KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

MindTouch, Inc.

Is this your company?

MindTouch, Inc.

Add a Review

MindTouch, Inc. Employee Reviews about "mindtouch"

Updated May 16, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 71 of over 71 reviews
3.9
71% Recommend to a Friend
MindTouch, Inc. CEO Aaron Rice
48% Approve of CEO

Found 19 of over 71 reviews

3.9
71%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
MindTouch, Inc. CEO Aaron Rice
Aaron Rice
12 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

434

62 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
    There are no cons to display at this time.
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "mindtouch"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Hands down, the best company I've ever worked for.

    Sep 26, 2017 - Project Manager in San Diego, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've been at MindTouch for almost two years now, and I can say without a doubt, it has been the best workplace environment I've experienced. It has a fun, ethical, safe, and exciting culture, and I'm always excited to get back to work. Lol, I'm not kidding, I seriously love going to work.

    Cons

    MindTouch is very fast paced and constantly growing, but with that growth comes pains and sometimes frustrating moments. Like any work place, not everything is straightforward or obvious... That being said, if you're quick and can think on your feet, you'll do great!

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Final Assessment on MindTouch

    May 16, 2021 - Director of Products in San Diego, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    If you were talented, had a propensity to act and take risks, and were ambitious, you could grow your career. The downside of that (this is a con), is that the ceiling was quite abrupt as new ideas, opportunities, new teams were often hindered by lack of investment - it's not obvious how institutional capital was spent. Though not in MindTouch's favor, many of us used the elevated responsibilities we were given to gain positions in better-funded organizations. Therefore, MindTouch was a good career-builder. The founding CEO and his partner CTO were both very talented (more on the downside of the dynamic in the cons section). The founding CEO was an incredible advocate for the company and knew how to keep MindTouch relevant and in the conversation. The CTO is a genius, though I would have liked to see more engagement with the rest of the business or the analyst community. They both inspired me. Some of the most talented people I've ever met have come through this company. On the product and engineering side, you can now find them in senior roles at FAANG companies or in unicorn growth startups (some are still at MindTouch). From my understanding, the company was acquired primarily for its product and technology (and likely the potential it had with better investment). Though not as transformational to the industry as we would have liked (more in the cons), obviously some of us were able to contribute to something of measurable value.

    Cons

    MindTouch was acquired by NICE inContact during a downturn. It goes without saying that's not when you want to be having that conversation. The two fundamental things that were MindTouch's downfall were problems of timing and lack of urgency. - The north star was difficult to understand, and at some times, not there: There were years when it was apparent to most of us that the founders did not see eye to eye. We lost a lot of time during those periods, not focused on what could help us break out in the market. In the end, MindTouch was decent enough in a lot of different ways but didn't excel in any majorly impactful. It's not surprising that the ultimate fate is NICE inContact's Knowledgebase (albeit a good one). It's on par with the knowledge component of Zendesk, ServiceNow, which are a relatively minor part of a much larger solution. That's not a huge ROI for over a decade of work. I obviously wasn't privy to discussions at the board level, but overall I was highly disappointed that the strategy for a successful exit wasn't clear to us (or executed). - We collectively forgot we were an innovative SaaS company that could rapidly deliver value: Through a lack of serious investment in technology and a product vision that we could actually deliver (in a market where better-funded competitors copied what they needed from us and improved) our roadmap increasingly became a fantasy. The executive team was largely detached from the fact that product innovation, when it did occur, became year-long product cycles. The solution was to ignore the problem and desperately re-position our shrinking competitive feature set in a market that was rapidly outpacing us. We were blindsided by the importance of AI/ML in our space, and it shows, as some of our competitors (or similar companies in our space) that took the shift seriously are now considered unicorns (ex: Coveo). MindTouch was overall far too relaxed and complacent at all levels of the company. I'm not saying the company had to be a grind, but if you are going years without major product launches and no one sounds the alarm bells, then you have complacency. MindTouch needed some bay-area fire under it. Unfortunately, this attitude is sometimes pervasive in San Diego tech companies where the pace of life is slower.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Employee

    A sad, sad place to work

    May 4, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Free lunch provided 3 days a week - until Covid closed the office - Easy walk down to the ocean - Because management didn't work too hard, expectations were pretty easy to achieve

    Cons

    - CEO, COO constantly told us we were all going to be rich once MindTouch was sold. Total lie. - COO played favorites so he promoted his buddies that were loyal to him. - Anybody that was a hard-charger left in 2019-2020. Company had a massive lay off in early 2020 blamed on Covid, but it turned out to be financial mismanagement that led to reduction.

    5 people found this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Good culture, but a lot of turnover and uncertainty

    Mar 27, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    MindTouch has a great culture with a pretty good set perks and an amazing downtown office (except they only reimburse about 1/3 of your monthly parking fees). The work environment is pretty casual and relatively stress-free. Most of the people are friendly and smart and professional.

    Cons

    There is a lot of turnover at MindTouch. People are constantly leaving (or getting fired), which really makes it difficult to build any sort of continuity and momentum. People come and go and the strategy and plans keep changing. Also, about 15 people were just laid off this week which is a really heartless thing to do at a time when there is so much uncertainty with the coronavirus pandemic.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Entrepreneurial spirit required

    Sep 26, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people at Mindtouch are awesome! There's a strong camaraderie here and everyone is genuine, which is quite refreshing. There's an open door policy org wide, something I feel most people do not take advantage of. The product itself is awesome and very robust. There's a lot that can be done with our product, which is good and bad. For anyone considering Mindtouch as a career move, you must be able to run on your own and take initiative. Waiting around for direction wont cut it.

