Mitchell 1 Reviews

Updated Jan 22, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
55%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Mitchell 1 CEO Dave Ellingen
Dave Ellingen
37 Ratings
Pros
  • "Own Business fairly well known product(in 5 reviews)

  • "The SDs (Kiran & Robert) are very knowledgeable and hard workers(in 5 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Market is very tough and your competing against Snap-ON and inside Sales(in 5 reviews)

  • "Advancement is not easy and you have Snap-On (Mitchell1's majority shareholder) to contend with(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Cut your own path

      Oct 28, 2020 - Independent Contractor in Berlin, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent product, a great reputation, and professional support.

      Cons

      You are your own boss.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Sales

      Nov 11, 2020 - Sales Representative in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Commission is decent and "Most" of the employees are good people. "NOT ALL"

      Cons

      One of the Sales developers and the ______ manager are both very rude and have a sense of entitlement that makes them feel they can talk to their employees like they are pieces of crap. For being a decent size company in California, you would think they would at least try and avoid law suits but in my experience they either don't know or don't care.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Mitchell 1 Response

      Sr Recruiter

      We are happy to hear that you are satisfied with the commission plan (no cap!), and that you are enjoying working within the team. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with members of our leadership team, I can assure you that we take all feedback seriously and view all dissatisfactions as areas for improvement. Our intention is to make Mitchell 1 the best place you have ever worked, and to ensure that our team members feel as valued as they should (which is to say, quite a lot). We strive to have a strong feedback culture, and I would certainly encourage you to reach out to me directly at 858-391-5400 or dana.gulino@mitchell1.com to work on any of the issues you may be having. If you prefer submitting anonymous feedback, we also have our digital suggestion box available. We are happy to work with you and welcome any suggestions you may have. Thank you for being part of our Mitchell 1 Inside Sales team, and for taking the time to provide your feedback. I hope we can rise to meet your expectations as we continue to improve, and grow, together. Thank you! Dana Gulino

    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      High turnover

      Jan 22, 2021 - Sales in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice trainers who seem to be interested in you

      Cons

      Poor front line managers who are rude

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Best company I've worked with yet, but...

      Oct 22, 2020 - Senior Support Specialist in El Centro, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent pay, great environment, cool people

      Cons

      Bosses can be just a bit toxic, but if you don't get offended easily its a breeze.

      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Short Term Employment Solution "Cold Call TM"

      Jul 11, 2019 - Inside Sales in Poway, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Awsome Co-Workers a great group of people, all are very humble and awesome to be around.

      Cons

      The Calls are bad there's no way around them. I have seen "new leads" on a hand full of times. But the majority of the calls have been called at least 15-40 times sometimes more since 2016/2017. Next is the main reason why I left one of the sales developers has created such an unpleasant experience working at Mitchell that it's made every day I came into the office hating to wake up in the morning and go into work to provide for my family. I've never had to work in an office environment where a manager is so defensive and will go to lengths to lie to make her self look better when she provided the wrong information. She would give, not only me but other reps attitude when asking for help. Example: while I was on a Demo trying to sell product she would say comments when I asked for help like "I'm busy "or "I don't have time to deal with that right now" in a very rude demeanor even when I ask very nicely and notice that she wasn't on a sales call or attending to another rep. and the treatment as if I was a child and talking down to me was the last straw that causes me to leave Mitchell1.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Mitchell 1 Response

      Sr Recruiter

      Thank you for taking the time to review your experience working on Mitchell 1’s Inside Sales team. We certainly agree that the team is made up of a group of great people, and we are happy that you feel the same way. We always say that our greatest asset is our people, and your feedback goes to show how true that is. In regards to the leads, we receive new business leads daily and add them to our automotive aftermarket campaigns. We currently use leads from several sources including outside companies, marketing campaigns, current customers, and partnership accounts. We also try and keep the leads and campaigns fresh by doing a minimum of 4 specialized campaigns each month, and we offer these specialized campaigns to different sales reps each month to keep the day to day job duties as fresh as possible. I can assure you that campaigns and call lists are always, and will continue to be, an area of focus for our leadership team. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with a member of our leadership team, I can assure you that we take all feedback seriously and view all dissatisfactions as areas for improvement. Our intention is to make Mitchell 1 the best place you have ever worked. Thank you again for your insight and feedback, it allows us to continue to improve and make Mitchell 1 a better company for everyone. If you would like to discuss any specifics further, please feel free to reach out to me directly at 858-724-6742 or dana.gulino@mitchell1.com. Thank you!

    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Job

      Sep 3, 2020 - Editor in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      More interesting than fixing cars

      Cons

      Bad attitude among management And everyone seems very unhappy

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      About average, but slightly chaotic

      Jul 3, 2019 - Anonymous in Poway, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It IS possible to gain experience and move up. Nearly everyone there is at least cordial and professional.

      Cons

      Advancement is not easy and you have Snap-On (Mitchell1's majority shareholder) to contend with. There seems to be a lot more drama than typical for a company like this.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Independent sales contractor

      Oct 25, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You work for yourself, make as much as you want.

