MindTouch, Inc. Reviews | Glassdoor

MindTouch, Inc. Reviews

Updated Jun 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 65 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
MindTouch, Inc. CEO Aaron Rice
Aaron Rice
6 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "QA Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MindTouch, Inc.

    Pros

    -Relaxed Environment -Great opportunities to grow -Great people -Free lunch MWF!

    Cons

    -start up feel (if you are not into it) -no benefits for interns (can't really change that though)

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!

    MindTouch, Inc.2017-10-05
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Entrepreneurial spirit required"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MindTouch, Inc. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people at Mindtouch are awesome! There's a strong camaraderie here and everyone is genuine, which is quite refreshing. There's an open door policy org wide, something I feel most people do not take advantage of. The product itself is awesome and very robust. There's a lot that can be done with our product, which is good and bad. For anyone considering Mindtouch as a career move, you must be able to run...

    Show More

    Cons

    The focus on what Mindtouch does is hazy at times, with each department having it's own opinion and explanation of what we do. This can be confusing internally and externally. With a stronger company wide focus, the sky is the limit here.

    Advice to Management

    Hire departmental heads and do not spread yourselves so thin. Keep tackling the initiative around product direction and focus.

    MindTouch, Inc.2017-09-26
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Management actually cares, always room for growth."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MindTouch, Inc. full-time

    Pros

    Everyone is very approachable and always willing to help. I get a sense of importance and feel that my opinion matters. It's one of these environments that if you are a go-getter and don't need your handheld you'll go far.

    Cons

    Really disappointed we don't have any nap pods. 15-20 min naps go a long way.

    Advice to Management

    More of the CEO cockpit / Meet the C levels for new employees.

    MindTouch, Inc.2017-09-29

    MindTouch, Inc. Response

    October 1, 2017Founder and CEO

    Thank you for your honest feedback. I recommend moving the giant bean bag into the arcade and creating a nap pod. Feel free to use the couch in the den. Finally, I've ordered a bed for Patrick Fettuccini and you may use his bed as nap pod if you're so inclined.

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Hands down, the best company I've ever worked for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MindTouch, Inc. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've been at MindTouch for almost two years now, and I can say without a doubt, it has been the best workplace environment I've experienced. It has a fun, ethical, safe, and exciting culture, and I'm always excited to get back to work. Lol, I'm not kidding, I seriously love going to work.

    Cons

    MindTouch is very fast paced and constantly growing, but with that growth comes pains and sometimes frustrating moments. Like any work place, not everything is straightforward or obvious... That being said, if you're quick and can think on your feet, you'll do great!

    Advice to Management

    To be honest, I don't think we have enough of a middle management team. This is a hard thing to express on paper, but I think if upper management would trust us with more responsibility (ownership etc.), this would be great for everyone. As a result, we could be more productive and be far more agile as a company.

    MindTouch, Inc.2017-09-26
  5. Helpful (10)

    "Sloppy but FUN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MindTouch, Inc. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Awesome culture - Amazing peers

    Cons

    - Upper management is absent - Lack of transparency - Cheap - No true north or direction.

    Advice to Management

    make better decisions manage people and projects FOCUS

    MindTouch, Inc.2017-09-09
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Great coworkers, poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MindTouch, Inc. full-time

    Pros

    Like the title says, the coworkers that I had at MindTouch were great. It was nice to have catered lunch three times a week, and our office space was pretty awesome.

    Cons

    The management at this company is pretty awful. During the whole time I worked there, it never seemed like they totally understood the direction of their product. Some terrible decisions made by management led to 20% of MindTouch employees being laid off. The worst part was that they tried to play it off like it was all because of pressure from the company's investors and didn't take ownership of their own failures. As...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    1. Figure out a product direction 2. Pay your employees better 3. Treat your employees better in general 4. Take a look at your own biases because they are hindering the success of your company

    MindTouch, Inc.2017-09-21

    MindTouch, Inc. Response

    September 25, 2017Founder and CEO

    While there are factual inaccuracies you've provided above, we're sincerely grateful for your contributions. If you're interested in understanding our decision and direction better you will appreciate this: https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/doubling-responsibly-aaron-fulkerson/ Best ...

    Show More
  7. Helpful (7)

    "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MindTouch, Inc. full-time

    Pros

    Solid product, catered lunches, nice office

    Cons

    Constant change in processes (beyond what is normal in a startup), inability to delegate, poor hiring practices, constant micromanaging with very little follow through, the list goes on. From a technology standpoint, MindTouch is top notch. The same can not be said from a business perspective. The executives do not delegate tasks well which results in countless bottlenecks and unfinished initiatives. There is rapid...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Delegate tasks. The CFO does not need to be a field rep. Your sales model does not fit your product.

    MindTouch, Inc.2017-09-06

    MindTouch, Inc. Response

    September 6, 2017Founder and CEO

    Thank you for your feedback and for any contributions that you made in the time you worked with us. Best wishes.

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Best job I've ever had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MindTouch, Inc. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    High energy and lots of change, there is a lot of support for creative thought and individual input. It's fun to be part of creating a new category of product. You work hard, but your work has impact and meaning.

    Cons

    As a byproduct of the dynamic environment, there is also a sense of unpredictability which some people thrive on, but some people find unsettling.

    Advice to Management

    Listen a little bit more more and micromanage a little bit less. We know this is your baby. Trust us.

    MindTouch, Inc.2017-05-17
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Best Tech Company in SD, FACT!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MindTouch, Inc. full-time

    Pros

    My coworkers are awesome, our workspace amazing, and our culture is unmatched! I couldn't be happier to be a part of the MindTouch family, hands down the best place I've ever worked!

    Cons

    You can be asked to do a lot, sometimes more that you think you can handle, but the support system in place from management and the executives is superior to anything I've seen. You are put in place to succeed!

    Advice to Management

    I really don't have too much to add, I think Aaron, Aaron, and Steve have done a great job with what they have built. I'm looking forward to what the future has in store.

    MindTouch, Inc.2016-12-19
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Great culture, low salaries"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MindTouch, Inc.

    Pros

    Management cares about employees, founders are conversational and seem approachable. Catered lunches and fully covered benefits are nice.

    Cons

    Most departments are openly dissatisfied with the compensation structure, and unless you've been with the company since the beginning there's no way you'll earn industry average. Bonuses are not achievable, even by top performers.

    Advice to Management

    Pay employees what they're worth, otherwise you will lose out on talent.

    MindTouch, Inc.2016-12-06

    MindTouch, Inc. Response

    December 6, 2016Founder and CEO

    Thank you for your feedback and for your contributions to creating a meaningful legacy at MindTouch. I will note that employee retention rates are dramatically higher than industry averages. If we didn't pay our team industry competitive salaries or if we set unrealistic goals...well, ...

    Show More
Found 65 reviews