Minnesota Mental Health Clinics Reviews | Glassdoor

Minnesota Mental Health Clinics Reviews

Updated Aug 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Mental Health Provider"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mental Health Counselor in Apple Valley, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Minnesota Mental Health Clinics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone here is friendly and committed to providing quality care for clients. Insurance companies, hospitals, counties refer clients to MMHC. Office staff is organized in keeping track of account balances and collecting payments. Therapists are able to request resource information from one another via e-mail. Quality of care is assessed on an on-going basis through a peer-review process. Supervision is offered... for clinicians working toward licensure. MMHC contributes to health insurance costs and offers programs such as HSA, 401K. Therapist compensation is a percentage of the income one generates. Therapists set their own schedule (to include 5 hours 4 pm or after, or on Saturday). This is a Rule 29 Clinic, therapists are required to attend 4 hours of meetings monthly.

    Show More

    Cons

    No paid sick or vacation time for therapists.

    Minnesota Mental Health Clinics2019-08-23
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Genuinely client-focused company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinical Psychologist in Eagan, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Minnesota Mental Health Clinics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I came from a very toxic workplace in which money was the bottom line for everything. This place renewed my faith in the mental health community. The owner has consistently expressed a desire to improve client's experiences and care through the clinic and encouraged his employees to start programs and trainings to increase their knowledge and skill. The company has supported me through difficult times with my... training and made the credentialing process as easy as possible. This clinic is not without faults of course, but they are nothing beyond what you would expect with any work environment. Throughout my multi-year employment here, I have received the support I need with difficult cases and my professional judgment has been respected (within reason of course). This is the first company I have worked for in which I feel respected and genuinely supported. We get a massive fruit basket at Christmas, which is a nice perk too. Although providers do not get paid time off, bonuses, or much opportunity for vertical growth, we do get to take vacation when we want, have access to a responsive support staff, ability to grow our skills and services provided, and many services in-house for easy referrals. They also only require providers to see 25 clients per week, leaving 30 hours total open in their schedule. My previous place wanted close to 35, with 8-12 hours of meetings every two weeks on top of that! The company also allows providers to make their own schedules, within the parameters of having 30 scheduled hours and at least four hours being after 4pm. That is so easy! You can work 9-5 Monday through Thursday with a half hour break for lunch and meet this. You can have a four day week (which I have)! Heck make it a three-day week if you just love ten hour days and torturing yourself. There is also a billing department who can answer whatever questions we have, a human resource worker who is incredibly nice and supportive, and the owner is the kindest person I have met in a very long time.

    Show More

    Cons

    No PTO for providers. Minimal opportunity for vertical movement. General interpersonal conflict (not beyond a typical work environment and usually due to individual personality's not a company-wide flaw) Turn-over with front desk staff can be frustrating at times No incentive for long-term stay (e.g. increased pay/bonus/PTO/etc.)

    Advice to Management

    Every company can always benefit from improved communication. Continue focusing on client's as the main priority - that is what this field is about after all. Increase staff-appreciation activities (e.g. have optional staff outings or trainings). Opportunity for vertical movement/incentive for long-term stay would be beneficial

    Minnesota Mental Health Clinics2019-06-20
  3. "I have been with the company for 2+ years and would recommend working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Therapist 

    I have been working at Minnesota Mental Health Clinics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great colleagues and good benefits offered. Do not have to share an office and office came nicely furnished.

    Cons

    Part time hours are not available. Must see a minimum of 25 clients per week.

    Minnesota Mental Health Clinics2019-06-23
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Flexible and supportive work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outpatient Therapist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Minnesota Mental Health Clinics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have worked here for several years and one of my favorite parts is my coworkers. It's helpful to work and consult with other therapists (with various licensures) as well as psychiatry staff. I have gotten a ton of support from this company, including the supervision they provided for my licensure. As an individual therapist, you do get a lot of flexibility to set your own schedule within certain parameters and to... work with a variety of people. You can choose to focus on a specialty or be open to lots of different clients. As a younger professional, it's been a great place to explore my interests. I have been happy with my compensation--the more clients you get, the more you get paid, but that seems reasonable to me. I also appreciate that there are a lot of other services available to my clients through this clinic beyond individual therapy, which makes client care a lot easier and more comprehensive!

    Show More

    Cons

    There are consultations twice a month, but otherwise you do have to be intentional about getting community and support. It's easy to get isolated if you're not mindful of it. There are a lot of wonderful people here who are happy to help you or talk to you if you take the initiative to do so. There is a less structure team here than other places I've been at, but again if you put some effort into it you can have... some amazing working relationships!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    It would be nice to have some other opportunities to engage with co workers. Might be interesting to do this in the context of continuing education and discussion. Perhaps occasional speakers or discussion topics to help us not only connect but continue pushing each other to grow.