    Cons

    The focus on what Mindtouch does is hazy at times, with each department having it's own opinion and explanation of what we do. This can be confusing internally and externally. With a stronger company wide focus, the sky is the limit here.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Great coworkers, poor management

    Sep 21, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Like the title says, the coworkers that I had at MindTouch were great. It was nice to have catered lunch three times a week, and our office space was pretty awesome.

    Cons

    The management at this company is pretty awful. During the whole time I worked there, it never seemed like they totally understood the direction of their product. Some terrible decisions made by management led to 20% of MindTouch employees being laid off. The worst part was that they tried to play it off like it was all because of pressure from the company's investors and didn't take ownership of their own failures. As for the engineering side specifically, it was pretty obvious to everyone working there that the CTO had an extreme bias toward API/C# developers at the expense of the rest of the engineering department. It is not surprising then that none of the API developers were laid off. Even worse, two new engineers were hired right before the huge layoffs happened. If you knew that you were going to have to cut expenses, why in the world would you hire two new engineers instead of trying to keep the existing MindTouch employees? The whole situation was incredibly frustrating and just sad. I actually heard that one of the new hires quit shortly after this, which was probably a smart move on his part.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful

    MindTouch, Inc. Response

    Founder and CEO

    While there are factual inaccuracies you've provided above, we're sincerely grateful for your contributions. If you're interested in understanding our decision and direction better you will appreciate this: https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/doubling-responsibly-aaron-fulkerson/ Best wishes.

  7. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Sales

    Sep 6, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Solid product, catered lunches, nice office

    Cons

    Constant change in processes (beyond what is normal in a startup), inability to delegate, poor hiring practices, constant micromanaging with very little follow through, the list goes on. From a technology standpoint, MindTouch is top notch. The same can not be said from a business perspective. The executives do not delegate tasks well which results in countless bottlenecks and unfinished initiatives. There is rapid turnover in several departments and the general feeling that no one knows what is happening. Morale was at what seemed to be an all time low when I left but it apparently has gotten worse.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful

    MindTouch, Inc. Response

    Founder and CEO

    Thank you for your feedback and for any contributions that you made in the time you worked with us. Best wishes.

  8. 5.0
    Former Employee

    A great time to be a MindToucher

    Jun 13, 2016 - Marketing in San Diego, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great outlook by the C-level. Moving into the new office soon and it looks amazing! Food 3 days a week! So much room for professional growth because of the awesome backing of upper management. Great place to be right now!

    Cons

    Cant say much. It is a wonderful time to be at MindTouch

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Love it

    Feb 8, 2016 - Software Engineer in San Diego, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Mindtouch is full of intelligent, positive people who really believe in the product and want to make it the best it can be. The culture fosters learning, growth, and fun.

    Cons

    The only con I can think of doesn't really apply to me. Since the location is down town the parking situation isn't great but MindTouch reimburses its employees for a monthly trolley pass so I don't need to worry about it.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Mentally challenging - ability to grow - extremely happy

    Jan 19, 2016 - Account Executive in San Diego, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Culture - fast paced atmosphere focused on exceeding goals while keeping the customer at the center of our purpose. The people here are creative, highly intelligent, extremely humorous, crafty, passionate, outlandish and F-ing awesome KANMFers ! The CEO and COO are at standing desks amongst the rest of the team and are always accessible and interested in your work and your life. It is very common to be eating lunch with the executives talking about intricate business concepts, forward thinking ideas, or simply chatting about hilarious GIFs that went around the office via email. Work - the MindTouch product is undoubtedly the top in the industry. Our team works hard at keeping it the premier product and I honestly have no doubt that it is leaps and bounds above the next best product. The teams work hard because there is attainable pressure from everywhere to succeed. Truth is, everybody is held accountable by each other to succeed because we know we are taking this ship to uncharted waters and it is dam exciting!

    Cons

    I really can't find any real cons about MindTouch but if I had to be nit-picky I would say there are not enough holiday days off.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    MindTouch, Inc. Response

    Founder and CEO

    Thanks for your feedback. The Saturday running/jog/walk clinic is available to everyone. I think we've improved a bit on the healthiness of the catered meals with Jason at the helm. Fruit seems to be more prevalent too. Please know it was your feedback that helped encourage this. Again, thanks.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 19 Reviews
</>Embed

Work at MindTouch, Inc.? Share Your Experiences

or

MindTouch, Inc. Photos

+ Add Photo
MindTouch, Inc. photo of: MindTouch made Inc. 500's Fastest Growing Private Companies. WoooHooo!!
MindTouch, Inc. photo of: Beer &amp; Bowling!!
MindTouch, Inc. photo of: Q2 Happy Hour
MindTouch, Inc. photo of: We value our people here at MindTouch
MindTouch, Inc. photo of: Aiming for that STRIKE!!!
MindTouch, Inc. photo of: Company Happy Hour
MindTouch, Inc. photo of: MindTouch
See All Photos

Glassdoor has 71 MindTouch, Inc. reviews submitted anonymously by MindTouch, Inc. employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if MindTouch, Inc. is right for you.