Ministry of Education Singapore Reviews

Updated May 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
65%
Recommend to a Friend
Pros
  • "A stable job with attractive benefits(in 33 reviews)

  • "Have holidays on school holidays and knock off earlier than usual adults(in 29 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Teacher"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - High School English Teacher in Egypt, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Ministry of Education Singapore full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Working as an English teacher is a job that satisfies my ambition and achieves my dream in life.Generating a generation whose main traits are ambition, truth, faith and devotion to their nation is one of the basics upon which my work is based.

    Cons

    Working as an English teacher for such group of pupils inspired in me the spirit of enthusiasm, challenge and determination.I decided not to lose a battle with those pupils who represent their nation's perspective hope and ambition.

    Continue reading
    Ministry of Education Singapore2017-07-19
  2. Helpful (2)

    "General Education Officer"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Ministry of Education Singapore full-time

    Pros

    Stable and routine timeline throughout the year

    Cons

    Lack of foresight and flexibility

    Ministry of Education Singapore2017-08-04
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Teacher in Singapore"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Educator in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Ministry of Education Singapore

    Pros

    Teacher training, mentoring, resource & IT support, & professional development are in place for a smooth start for beginning teachers & throughout teaching career.

    Cons

    Workload in terms of time, effort, & energy, & performance expectations of both teachers & students are haphazard, unrealistic, unkind, & highly stressful. Most of the work for teachers & students are repetitive & redundant. Workshops, seminars, conferences, & activities are for showing & need not turn ineffective teachers to super stars. Basic common sense lacks at various levels.

    Continue reading
    Ministry of Education Singapore2016-10-20
  4. "Good teaching experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Ministry of Education Singapore full-time

    Pros

    Good guidance from teaching mentors Prepares you for applying for MOE teaching scholarships

    Cons

    Long hours during test periods

    Continue reading
    Ministry of Education Singapore2016-04-14
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Manageable"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Ministry of Education Singapore full-time

    Pros

    Benefits, good experiences and memories

    Cons

    Long hours, expect to work on weekends a lot.

    Continue reading
    Ministry of Education Singapore2015-04-22
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great experience!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Ministry of Education Singapore

    Pros

    Friendly work environment and flexible scheduling. Colleagues would often go out of their way to help out and make you feel included in the community.

    Cons

    There were always a lot of different projects going on, so you definitely have to be organized and be able to juggle multiple projects at one time independently.

    Ministry of Education Singapore2015-01-27
  7. "Not bad"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Ministry of Education Singapore full-time

    Pros

    Steady income with some good welfare

    Cons

    Work beyond office hours and weekends

    Ministry of Education Singapore2020-05-17
  8. "Good"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Ministry of Education Singapore full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Stable career Good noble career good teaching peers

    Cons

    Not much promotion/growth income stagnant not enough income bonuses dependant on RO and not one's ability necessarily

    Ministry of Education Singapore2020-05-06
  9. "It is a good organisation"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Senior Assistant Director in Singapore

    I have been working at Ministry of Education Singapore full-time

    Pros

    The culture is very healthy

    Cons

    The working hours are long

    Ministry of Education Singapore2020-05-13
  10. "Great organisation"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Teacher, Secondary School in Singapore

    I have been working at Ministry of Education Singapore part-time

    Pros

    It is an organisation that pays well.

    Cons

    The workload can be rather heavy at times.

    Ministry of Education Singapore2020-04-29
Found 430 reviews