    Minnesota Mental Health Clinics2019-06-18
  5. "Opportunities for Growth, Supportive Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Therapist 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Minnesota Mental Health Clinics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This job has really helped me get on my feet and develop my clinical skills post-graduation. The programs do amazing work for adolescents and adults and it’s great to have them in-house to refer clients to. Client-centered care is valued and emphasized. You have a flexible schedule that you build yourself and licensure supervision is included. Management listens to concerns and values individual growth of clinicians... so there are opportunities for advancement if you seek them out. CEUs and trainings are partially reimbursed for program staff. The supervisors are incredible and most therapists are very approachable for additional support if you need it. Some of my closest relationships have come out of working here with other therapists and I wouldn’t trade this experience for any other job! Plus, the holiday fruit baskets from management are one of the highlights of my holiday season every year- so much effort and thought goes into them and they're great!

    Show More

    Cons

    There are some therapists who don’t contribute to the culture in a positive way and can come off as haughty in group consultations, making it difficult to be vulnerable in asking for support. There are plenty of other opportunities to seek out consultation from supportive people if you need it; you just have to take a very active role in doing so.

    Advice to Management

    Anything to build cohesive team morale across the clinics would be great! It is hard to get to know other therapists and their strengths when they’re in different cities.

    Minnesota Mental Health Clinics2019-06-20
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Very unhealthy environment!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Minnesota Mental Health Clinics full-time

    Pros

    -Coworkers made the job bearable and good friends were made

    Cons

    This place is beyond toxic and hostile. The lack of appreciation and respect given from upper management is horrible – you are constantly walking on eggshell worrying about making a mistake, and if you do, you are then scolded and belittled for it rather than walking away with a lesson. They take their employees for granted and then question and wonder why the turnover rate is so high. Upper management and some of... the previous supervisors were and are only looking out for themselves and try pinning things on people that are “lower” than them to clear their own name. No matter how long you have worked there or how much you have contributed to the company, you are just there to make them money. One supervisor was very degrading, condescending, hypocritical, and all-around toxic to be around. Thankfully things are starting to turn around with new supervisors in place. There is a tremendous lack of benefits for the mental, emotional, and even physical time and effort you put into this company if you work here. The health coverage is laughable and good luck ever trying to take time for yourself for personal reasons such as a mental health day or a day to catch up on appointments because you have to use your PTO for sick days and you can’t even use it until 6 months into the job. Sick? Too bad. No pay. Need a day to go to the dentist? That sucks, make it for a weekend so you don’t use PTO. They pay everyone in the same role differently which is absolutely unfair but good luck ever being able to talk about it with upper management because they will avoid you like the plague. That so called “monthly” bonus is a straight up shady lie. What they really mean by that is "this bonus is only valid if you don't leave and you will get it right before the start of a new year" which means you could work your butt off for 10 months and "reach" your bonus but then find another job elsewhere and not be given your hard earned "MONTHLY" bonus when you leave – and they purposefully leave that part out of the interview process. Oh, and the bonus is taxed so you don’t even get the full thing AND every month varies; depending on whether the supervisor liked you that month or not she would give it to you. If you did something to make her look bad or made her mad, she would come up with every excuse in the book to make sure you didn’t get your bonus. What about raises you may ask? Well, no raises. You would expect at your one year review they would actually give you the time of day to discuss your goals and achievements as well as offer a bonus but like I said, they will avoid you like the plague. For Christmas you get a fruit basket. A. FRUIT. BASKET. Management thinks that giving their employees a jumbo basket of nasty fruit that becomes old and rotten within hours is extremely appreciated.... It is not a nice gesture, it is a laugh in the face to be so unappreciated by a company in which you work your butt off to succeed in to then be rewarded with fruit you could easily buy yourself any day of the week. This place will affect you outside of the office on a daily basis. I encourage anyone and everyone to not even give this place an ounce of your energy.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The burnout rate and turnover rate isn't always necessarily about the field of mental health - it is about the management and how horrible you treat your employees.

    Minnesota Mental Health Clinics2018-10-09
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Terrible management and disrespectful to employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Minnesota Mental Health Clinics full-time

    Pros

    Able to work as an individual therapist without being fully licensed; "free" supervision weekly; able to make your own schedule and hours.

