Mindvalley Reviews | Glassdoor

Mindvalley Reviews

Updated Aug 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 121 reviews

4.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
96%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Mindvalley CEO Vishen Lakhiani
Vishen Lakhiani
99 Ratings
Pros
  • "Encouraging everyone to be grow not only on career, but for personal growth too(in 13 reviews)

  • "I can speak to Vishen about anything and he's always available to hear form his employees(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "Micromanagement from the CEO: Vishen is both the best and the worst thing that is at Mindvalley right now(in 8 reviews)

  • "I have no ill will towards MV or Vishen or anyone I worked with(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mindvalley

    Pros

    Good culture, values and leadership

    Cons

    A little unfocused at times

    Advice to Management

    keep doing what you're doing

    Mindvalley2016-09-28
  2. Helpful (1)

    "False Advertising"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Mindvalley full-time

    Pros

    I love many of my coworkers and I enjoy working from home. Not much else positive to say at this point.

    Cons

    I have been with Lifebook from the very beginning- I have seen many qualified and talented people be let go based on unfair criteria and gossip among the "leaders"- people who are supposed to be creating their best lives and sharing them with others. You are not paid for how much work you are expected to complete. The owners have unrealistic expectations for an overpriced product.

    Mindvalley2015-08-05
  3. Helpful (98)

    "Good for young adventurers, bad for senior level expats looking for a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mindvalley full-time

    Pros

    - Lots of room to grow within the company & lead completely new projects from the ground up - High quality tech team, designers, writers, and customer support team - Great local coworkers to work with and learn from. - Opportunity to shape your team & interact with anyone in the company. - Pretty good pay for Kuala Lumpur

    Cons

    - Entrepreneurship is not encouraged in practice. Vishen is extremely controlling of employees lives outside of the company and takes credit for passion projects employees do in their spare time to push Mindvalley Foundation - Massive growth in recent years had led to lower quality people being hired. The developers are great but often overwhelmed and called on weekends, vacations, etc. - There is little... substance behind many of the projects you see listed on mindvalley.com -- (not necessarily a con) - Marketers and management are inexperienced, throw others under the bus when things go wrong. - Many former employees are alienated and badmouthed by Vishen. Talk with any former employee for the full rundown.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop the fear tactics and brainwashing. Stop pushing your employees to write 5 star reviews on Glassdoor to balance out the barrage of bad ones early on. This forum is a place for people to voice their opinions. Opinions.

    Mindvalley2014-07-27

    Mindvalley Response

    April 15, 2015Publicist & Branding Manager

    Thanks for your feedback! 1. Like any good company we prioritize employees who are dedicated to our projects and mission. While we do believe in entrepreneurship education, we don't encourage side projects that would be in compettion with the time invested at Mindvalley. If a candidate ...

    Show More
  4. Helpful (57)

    "Great place to work, but it is not for everybody!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mindvalley full-time

    Pros

    - You will meet some of the most amazing and smart people in the world - If you are a marketer, love marketing or just want to learn about marketing this will be better than Disneyland for you, we can say it is Harvard for marketing - Work/life balance can be achieved if you are strict with your hours and work, the opportunity is there, it is your choice if you make it or not. - The culture is pretty amazing,... great balance of work, fun and learning - The space is simply beautiful! - When it comes to marketing you will not have too much freedom as the CEO controls in a very detailed way what happens in this area, so your creative train may be halted very quickly or it may take a while before you are allowed to try and experiment (not judging this as good or bad thing, marketing is the core of the business, plus it is what he loves, so I understand why he is so invested in it), in any other area you could have a lot of freedom to innovate and push your ideas forward (if they are good and you know how to present them) - If you are into personal development this is a freaking perfect place for you to work (and also if you are not). - Despite the fact that this is a 10 year old company there are so many things to do an improve, so there is a space for everyone.

    Show More

    Cons

    - If you are not into marketing your chances of growing and learning are not THAT amazing (probably with the exception of tech) - Salary is horrible, specially for a company that earns in US dollars, that is growing so much and that has so many expats. I believe this is also why so many people decide to leave after 1 or 2 years... you learn you gotta learn and then you go ahead and try on your own or move to places... where you can actually make money! - There is not a structured career path, you come in and have to figure out everything by yourself in a way, a couple of people might help you understand how things work in the company but do not expect an organised, straight forward structure and path, this can be good or bad, depends on you and you like or dislike. - Be prepared to endure endless hours of propaganda by the CEO and senior management about how MV is the best place in the world and how our products service are the best and how they will change the world and blah, blah, blah... Motivation and inspiration are important but here they take it to an unrealistic and tiresome level. - Methodologies and processes change a lot! and very often, they never stick to ANYTHING for more than a month, this is quite frustrating ( i know that management will not own to this and they will try to justify it somehow) but in a company of this size and with the amount of people you need more than 4 weeks to try a new process of doing ANYTHING.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There is always 2 sides to every story, so stop assuming that your side is the only one that exists... and silence is a powerful way of talking...

