Mississippi Baptist Health Systems Reviews | Glassdoor

Mississippi Baptist Health Systems Reviews

Updated Sep 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 35 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Mississippi Baptist Health Systems CEO Kurt Metzer (no image)
Kurt Metzer
8 Ratings
  1. "Baptist is the best!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN Case Manager in Jackson, MS
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mississippi Baptist Health Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I love working in a Christian environment

    Cons

    Answering to higher ups that are not on site.

    Mississippi Baptist Health Systems2019-09-04
  2. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Administrative Assistant in Jackson, MS

    I have been working at Mississippi Baptist Health Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture, like working with family. They care about their patients and their employees.

    Cons

    Pay could always be higher.

    Mississippi Baptist Health Systems2019-03-29
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Billing Department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Janitor 

    I worked at Mississippi Baptist Health Systems part-time

    Pros

    Paycheck for the work performed.

    Cons

    As a patient, billing department is incompetent.

    Mississippi Baptist Health Systems2019-02-12
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Awful....micromanaging galore. Blatant favoritism. Quantity over quality."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Biller/Collector in Jackson, MS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mississippi Baptist Health Systems for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay, and that's about it.

    Cons

    So many!! Since the merger, so much worse. No paid holidays..AT ALL, have to use PTO. Revenue Cycle Management is a joke. Was actually told they just needed warm bodies. When I turned in my 2 week notice, needed it to be 1 day short & was told I'd be blackballed if I did that. Just an AWFUL environment. If you speak up/stand up for yourself, you're instantly on a "let's get rid of him/her" list. No work/life balance... whatsoever. Mandatory OT (without a contract).

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be decent humans. Stop discussing employees/gossiping to other employees!!

    Mississippi Baptist Health Systems2019-02-07
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mississippi Baptist Health Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The director I had was so pleasant and really made you feel welcomed. Always there for support or a lending hand. Fairly good benefits and loved the wellness program.

    Cons

    The remaining part of the team...unwelcoming. The VP for the area was unwilling to listen to employees who could further the department. Promotions from within were supposed to be priority but rarely happened. Too many meetings...most could be conducted via a group email so precious time was wasted.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees. You hire well educated staff so give them the opportunity to contribute. Politics and the good ole boy system do not belong in the workplace.

    Mississippi Baptist Health Systems2018-04-16
  6. "NURSE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Nurse in Jackson, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mississippi Baptist Health Systems part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, Caring/Structured Environment, Excellent Orientation, Supportive staff and management

    Cons

    None at all this time.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work! Revisit salary requirements, please.

    Mississippi Baptist Health Systems2017-10-29
  7. "Love"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mississippi Baptist Health Systems for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and pay is fair

    Cons

    None for me, I love it

    Mississippi Baptist Health Systems2017-09-24
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Support Staff are unimportant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Jackson, MS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mississippi Baptist Health Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Location. There is nothing else.

    Cons

    Sold their soul to Baptist Memphis in order to get access to a computer system after they spent hundreds of thousands of dollars to buy and lie their way to Magnet status. If you are a member of support staff or work in an unlicensed position, you mean nothing and are unimportant to senior management. Managers keep you in their department and refuse to let you transfer to another position. Religion is shoved down... your throat at every opportunity.

    Show More
    Mississippi Baptist Health Systems2017-10-20
  9. "Respiratory therapist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director Pulmonary Services in Jackson, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mississippi Baptist Health Systems part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Meet large number of people that desperately need assistance with their breathing

    Cons

    Odd working hours, employer turnover

    Advice to Management

    Listen to what you are told

    Mississippi Baptist Health Systems2017-08-28
  10. Helpful (1)

    "This organization provides plenty for opportunities for anyone always looking to move up."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Patient Access Specialist in Jackson, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mississippi Baptist Health Systems full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Some of the pros of working for this Baptist facility is its friendly environment, provides plenty of stability, and flexibility. Plenty of opportunities with the Baptist Medical Center as well.

    Cons

    Some cons I faced was 12-hr shift sitting at a computer in my case.

    Advice to Management

    N/a

    Mississippi Baptist Health Systems2017-08-24
Found 35 reviews