable.

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Looking to make an impact?

      May 11, 2016 - Anonymous in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you want to have an impact somewhere, both internally and externally, Mind Gym is the place to be. The mission and services of the firm are changing the way people think and behave globally - especially in their approach to work (which, unfortunately is where we spend most of our time) - and having a positive impact on lives. Not many companies set out to do this sort of thing. In order to facilitate this mission, the company hires brilliant, bright and spirited individuals. Coming to work with these individuals is both enlightening and more so, fun. The work is challenging but changing lives doesn't come easily. The company is also incredibly transparent when it comes to recognition and feedback. I see the impact that I, as an individual, have on the company and the strategy moving forward. Our executive team takes the time to show me (and others) this impact and continuously give gratitude for the work that's being done.

      Cons

      As mentioned, the work is challenging and it's a very fast-paced environment. But, like I said, changing behavior and lives doesn't happen when the work is easy. This type of hyper-growth and hyper-speed environment is 100% not for everyone. Yes, it's definitely overwhelming at times, but I feel the company has done a really good job in structuring support systems to help during the challenging periods. If you are someone who prefers a very regimented, slower-paced work environment then I would not recommend Mind Gym.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      MindGym Response

      CEO

      I love our mission too - it's a powerful pick-me-up during the dark days (and we all have those from time to time) and reminder why it's so worth persevering. We are helping to change lives for the better and so, thanks in part to your work, leave the world in a slightly better place than we found it. Thank your for setting the pace and for your dedication to the cause. It is amazing what we have already achieved together and there is so much more we can do. Thanks too for bothering to share your views here. It's a valuable glimpse into working life at Mind Gym for those considering joining us .

    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Needs to to be honest with itself

      Apr 24, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Mind Gym has an amazing product and some amazing people who work there. It is a company that believes wholeheartedly in its mission. The product is fun and engaging and customers love it. It is also the slickest looking client facing content out there. They pay well and have decent benefits if you’re in the tri-state area. It’s a high pressure job and you learn to operate at a high level. If you’re resilient, like high pressure and a fast paced environment, this could be a fit for you.

      Cons

      Mind Gym is based on nueroscience, but fails to be honest with itself. It is run by two passionate, brilliant people who often fail to see how their actions dictate a toxic work environment. It is a culture that is based on high expectations and little support. They would defend this as an execution based culture, meaning get your job done and there will be no complaints, which is true to some extent. However it often felt like a zero-tolerance attitude, and “my way or the highway” was the default. While words extolling candor and trust are spkoen and I believe they mean them, the actions by leadership undermine the culture at every turn. The water cooler gossip behind leaderships back laughing in the face at the lack of trust is real. It is a surprisingly political culture. Say the wrong thing to the wrong person and you can quickly end up as a pariah, and find yourself fired even if you are doing your job and meeting expectations. The average tenure at mind Gym is 1-2 years for good reason. Most people make the decision that it’s not a good fit for them, or the decision is made for them if they disagree with management. Client support suffers from the constant rotation of people.

      Continue reading
      35 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Amazing people and a contagiously happy workplace

      Jun 29, 2017 - Business Development Associate in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Best work environment I have been a part of, even the CEO is approachable. The products the company sells are fascinating, you come away with a refreshed perspective about how you should treat yourself and others in the workplace.

      Cons

      Not much vertical movement, the position you enter the company is the one you’ll most likely be in when you leave.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      MindGym Response

      CEO

      I'm delighted to hear we're all approachable - please keep telling me what isn't working. I'm often the last to know, which is a shame as I'm probably one of the better placed to fix it when I do know. On vertical promotions, whilst in some small teams we are too small a business for traditional promotions, still 21% of US team were promoted last year. I hope it will be the same this year. Even better if you're one of them. If you're unsure what it takes, please ask your manager and/or the people team. If that doesn't give you a clear enough answer, please come and talk with me.

    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Has all the negatives of a startup, none of the positives of a mature company!

      Mar 22, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People really believe in the mission of the company to improve the workplace, and that drives them to work above and beyond the call of duty. Working in the UK office is amazing...

      Cons

      ...unfortunately the work atmosphere in the NYC office is terrible! A very hypocritical company that doesn't practice what they preach, in creating a positive work environment. Stereotypical ego-maniacal CEO and President that are slow to recognize their own mistakes. Heavy hiring of just-out-of-college young people with little in the way of real training. Almost no real office leadership in the US office, which makes up a majority of the company's income. Overly dependent on management from the UK, who visit for a few days a month and try to manage a "green" workforce via Skype. Employees are greatly underpaid versus the workload they receive. UK office regularly promotes totally green and incompetent client service team members based on likability and length of stay, not on job capability. And worse...a terrible work environment where people struggle with the pressure of having to perform without sufficient support and oversight. And diversity? HA! Just look at the pictures posted here...if you see an minority, they are most likely no longer with the company. When I left, the whole office laughed and said "another one bites the dust"...but if you like easy promotions, just stick it out and you'll get one eventually.

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful

      MindGym Response

      CEO

      I'm delighted that you think 'working in UK office is amazing' and very sorry that your experience in New York has not been good. 25% of Mind Gym worldwide employees work in New York office, of which the Client Service team is the largest (39% of NY office). To your point about American management and diversity, the US Client Service team is led by an American who is BME. We recently held a diversity awareness month which included Mind Gym workouts on 'Breaking bias', 'Knowing me, knowing you' and 'Building bridges'. We will shortly be providing e-workouts on these to all colleagues too. I am deeply committed to building an inclusive working environment where difference in all its forms is valued and welcomed. In this respect, your feedback is much appreciated. I wish you every success in your next adventure.

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work, I have found employment happiness.

      Jan 26, 2021 - Global IT Manager in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Open, happy, friendly and progressive work environment that supports your personal development.

      Cons

      Fast pace and heavy workloads, balanced with support from the business but don't be fooled you have to work hard to enjoy the benefits, no space for slackers.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good employer to work for

      Jan 16, 2021 - Senior Analyst in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company offers good employee remuneration

      Cons

      The company is a high pressure work environment

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Fast-pace, energetic work environment; excellent flexible working options for employees

      Jun 14, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The Mind Gym office is a fun and energising work environment filled with world-class talent – some of the smartest, most conscientious and caring people I’ve ever worked with. You get exposure to a broad range of clients, including the best, most innovative and influential companies across every industry in the world. The work that we’re creating and sharing with our clients is thought-provoking, impactful, fresh and behaviour-changing. To work at Mind Gym is to know that you’re making a real difference. As an employer, Mind Gym can be incredibly flexible and accommodating. While the norm in the office is a quite conservative 9-6, Monday-Friday, I’ve personally experienced and seen many other examples of the company flexing and adapting to meet the personal needs of its employees, e.g. asymmetric working hours to accommodate employees going through family crisis; part-time and flexible working for returning new parents (there’s a fast growing community of new mums and dads at Mind Gym!), sabbaticals for individuals looking to study, research or travel; partial/complete remote working arrangements; and a variety of concessions for people who are completing degrees while working. In my experience, if you ask for it at Mind Gym, you're very likely to get it. So, just ASK, people!

      Cons

      The pace and volume of work can be intense and despite ongoing recruitment efforts, the team is still too lean.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 12 Reviews

    Popular Careers with MindGym Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at MindGym? Share Your Experiences

    or