Missouri Department of Conservation Reviews | Glassdoor

Missouri Department of Conservation Reviews

Updated Nov 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
75%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Missouri Department of Conservation CEO Sara Parker Pauley
Sara Parker Pauley
3 Ratings
  1. "Awesome place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Angler Recruitment Technician 
    Recommends

    I worked at Missouri Department of Conservation full-time

    Pros

    Very down to earth, awesome people to work with. Good pay for a temporary job.

    Cons

    Don’t really have any. I loved it there.

    Missouri Department of Conservation2019-11-22
  2. "It's ok."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Missouri Department of Conservation full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Paid time off is good.

    Cons

    No salary increases in 4 years.

    Missouri Department of Conservation2019-08-07
  3. "Great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Resource Science Field Assistant in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Missouri Department of Conservation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome work. I went out and sampled for darters and had a great summer doing it. Per diem for food and trips make it just that much more incredible. You get to travel around Missouri and see some amazing things you never knew were there. Very cool.

    Cons

    It gets hot sometimes. Canoes are heavy. I’m the end, you have a tan and muscles.

    Missouri Department of Conservation2019-07-12
  4. "Overall Positive Envoriment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Programmer in Columbia, MO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Missouri Department of Conservation part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very laid back work envoirment

    Cons

    IT will prevent you from being able to do alot of cool projects

    Missouri Department of Conservation2019-05-22
  5. "Great if you're Salaried, crap if you're Hourly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Wildlife Biologist 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Missouri Department of Conservation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Get to work towards habitat conservation and make a difference.

    Cons

    Constant reminders to hourly employees that they are not real employees. No sick leave, no vacation, no benefits, etc. Hourly pay is less than half the market value, I can't afford to live in the city I'm domiciled in without a roommate and I have a master's degree. I often work overtime but am not paid for it because it is against company policy to give overtime.

    Continue reading
    Missouri Department of Conservation2019-05-15
  6. "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Missouri Department of Conservation full-time

    Pros

    Paid time off and holidays off are a plus.

    Cons

    Little advancement within the department. No salary increases for 3-5 years.

    Missouri Department of Conservation2018-09-20
  7. "Conservation Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Missouri Department of Conservation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Passionate and friendly co-workers at management level positions. The public has a mostly positive opinion of the department, compared to other parts of the state government. Once hired on, it is hard to get fired. Funded by 1/8 of 1% sales tax written into State Constitution. Only a vote by the public can take away this funding. At management level positions, there can be a lot of freedom in the schedule, allowing for family/life/work balance. There is longterm stability - once you are in a position, there is little chance of losing your position.

    Cons

    Compared to other states, Conservation employees rank lowest in salary. Promotability sometimes isn't about what you know or even how productive you are - but is more about who you know. Raises are not as regular due to State budget, even if funds are not out of State budget.

    Missouri Department of Conservation2017-06-30
  8. "Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Assistant in Columbia, MO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Missouri Department of Conservation part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very flexible schedule, especially for a college student, fairly simple job requirements, friendly and encouraging work environment

    Cons

    Poor communication between the departments at our office

    Missouri Department of Conservation2017-03-02
  9. "MDC Administrative position review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Missouri Department of Conservation full-time

    Pros

    Great organization to work for Great benefits

    Cons

    Long hours during hunting season Not really any cons

    Missouri Department of Conservation2017-02-14
  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Information Specialist in Columbia, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Missouri Department of Conservation for less than a year

    Pros

    Really great people, and a great place to work.

    Cons

    The pay, and they need to get up to date with the way business is done

    Missouri Department of Conservation2017-01-09
Found 17 reviews