    Mindvalley2013-09-02
  5. "Best Place to work and grow at."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Video Content Producer in Kuala Lumpur
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mindvalley full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Mission driven team. - Very strong structures and feedback systems. - Team is Diverse AF with tons of international days, socials which means a lot of free food every month. - Yearly retreats and access to all the programs for free which cost 1000s of dollars. - Can always change teams if the role doesn't fit. - Strong focus on personal and professional growth. - Pay is good according to Malaysian... Standards, if you are applying for the KL office.

    Show More

    Cons

    - You will get ads related to MV constantly on YT, facebook, tinder (Google loves us) - You may not be able to ever get homesick because you will feel just at home here. Not so cheesy cons: - Salary is good according to Malaysian standards but can do better in terms globally coz everybody travels a-lot. - Don't get enough time to take the courses during weekdays. Weekends, yes.

    Advice to Management

    -

    Mindvalley2019-08-21
  6. "A place where everything is possible, if YOU want to."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mindvalley full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Growth - The focus that growing yourself first and then everything will grow , is something that I LOVE from Mindvalley. Bold visions - The IDEA that changing the world is possible and aiming and working for it, is really exciting. You can really see how your mental scheme can expand in just a few years on what is possible if you really THINK BIG. People - The mindvalley team is filled up with exceptional... and quite unique individuals, its like Mindvalley got a way to find them all and put them together in one place. I am impressed by the level of freedom they can give, if you take proper responsibility and ownership. Mindvalley is a lot of ask and it is given and the support the leaders, co-workers, teammates give you is amazing. They really care about you as an individual, and you can really see that they live the mission that they want to achieve. - Entrepreneurial thinking - this means no one is going to tell you what to do or there is not much direction. Again, I personally like it ALOT. This means you are deciding your own growth and what you bring and put forth. As this can be exciting for many, if what you look for is stability, routine-like type of everyday the same work and just what you are given/suppose to do and that's it, then its NOT for you.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Start-up like culture. I personally like it but maybe it's not everyone cup of tea. - So many things are happening, its quite fast paced that sometimes you can get lost - there could be a bit of shinny object syndrome from the founder end's when it comes to company focuses and people. - The Top of Mind Paradox: Some people could raise faster than others because they are more loud, keep more top of mind in... meetings and/or with the owner instead from the actual value and skills they provide.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Focus on proper manager on-boarding specifically on processes/systems and structures. - Clearer salaries raise policies - as it feels like you need to really push a lot for it, even after your team/you has created so much value, sometimes is quite unclear how it this really works.

    Mindvalley2019-08-20
  7. "A really awesome place to work at!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Content Writer in Kuala Lumpur
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mindvalley full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you're all about personal & professional growth, this is the place to be. They have in-house coaches who provide therapy and coaching, you'll have full access to all of Mindvalley's programs, and you'll be working with some of the best people in their fields. It's also the best place in terms of work culture - they actually treat you like an adult. There's no such thing as 'clocking-in' - they give you... the flexibility of coming in to work and leaving at your own time. Everyone here has a great work-life balance. There's also a LOT of socializing in Mindvalley. The company organizes a lot of social events (inside and outside of work) and most people here are friendly. You're not obligated to attend these events of course, but because the people here are awesome, you'll make friends and actually want to hang out. There's no rank and file here - you can speak to anyone about anything, even Vishen (if you manage to catch the few minutes of his free time). In fact, you can say hello to someone, ask what they do, and learn all about it (or schedule a lunch with them to know more).

    Show More

    Cons

    These aren't personally cons for me, but I can see them being a problem for someone who doesn't appreciate it. They have a culture of over-communication - there's no such thing as communicating too much. Have 10 things to do on your item list and you send an update after completing each one? Your manager would probably appreciate that. Also, the meetings are short, but they have one every day, and those you... must attend (even if you're not in the office, you join it remotely). There's no such thing as doing your own thing and being incommunicado for three weeks. Also because of the flexible timetable, you won't get as many annual leave days as other companies, although you can work on public holidays and claim those days later. But they give other perks like if you're sick you won't even need to show an MC - just take a sick day. As I said, they treat you like an adult. (To be honest, you won't actually NEED that many annual leaves with this kind of work culture. ) Some managers are direct, but no one has been rude. You've gotta be okay with a bit of swearing (part of the honesty they practice around here) but everyone's been treated with respect. Just a bit surprised that a gym membership isn't included in the benefits package, but hopefully, that changes soon!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pls can I haz gym membership

