KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

MindTouch, Inc.

Is this your company?

MindTouch, Inc.

Add a Review

MindTouch, Inc. Reviews

Updated May 16, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 67 of over 69 reviews

3.9
69%
Recommend to a Friend
36%
Approve of CEO
MindTouch, Inc. CEO Aaron Rice
Aaron Rice
10 Ratings
Pros
  • "Catered lunches and fully covered benefits are nice(in 11 reviews)

  • "The work environment is very relaxed(in 4 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "There is a lot of turnover at MindTouch(in 18 reviews)

  • "mile walk from an area with free parking, or using public transit, you'd kind of expect that working in Downtown San Diego(in 3 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Collaborative, fun, challenging (in a good way)

      May 14, 2021 - Sales in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Mindtouch has had its back up against the wall over the years but they've always managed to find a way to come out on top and I believe it's because they foster a highly collaborative environment. The folks there are hardworking, open-minded, and creative to finding new solutions. I greatly enjoyed my time working here. Also Aaron Rice LOVES it when you start in on him for his accent.

      Cons

      During my time we were still trying to figure out our sweet spot in the market, kind of stumbled our way through deals to get the job done (the job gets done but there needs to be better process and one that's able to be duplicated successfully)

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Final Assessment on MindTouch

      May 16, 2021 - Director of Products in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you were talented, had a propensity to act and take risks, and were ambitious, you could grow your career. The downside of that (this is a con), is that the ceiling was quite abrupt as new ideas, opportunities, new teams were often hindered by lack of investment - it's not obvious how institutional capital was spent. Though not in MindTouch's favor, many of us used the elevated responsibilities we were given to gain positions in better-funded organizations. Therefore, MindTouch was a good career-builder. The founding CEO and his partner CTO were both very talented (more on the downside of the dynamic in the cons section). The founding CEO was an incredible advocate for the company and knew how to keep MindTouch relevant and in the conversation. The CTO is a genius, though I would have liked to see more engagement with the rest of the business or the analyst community. They both inspired me. Some of the most talented people I've ever met have come through this company. On the product and engineering side, you can now find them in senior roles at FAANG companies or in unicorn growth startups (some are still at MindTouch). From my understanding, the company was acquired primarily for its product and technology (and likely the potential it had with better investment). Though not as transformational to the industry as we would have liked (more in the cons), obviously some of us were able to contribute to something of measurable value.

      Cons

      MindTouch was acquired by NICE inContact during a downturn. It goes without saying that's not when you want to be having that conversation. The two fundamental things that were MindTouch's downfall were problems of timing and lack of urgency. - The north star was difficult to understand, and at some times, not there: There were years when it was apparent to most of us that the founders did not see eye to eye. We lost a lot of time during those periods, not focused on what could help us break out in the market. In the end, MindTouch was decent enough in a lot of different ways but didn't excel in any majorly impactful. It's not surprising that the ultimate fate is NICE inContact's Knowledgebase (albeit a good one). It's on par with the knowledge component of Zendesk, ServiceNow, which are a relatively minor part of a much larger solution. That's not a huge ROI for over a decade of work. I obviously wasn't privy to discussions at the board level, but overall I was highly disappointed that the strategy for a successful exit wasn't clear to us (or executed). - We collectively forgot we were an innovative SaaS company that could rapidly deliver value: Through a lack of serious investment in technology and a product vision that we could actually deliver (in a market where better-funded competitors copied what they needed from us and improved) our roadmap increasingly became a fantasy. The executive team was largely detached from the fact that product innovation, when it did occur, became year-long product cycles. The solution was to ignore the problem and desperately re-position our shrinking competitive feature set in a market that was rapidly outpacing us. We were blindsided by the importance of AI/ML in our space, and it shows, as some of our competitors (or similar companies in our space) that took the shift seriously are now considered unicorns (ex: Coveo). MindTouch was overall far too relaxed and complacent at all levels of the company. I'm not saying the company had to be a grind, but if you are going years without major product launches and no one sounds the alarm bells, then you have complacency. MindTouch needed some bay-area fire under it. Unfortunately, this attitude is sometimes pervasive in San Diego tech companies where the pace of life is slower.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    3. The latest conversations about Tech

      Join the conversation on

      Tech

      1y

      a 

      Sales Engineer

      Let's see what we are all making. Include current salary, location, job role (e.g. Software Engineer; Product Manager) and YoE please. Reply using your comapny.

