Minnesota Office Technology Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Minnesota Office Technology Group Reviews

Updated Apr 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Minnesota Office Technology Group CEO Dan Tuohy
Dan Tuohy
3 Ratings
  1. "Highly Recommend!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minnetonka, MN

    I have been working at Minnesota Office Technology Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people here are great! It is a small office, so it feels like one small family. Management works hard to make it a fun environment, by always having incentives and fun outings going on! You are given the tools you need to succeed.

    Cons

    This is very competitive industry, so you have to be highly motivated.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing!

    Minnesota Office Technology Group2018-12-06
  2. "Great Company for the Right Person"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Minnetonka, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Minnesota Office Technology Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Income- This is one of the few 6 figure income jobs with little to no travel. It is very rare for an employee of 2-3 years to make under 100k. Variety- Personally this is Pro for me and why I love sales as a career. I get to interact with different people and different businesses everyday which keeps things interesting. You are not stuck behind a desk all day, if you want to run your book behind a desk or in the...

    Show More

    Cons

    1st year- the first year here is really challenging. It takes a while to learn the business and build your book. You will be somewhat micro managed with activity until you are hitting your number but it will all payoff in the long run. After a year things will start to make sense and the sky is the limit. Entertaining/expenses- you are given a monthly allowance for expenses and customer entertainment but you will...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Makes sales incentives on performance vs. activity. Sprinkle in a little a for new reps to earn something but the top performer should always be paid the most on incentives. Team Building- We need to do some type of event with our service team at least once or twice a year. They are our backbone and are the reason our clients will stay with us at the end of a contract, lets keep that relationship close.

    Minnesota Office Technology Group2019-04-22
  3. "A Great Place to Work and A Great Place to be a Customer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minnetonka, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Minnesota Office Technology Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - The office is in growth mode. Lots of opportunity for sales reps who possess the drive to build their territory and learn about business. There is ongoing training to help the reps and management be the best that they can be. The support given by COTG is immense - from special pricing to extra support to help us succeed as a whole. This is not a place where you have 3 months to sell or your fired. We build...

    Show More

    Cons

    The only challenge I see, that adds to the opportunity, is that we have a small footprint in the Twin Cities. Someone who is looking for a guaranteed territory base would not do well here. Hunters do.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to evaluate competitors and differences in our marketplace vs Chicago to keep our message relevant.

    Minnesota Office Technology Group2018-08-10
  4. "Micromanagement is scary..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Minnetonka, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Minnesota Office Technology Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Nice people to work with. - front desk employee is amazing. - If you are entry level and have never worked a sales job. You will appreciate every job you have after this one.

    Cons

    - MICROMANAGEMENT- It’s like working in a small fish tank. Even entertaining level reps don’t get this much which means high turn over rate. Going to the bathroom feels like a sin. WORK LIFE BALANCE DOESN’T exist. God for bid you have a family matter, health issue, or emergency. - Chicago office is put before our office. They have better service, work life balance exists, mangers value there employees mental health.

    Advice to Management

    STOP MICROMANAGING

    Minnesota Office Technology Group2018-04-23
  5. "Be wary of working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Minnesota Office Technology Group full-time

    Pros

    Hard working team both sales, service, and office personal

    Cons

    Outdated management outlook provided by sister company COTG. They would be wise to speak with other vendors in the Twin Cites matket. To understand why other companies are sucsuccessful, and not MOTG.

    Advice to Management

    Stop worrying about how to squeeze very last dollar to pay managers salaries and bonuses. Focus on new techniques to actually help technicians service the clients better.

    Minnesota Office Technology Group2018-03-24
  6. "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Minnesota Office Technology Group

    Pros

    Small company culture Great coworkers Fun environment Lots of independence Great mentoring and training opportunities

    Cons

    Not a ton of structure for the program (to their credit I was that first intern they ever had)

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing sales incentives for reps. They seemed to really enjoy that. Also continue the fantastic trainings and ride alongs since I learned a lot from them.

    Minnesota Office Technology Group2016-09-26
  7. "Great entry level training experience. This is a very competitive, cut-throat industry."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Minnetonka, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Minnesota Office Technology Group

    Pros

    Fun environment, lots of excitement and praise for closing a deal. Lots of motivational activities- gift cards, incentives, etc for hitting goals.

    Cons

    Very hard to hit goals consistently; Micro-managed environment.

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on current clients instead of all net-new clients.

    Minnesota Office Technology Group2015-01-28
  8. "Great learning experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Minnesota Office Technology Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great compensation and training program. Fun after work activities, great sales incentives. Learn the in's and out's of being a true sales professional from cold calls to contract negotiations to implementation and account management. Work hard play hard is the motto. The people you work with make it fun.

    Cons

    Incredibly stressful work environment. Job purpose is to hunt down new business. Little support from managers and high turnover rate within management. During my tenure with the company a sales director, service manager, install technician, and two account executives quit. Administrative duties are handle off site at parent company in Chicago making communication on high priority issues and account documents hard to...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Need more stability and support from management.

    Minnesota Office Technology Group2015-01-07
  9. "Account Executive at MOTG Xerox."

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Minnesota Office Technology Group

      Pros

      Management Opportunities at very present

      Cons

      Can be a stressful environment.

      Minnesota Office Technology Group2013-11-30
    • "Competitive Cut Throat Industry With High Turnover Rates but Strong Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in

      I have been working at Minnesota Office Technology Group full-time

      Pros

      People are Fantastic and Energetic; Industry offers rare chance for professionals to enter business to business sales without inside sales experience as often is required.

      Cons

      Cut throat industry which is saturated with competition in Minnesota. Unlimited opportunity is faced with reality of rare sales wins.

      Minnesota Office Technology Group2012-08-27
    Found 10 reviews