    Mindvalley2019-08-19
  8. "You Get What You Give"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Social Media Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mindvalley full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - As a company that focuses on personal growth, it walks the talk for its employees. For example, during A-Report, we celebrated individuals who finished Spartan Races. We also have a space to promote any other spaces or interest groups for employees to join (e.g., Surfing, Yoga, Safety Circles, etc.) - Because the company evolves rapidly, new initiatives and opportunities arise often, and employees are... encouraged to take them - I love working with the people around me. They are inspiring at work and outside of work. Everyone is constantly learning something new, trying new ideas, learning from ideas that worked and didn't work. Everyone tries to be constructive in feedback.

    Show More

    Cons

    - When a company evolves fast, new teams can be formed. If you are part of a new team, it will be like a startup environment where processes and structure will need to be worked on from scratch. While to some, this can be exciting, to others, this instability can be uncomfortable to work with.

    Advice to Management

    - Provide a customized training session / induction to newer managers of new teams, especially on how to create processes and structures both for work and for team management (i.e., making sure 1-1s happen, monthly team OKR meetings, whatever is appropriate / aligned to the overall company structure).

    Mindvalley2019-08-19
  9. "Best company I've worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Marketing Specialist in Kuala Lumpur
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mindvalley full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - The company invests in every employees personal growth - Love the company vision of uplifting humanity - The culture and family like bond within the company is amazing. I felt welcomed and comfortable right from my first day

    Cons

    - None so far in my short time

    Mindvalley2019-08-19
  10. "Best Work Experience in my Journey"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Community in Kuala Lumpur
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mindvalley full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - The evolution and growth you'll experience in Mindvalley is unparalleled! You'll have access to the greatest teachers to support you through your growth as a person and you'll be uplifted by the rest of the Mindvalley team who pushes and motivates you like no other environment I have ever experienced. - Mindvalley's values: not just about personal growth. I love that the work we are doing is all about... collective growth - linked to some of humanities biggest challenges. This year alone we have supported in the refugee cause, we have challenged big food companies for their misleading marketing and we are looking at how to support movements and policies that drive humanity towards unity, not division. - Professional development opportunities: Mindvalley has repeatedly invested in me and my professional growth, including fully sponsoring all the courses and trainings I have wished to take for my professional development. - I absolutely love the freedom I get to experience at work! I highly value freedom in the workplace and at Mindvalley I feel like I am always empowered to create the life quality I desire. I have had freedom in choosing the projects I mostly wanted to contribute in, as well as experiencing geographical freedom many times throughout the year. As I write this review, I have just spent 3 months out of the office, supporting our events and spending time with my family and partner. - Inclusion & diversity: greatest team I have ever worked with. With 50+ nationality in the HQ, I have never felt so at home and among a group of people that shares aspirations, ambitions and life journeys. The team has become my number one source of inspiration and support, in my professional and personal life. I feel I have so many teammates believing in me that no matter the challenge I face, I I know I won't be alone in it. - Inclusivity: as I write this, I have just finished studying at Mindvalley University with my brother, who came out of this experience completely transformed. I was able to include my whole family into my work environment and experience what is that we do in the world. It really is a blessing to live a work culture that is inclusive and that gives you opportunities to bring along with you the people who matter the most in you. - Balance between play and work: we regularly celebrate at the office. We have countless cultural days and appreciation days. This creates a great balance between play and work on an everyday basis.

    Show More

    Cons

    - You will have to relocate to Kuala Lumpur for some time if you wish to fully absorb the company culture. - Adapting to Malaysian salaries: your salary will be adapted to the South East Asian market, meaning that it will be lower than international standards however I have been able to enjoy a much higher quality of life than what I had in Europe, since the life cost in Malaysia is pretty low. I honestly could not... afford the quality of life I experience right now even in a high paid job back home. - Number of meetings: the number of meetings is higher than in previous work environments, however you are always empowered to make the meetings what you need out of them. You need to take responsibility for the outcome you desire out of the meetings and make sure you are prepared to direct the conversation in a way that is respectful of everyone's commitment. Also, most of the meetings within the team happen to either make sure everyone is including in the evolution of the projects or mostly to check on each other personally and see where everyone in standing in work and life.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Investing in even more senior talent within the company to push our vision further, faster.

    Mindvalley2019-08-18
Found 121 reviews