    Cons

    This job looks very appealing to a new clinician - especially with the "pros" listed above. However, there are so many major red flags and concerns to consider. 1.Therapists are required to see on average 25 clients per week, which does not take into consideration time off or Holidays (even though the clinic is closed). If you do not see 25 clients per week, you will receive passive aggressive emails about it and... your insurance benefits are taken away from you. This invokes a massive amount of fear and anxiety among clinicians. Management assumes that lower numbers equates to poor work ethic from clinicians and this is very far from the truth. 2. Ethical concerns: The clinic is not HIPPA compliant. There are not two locked doors at all times to protect client information, and client billing information is sent to clinicians through the mail! "Supervision" consists of tardiness, technical difficulties, and your supervisor spending the majority of the session signing off on notes while you attempt to discuss cases. The supervisor has fallen asleep during supervision for multiple employees from being over-worked and exhausted. This is concerning, and definitely not ethical "supervision". 3. Disrespect of employees: Above all else, this is the most concerning. When you feel disrespected, unappreciated, and targeted by management, it creates a hostile and toxic work environment. Turnover rates at this agency are sky high. There is no incentive for clinicians to stay on board post-licensure, as they actually receive a pay CUT after becoming credentialed. Employees are treated as though they are easily replaceable and just another way to make money.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    This is a hard job to do - working in the mental health field is no easy task... so when you are losing employees not because of the work but because of management, what does that tell you?? It is time to take a hard look at WHY and be willing to make changes. Employees stay at agencies when they feel respected and are given a sense of autonomy. PS - a lot of clinicians would gladly take part-time work as a... contracted position and be willing to share office spaces to cut down on costs. Talk to your employees about their needs, you may be surprised!

    Show More
    Minnesota Mental Health Clinics2018-09-12
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Unethical, dangerous, stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Therapist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Minnesota Mental Health Clinics for more than a year

    Pros

    - Opportunity to work in a rewarding field with good people - Partially furnished office space, including desk, chair, couch, computer

    Cons

    - Complete lack of moral and ethical standards - Therapists are required to schedule minimum 35 clients/week, and see 30. Threats if quotas are not met. - Management disregards employee feedback, using shame/guilt/threats (taking away health insurance) if you don’t fall in line / stop asking questions / meet quotas. - Management (and owner) pressure to see clientele outside of therapists’ domain / comfort zone for... the sake of revenue. A severe breach of ethics and client care. - No clear answers on reimbursement/pay structures. It’s all cloak and dagger, always feels shady. - Management promises to provide supervision to those working toward licensure, but will leverage the agreement to make therapists work more hours. - Management considers personal / life issues (sickness/death/mental health) to be unacceptable reasons for time off and has been known to resort to legal action - Management is willing to intentionally risk/sacrifice client well-being for company gain

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Realize the damage you are doing to our community of professionals, and most importantly, patients. Businesses should make a profit, but not at the expense of the health of all involved, nor without regard to ethics.

    Minnesota Mental Health Clinics2018-04-18
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Attn all therapists, especially those just graduating: do not work here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Minnesota Mental Health Clinics full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Minnesota Mental Health Clinics provides each therapist with a somewhat furnished office for you to use with the basics such as computer, phone, desk, couch.

    Cons

    Clinic/owner does not support or value therapists; rather therapists are treated as easily dispensable entities. This clinic particularly targets people who are looking for their first job post-graduate school who may not be as knowledgeable about what things to look for in a therapy employment contract. In addition, management does not practice transparent billing practices so I was never sure if my paychecks... were correct as the dollar figure never matched what the stated check amount on the billing statement was. On multiple occasions I requested to have HR meet with me to help me understand the huge billing statement printout that accompanied each check, but my requests for this meeting were always ignored. The owner himself has threatened numerous therapists that their health insurance will be taken away if they don't meet their quota of clients per week, and he has insinuated that your job is on the line if you refuse to see a client who is outside of your scope of practice, which is unethical and unprofessional. The clinic does not invest in their employees, and when an employee wants to do their own professional development in a different organization, the typical response is ignoring you at best and open hostility at worse. Bottom line is that this company only cares about making money at the expense of the therapists working there, which is incredibly ironic given that they are a mental health clinic and the therapists' work is what is generating them money.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Learn the value of your people.

    Minnesota Mental Health Clinics2018-04-18
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Outpatient Therapist (Individual)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outpatient Therapist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Minnesota Mental Health Clinics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The position of outpatient therapist offers a lot of flexibility (you determine your own schedule/availability so long as you meet minimum productivity standards - which are comparable to other clinics). In addition to the scheduling flexibility, individual therapists are given the opportunity to grow their practice anchored in the theoretical-orientation of their choice/expertise. Has a good referral network to... help grow your practice. There is the opportunity for supervision if you're pursuing your independent license (unfortunately there is no current LICSW so it will be considered an "alternative supervisor" if you are a clinical social worker). Competitive compensation, good personal healthcare options (medical, vision, dental).

    Show More

    Cons

    Technology infrastructure is unfortunately archaic (although the company is currently working on upgrading/modernizing, so I'm hopeful!) which can be a barrier when documenting your work. Currently no employer-matched retirement package.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to prioritize improving technology and advertisement/community outreach.

    Minnesota Mental Health Clinics2017-12-20
Found 18 reviews