KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Ministry Brands

Engaged Employer

Ministry Brands

Add a Review

Ministry Brands Reviews

Updated Jan 15, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 134 of over 137 reviews

3.5
60%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Ministry Brands Managing Director Pat ODonnell
Pat ODonnell
19 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people with a common purpose(in 9 reviews)

  • "Unlimited PTO - Most companies only give 2 weeks(in 6 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "The manager could not consult with Churches and sell the products(in 15 reviews)

  • "The pay is super low for a tech company(in 6 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Tech

    Join the conversation on
    Join the conversation on

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Ministry Brands and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      I love it here!

      Jan 12, 2022 - Technical Writer in Lenoir City, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great managers, great co-workers, great PTO. Very happy.

      Cons

      None that come to mind.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      They do not care about you

      Jan 15, 2022 - Software Engineer in Lenoir City, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They'll pay you while you look for something better

      Cons

      - Communication does not exist. I had no idea who anyone in the company was above my direct manager. It does not foster respect when you have 0 interaction with anyone else in the company - Acquisitions and gutting of products - Terrible 401k match and you need to work for the company 2 years before receiving any match. I think they only have it so they don't get sorted out by people who filter out companies without a 401k - "unlimited pto". It's not a good thing and it's proven you take less PTO with it. You also do not get paid out if you have a balance and leave. It is not good https://lifehacker.com/why-unlimited-vacation-days-is-a-scam-1847255661

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great PTO, Horrible Upper Management

      Dec 15, 2021 - Website Specialist in Tampa, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great open PTO so you know you can take time off after the company piles work onto your plate (including from other departments) when you become burnt out!

      Cons

      Upper management always seems so disorganized and disconnected from what lower-level employees are actually doing. They are constantly looking to buy up the next product without ever looking at their current products, which means they are never investing in their current products or ensuring there are enough staff on the teams as it is. All customer-facing positions have high employee turnover because we're all so burnt out from never having the proper amount of staff. They also say they will help you achieve your professional goals and progress your position but my internal application was never even met with a discussion and the position was filled with an outside hire.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Good people, toxic leadership decisions, fake reviews

      Nov 3, 2021 - Middle Management in Nowhere, OK
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Loved the people and serving customers serving their communities and the world.

      Cons

      Wasn't going to write a review, but decided to take a look at the score on Glassdoor and laughed when I saw what it is. Look at the graph for rating over time. There's no way it goes up that much that quickly when there was no major shift (leadership or vision). Note that there have been almost as many reviews in 2021 (25) as in the previous two years combined (27), and most of them are 5 stars. That doesn't reconcile with managers leaving in droves. I watched as 6-8 managers across support, development, and account management gave their notice in a one month period, and that's just management. That doesn't match with the reviews. The senior leadership is better today than it was three years ago, but the company isn't growing organically. Positions are often not backfilled in order to hit unrealistic target numbers so the company can look good on paper. This leads to everyone doing the work of 3-5 people with poor tools and bad company organization. Loved the people I worked directly with, but the rest is a mess.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Awesome growing company with high commitment to our mission

      Jan 12, 2022 - Chief Executive Officer (CEO) in Knoxville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Engaged associates Collaborative Environment Growth Opportunities Strategic Vision

      Cons

      None at this time to report

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Sexiest company

      Dec 22, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Lenoir City, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Co workers are great to work with.

      Cons

      EXTREMELY SEXIEST COMPANY TOWARD MEN. If you are a women just sit back and enjoy. Men have fun working your butts off and get nothing in return. Pay is super low as well.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Heart for Mission

      Dec 22, 2021 - Director in Knoxville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People sincerely devoted to the mission of churches

      Cons

      Frequent changes to management and organization

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Company Culture is Refreshing - Direction is Exciting

      Mar 18, 2021 - Talent Acquisition Partner in Tampa, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It's such a basic thing, but every other employee that I have interacted with at Ministry Brands is just...NICE. That is something that is missing in a lot of corporate environments. Everyone seems to work with a great balance of urgency, understanding, and empathy. Executive leadership has a true open-door policy and regularly encourages feedback, ideas, criticisms, etc. Every employee meets with members of leadership on their 1st day and is given direct contact information for the entire executive team on their 1st day, which is something that I haven't seen before. Work-life balance is amazing: flex hours, remote working, and essentially an unlimited PTO policy are a few of the perks (I'm regularly encouraged by my direct supervisor not to check emails over the weekend). I've been given all of the support needed to be successful in my role, while also being given the freedom/autonomy of not being micromanaged. I could go on-and-on about how great my experience has been at Ministry Brands so far, but I encourage anyone reading this to find a random employee on LinkedIn and ask them directly.

      Cons

      No cons so far in my tenure at MB outside of the normal challenges of being in a high-growth company in the technology space. I feel like the company handles those challenges well.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      entry level

      Nov 2, 2021 - Criminal Researcher in Tampa, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good company, good mission and useful service

      Cons

      somewhat disorganized, not willing to move on pay

      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Growing and riddled with exciting opportunities

      Mar 18, 2021 - Software Development Leadership in Lenoir City, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Growth potential is impeccable and the ability to work on different platforms and solutions is ever present. There are seasoned tech team members that are open to mentor and there is a lot of learning opportunity. The cloud-first approach offers a lot of modern solution challenges and the culture is second to none when it comes to getting things done! Ministry Brands uses every technology stack in the business and there is no shortage of awesome technology to put your hands on. The leadership team is supportive and willing to help you grow professionally. There is so much going on that if you are willing to step up and take the lead on an effort, you can probably find anything you want to achieve at your disposal. The solid performance of the company has been rewarding to employees and Ministry Brands has proven to be pandemic-proof!

      Cons

      There is so much technology that not all of it is current and there is maintenance work required on some older technology/systems, but all new initiatives are on the cutting edge. We are very busy and there is no shortage of opportunity to work longer hours, yet it has been very rewarding so hardly a complaint, and no different than any other tech shop trying to stay ahead.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 134 Reviews

    Ministry Brands Reviews FAQs

    60% of Ministry Brands employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Ministry Brands 3.6 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.4 for culture and values and 3.4 for career opportunities.

    According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Ministry Brands to be career development, benefits, coworkers and the cons to be management, senior leadership, culture.

    Popular Careers with Ministry Brands Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Ministry Brands? Share Your Experiences

    or