      Cons

      When it’s slow you don’t make money.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      The real honest Inside Sales review

      Aug 12, 2019 - Inside Sales Representative in Poway, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Solid company 100+ years and nice coworkers. The initial training was great done by Robert.

      Cons

      Where to start, this company is very behind for being a software tech company. The company seems very complacent as they are the market leader, while competitors are greatly improving and innovating. This is cold calling with a twist. It is cold calling to the definition that they are not warm leads. The twist is that the leads get called every 2 weeks like clockwork. As soon as you introduce yourself and mention Mitchell 1, you will get hung up on. The lead pool is getting smaller as many of the shops have caller ID and block our calls so the dialer just skips over. Management does not allow you to prospect on your own to find quality leads. Sales targets are unrealistic. There are 3 maybe 4 veteran reps also doing outbound calls, they continuously hit target. This is by design as they are handed lists with warm leads or specialty campaigns. This Is proven as everyday you receive a summary of the previous days call log. The 3-4 reps that hit target only do 30-40 outbound calls none from the dialer and average 2-3 hours talk time. The rest of outbound take 200-300 dialer calls a day and only connect to 50-60% of them. Commission is a 3 month rolling average and helps if you are above target but hurts if you are below. There are also charge backs which can be from numerous reasons. After 2 months of successful payments the company should be held liable for keeping the customers and maintaining their satisfaction. Management seems to be in a fantasy world and do not have a realistic view. The company has not hit it’s sales target as a whole each quarter this year. Sales reps are jumping ship like crazy, went from a sales team of almost 50, now down to a team of 28. A lot has to do with a particular SD who is very condescending and defensive.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      Mitchell 1 Response

      Sr Recruiter

      First, I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. Suggestions and input from our associates is our most valuable tool when prioritizing our goals. We are happy to hear that you have found your coworkers to be nice, and that you enjoyed your initial training with Robert. We agree that he is an asset and place a high importance on our initial training. I would like to touch on the feedback you provided regarding leads and campaigns. We currently do get the general automotive aftermarket lists, along with the truck aftermarket, from several sources. We also purchase new business lists that arrive daily and are cycled into the campaign. We will continue to place emphasis on exploring new lead sources, and new markets we can reach out to help with their repair solutions. As a note, regarding our specialized leads, we typically do at least 4 specialized campaigns with varying reps on each campaign. Our top performing reps typically have a large pipeline as they have been with the company for several years and have built up their customer base. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with a member of our leadership team, I can assure you that we take all feedback seriously and view all dissatisfactions as areas for improvement. Our intention is to make Mitchell 1 the best place you have ever worked, and I would encourage you to speak to any member of the leadership team if you are having any issues. In regards to anonymous feedback, we do have an anonymous survey via SurveyMonkey which we use as a digital suggestion box. I appreciate your input regarding this, and I will work on making this more visible to our associates! Please feel free to submit your feedback there or to reach out to me directly at 888-724-6742 or dana.gulino@mitchell1.com to work on any of the issues you may be having. We are happy to work with you and welcome any suggestions you may have. Thank you for being part of our Mitchell 1 Inside Sales team, and for taking the time to provide your feedback. Thank you!

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      100 yrs strong

      Sep 6, 2018 - Inside Sales Representative in Poway, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This is a well known, long standing company with a good reputation and strategic partnership with Snap-on. I start at 6 am and am off at 2:30 Mon-Fri. The hourly rate is nice but the commission opportunities are what I get excited about. Their are new contests all the time. The SDs (Kiran & Robert) are very knowledgeable and hard workers. They have completely different styles and strenths but are a great team. First job that I don't have to take home with me. I can learn and grow as fast I push myself. I love that I am not micromanaged. If I need help I ask but otherwise i am on my own and full speed ahead. Nick is a great encouraging Leader who holds us accountable but also cheers us on.

      Cons

      As the sales team grows we will be needing more SDs. Regularly scheduled training would be helpful.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Mitchell 1 Response

      Sr Recruiter

      Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your feedback. Mitchell 1 is certainly a solid, stable company and we take pride in our longevity and success in our industry. We certainly agree that our Sales Developer team (Robert and Kiran) are a well-rounded team, and we are glad you agree. In regards to the comment regarding the need for Sales Developers as we grow, I want to assure you that this is very much on our radar. I appreciate the feedback regarding training. While we do various trainings monthly, they are not mandatory. If you are interested in any type of training, please reach out to your Sales Developer, or myself and we will be sure to get you the support and training you need! In addition to this, we will be sure to work on the visibility of the training sessions that are occurring. Great suggestion to have our tenured reps present objection/rebuttal role playing training, I will certainly explore this further in our next planning meeting. Thank you for your hard work in helping our company continue to grow and being part of the Mitchell 1 family! Kind Regards, Dana Gulino Mitchell 1 Inside Sales Operations Specialist Phone: (888) 724-6742 ext.6901 Dana.Gulino@mitchell1.com | www.mitchell1.com

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 70 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Mitchell 1 Job Seekers

    Inside Sales Representative
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Independent Sales Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Outside Sales Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Senior Sales Development Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Sales Development Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Territory Sales Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Mitchell 1? Share Your Experiences

    Mitchell 1 logo
    or