Miss Selfridge Reviews | Glassdoor

Miss Selfridge Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 60 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
42%
Approve of CEO
Mary Julia Margaret Geraghty
9 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Poor management at times, trouble with shift swaps or cover(in 3 reviews)

  • "(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good pay and discount scheme"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Miss Selfridge part-time

    Pros

    Nice working environment, over time was available. Uniform allowance, discount across brands.

    Cons

    I can’t think of many.

    Miss Selfridge2018-05-30
  2. "Team leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Dorset, VT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Miss Selfridge full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Uniform allowance 25% staff discount for all Arcadia stores Nice stock Easy company to work for Fast progression if willing to learn and work hard

    Cons

    Constant cutting of hours Closing of stores A lot of concessions are without managers Not many I enjoyed working for this company

    Advice to Management

    Management are good I don’t have any negatives to give as I worked in a concession and I didn’t have a manager

    Miss Selfridge2019-02-21
  3. "Toughest job of my career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Miss Selfridge full-time

    Pros

    I learnt a lot about what not to do...

    Cons

    My time at Miss S was themed by high turnover in my team and the surrounding teams. In one year I had three managers and there was no stability.

    Miss Selfridge2018-10-24
  4. "Retail asssistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Miss Selfridge part-time

    Pros

    Uniform discount and staff nights out

    Cons

    On feet all day and a lot of students

    Miss Selfridge2019-03-19
  5. "Good job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales and Service Advisor in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Miss Selfridge full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - Good staff, everyone try and help, despite one or two people that after some weeks become more friendly - Good management, everyone is frriendly, kind, supportive, apart from one - Good hours, if they say you finish at 10 pm you finish at 10 pm - Easy job sometimes having fun, too

    Cons

    - Only one manager was authoritarian and unpleasant and seemed to have his preferences but nothing that you cannot manage

    Advice to Management

    - Try to speak to that manager that is unpleasant and transfer her your kindness and sympathy

    Miss Selfridge2019-03-13
  6. "Good part time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Miss Selfridge part-time

      Pros

      Good hours Not too difficult

      Cons

      Strict management No help with transferring stores when going to uni

      Miss Selfridge2019-03-06
    • "Job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Miss Selfridge part-time

        Pros

        Good clothing allowance, enjoyed working with the public.

        Cons

        Very bad manager, she was a bully, rude to the staff and customers.

        Miss Selfridge2019-03-24
      • "Stay Away"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Senior Sales Assistant in Trafford Park, England
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Miss Selfridge full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Pays more than minimum wage per hour.

        Cons

        Management don’t understand the definition of organisation. Lack of communication. Promises are made and never kept. Rotas are meant to be given out 4 weeks in advance, more often than not they were put out less than a week in advance.

        Miss Selfridge2019-02-28
      • "It's retail. Work for minimum pay"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Culture & Values
        Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Singapore

        I worked at Miss Selfridge part-time

        Pros

        Management is alright. But strict with time clocks.

        Cons

        Boss will make you work for their compensation.

        Miss Selfridge2019-02-13
      • "Sales Assistant"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at Miss Selfridge part-time

          Pros

          Nice environment and friendly people

          Cons

          Nothing really- overall great experience

          Miss Selfridge2018-12-17
        Found 60 reviews