      376

      158 Comments

      Join the conversation on
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Awesome Employees, Disappointing Executives

      May 6, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Worked with a bunch of passionate and talented people -Congrats to the Execs on a successful exit, you must be proud -Learned a lot of good things for my career

      Cons

      -Former employees who exercised stock options (we should have known better) were sent documents showing huge Exec bonus payout amounts for the acquisition while we all lost money on our investment -Even more employees were laid off when the deal was announced and current employees (even those there for years and years) got nothing -Learned a lot of disappointing things about what Execs can get away with

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee

      A sad, sad place to work

      May 4, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Free lunch provided 3 days a week - until Covid closed the office - Easy walk down to the ocean - Because management didn't work too hard, expectations were pretty easy to achieve

      Cons

      - CEO, COO constantly told us we were all going to be rich once MindTouch was sold. Total lie. - COO played favorites so he promoted his buddies that were loyal to him. - Anybody that was a hard-charger left in 2019-2020. Company had a massive lay off in early 2020 blamed on Covid, but it turned out to be financial mismanagement that led to reduction.

      5 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Wondering Company

      Aug 18, 2020 - Marketing Assistant in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Team building, career building, always ways to move up in the company and take on more projects in a healthy way.

      Cons

      No cons, this is a wonderful company to work for.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Big Disappointment

      Jun 4, 2020 - Marketing Manager in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice office and snacks. Worker bees are cool and thoughtful towards each other.

      Cons

      The company has no North Star. They have been around awhile and have not evolved, grown the same rate as the market, expanded markets, nor thrived and I know why. Leadership and business strategy is as weak as it gets.

      3 people found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Good culture, but a lot of turnover and uncertainty

      Mar 27, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      MindTouch has a great culture with a pretty good set perks and an amazing downtown office (except they only reimburse about 1/3 of your monthly parking fees). The work environment is pretty casual and relatively stress-free. Most of the people are friendly and smart and professional.

      Cons

      There is a lot of turnover at MindTouch. People are constantly leaving (or getting fired), which really makes it difficult to build any sort of continuity and momentum. People come and go and the strategy and plans keep changing. Also, about 15 people were just laid off this week which is a really heartless thing to do at a time when there is so much uncertainty with the coronavirus pandemic.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Smart, fun, well-balanced

      Jun 4, 2019 - Vice President Engineering in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - All MindTouchers I work with genuinely want to do the right thing, and do things the right way - Office is really nice and fun location Downtown - Regular social activities and fun traditions - Smart people who are open to learning from one another - Great product, well engineered, and lots more potential

      Cons

      We're not completely through some of the ripples of past organizational changes yet, but I expect that to have settled down in a few months

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Pa-pa-pa-pathetic

      May 2, 2019 - Information Technology in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None. Well, maybe the view. And the main devops guy is the finest in the industry.

      Cons

      Management is a complete joke. Total lack of training and unfulfilled promises. High employee turnover. No 401(k) match and very pricey medical coverage for family members. Completely lacking in empathy. Product sells somehow, but it is garbage. Don’t see them lasting much longer in an era of AI/ML. Stay away.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful

      MindTouch, Inc. Response

      CEO

      I completely agree, our Dev. Ops. team continues to raise the bar every single day and is not just the work of a single player, but a team effort. I feel incredibly honored to work with this team. Not only this team but everyone from Sales through Marketing, Product, Operations, Support and Engineering comprise the finest group of professionals I have ever had the pleasure of working with. They have my utmost respect and highest regard. It’s too bad your view and experience was more limited.

    11. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Tough place to be successful

      Jan 31, 2019 - Sales in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Catered lunch M/W/F Really good coffee machine

      Cons

      Seems like the company is still transitioning from a growth stage to a smb type model so there is a lot of surprises and uncertainty. No shot at being successful unless you are in the CEOs inner circle.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful

      MindTouch, Inc. Response

      CEO

      Change, while being exciting and filled with opportunity, does have the habit of leaving some people feeling left behind. Thanks for this feedback - it’s hard to keep all folks satisfied as we go but it’s important as much as possible that I and the management team try to remain inclusive even as we grow and serve larger and more demanding clients. - Aaron Rice

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 67 Reviews

    Popular Careers with MindTouch, Inc. Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at MindTouch, Inc.? Share Your Experiences

    or