Mitchell 1 "well known" Reviews | Glassdoor

Mitchell 1 Employee Reviews about "well known"

Updated Aug 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 64 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Mitchell 1 CEO Dave Ellingen
Dave Ellingen
34 Ratings
Pros
  • "(in 4 reviews)

  • "Well known brand backed by a huge(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Snap on has total control from a distance and M1 management weak(in 3 reviews)

  • "They need a CRM system and a stronger training program(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "well known"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Honest Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Poway, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mitchell 1 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Well known brand backed by a huge Well known company in Snap-On tools, Plus the company has been in the business for over 100 years they are very knowledgable and dedicated to their product.

    Cons

    Training, Leads and CRM is trash, Not enough coaching for new employees, Too much time spent doing Prior to being able to actually get on the floor and close deals yourself which would be fine and expected if there was valuable info and things to gain during that time. Literally after the first day or 2 of doing lead gen and transferring there is nothing more of value to gain from that plus the commission on a... transfer is trash, all that extra time spent in that stage is only for 90% of sales individuals i would think only going to start discouraging and deflating their ambition at Mitchell because the leads are not updated ever literally calling leads from 8+ years every month and some of these people still have the same answer every month that they get recycled they even know that it is Mitchell1 calling them before they pick up they phone most of they time they pick it up as a joke or by accident n respond Oh Hey it Mitchell again laughingly to their fellow coworkers.. I know obviously you cannot remove leads over a few not interested dispositions but definitely would recommend seeking new places of business and buying new leads its a tough industry because there are not too many new auto mechanic places popping up and since they have been in business so long they pretty much have come across a majority i would assume in the U.S.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Shorten the time spent on lead gen split the floor up into teams and promote team leads then floor leads etc so there is more motivation, and then there can be more help and coaching available for newer less experienced individuals. Robert and Kiran have too many people to over see to effectively coach new hires and train brand new training classes every month.

    Mitchell 12019-01-28

    Mitchell 1 Response

    March 4, 2019Sr Recruiter

    Thank you for your candid feedback, we appreciate the time spent to share your views and suggestions with us. We are glad that the dedication to our product came through, as we take great pride in providing the best option available to our market. I appreciate your feedback regarding ...

    Show More
  2. Helpful (1)

    "100 yrs strong"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Poway, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mitchell 1 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This is a well known, long standing company with a good reputation and strategic partnership with Snap-on. I start at 6 am and am off at 2:30 Mon-Fri. The hourly rate is nice but the commission opportunities are what I get excited about. Their are new contests all the time. The SDs (Kiran & Robert) are very knowledgeable and hard workers. They have completely different styles and strenths but are a great team.... First job that I don't have to take home with me. I can learn and grow as fast I push myself. I love that I am not micromanaged. If I need help I ask but otherwise i am on my own and full speed ahead. Nick is a great encouraging Leader who holds us accountable but also cheers us on.

    Show More

    Cons

    As the sales team grows we will be needing more SDs. Regularly scheduled training would be helpful.

    Advice to Management

    I would like to have sit down time with senior sales force to hear some of their overcoming objections and role playing.

    Mitchell 12018-09-07

    Mitchell 1 Response

    September 13, 2018Sr Recruiter

    Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your feedback. Mitchell 1 is certainly a solid, stable company and we take pride in our longevity and success in our industry. We certainly agree that our Sales Developer team (Robert and Kiran) are a well-rounded team, and we are ...

    Show More
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great sales job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Poway, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mitchell 1 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great sales job! You earn commission from the first dollar you sell ( many companies start paying commissions after you have “paid for your seat”) and there is a nice base so you know your basic needs are taken care of and you don’t have to stress about that and can focus on your target. The targets are reasonable. I was actually kind of surprised at first thinking they were really low but calling cold made me... realize they are attainable but in no way too low because you are selling a well-known product in a competitive environment. A big advantage is that everyone knows the company when you call so you can jump right in to selling what I believe is the #1 product in the market place. The top sales people are making 6 figures consistently and the commission structure has no cap so you really can make as much as you want or are able to. There is a tiered commission structure with three different commission percentages and a rolling three month average on the payout. If you can get to 150% you are making some BIG bucks! The management is really supportive and will do what they can to help when you need it. The company has been around for 100 years so there is job security if you are making your target and they will work with you if you are not to help you get there.

    Show More

    Cons

    Cons: Big company benefits are great but you will not find the environment to be what you might expect from a tech company, its pretty old school. No free lunches or snacks or game rooms or open concept here. Everyone sits in a cube like most offices but not what you might hope for in a forward thinking software company, a little behind the times. Overall this is a great place to work with great people and a place... you and a place you can make a long term sales career with.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    It would be great if we did not get hit full subscription value on our cancellations, only pay back what the company is actually out, that does not seem fair to me.

    Mitchell 12018-08-30

    Mitchell 1 Response

    September 6, 2018Sr Recruiter

    Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your feedback. We really appreciate hearing from our associates, and work hard to provide a productive and successful working environment. We strive to provide a comprehensive and competitive commission package, driven by your individual ...

    Show More
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Telemarketing business to business with no company support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Inside Sales & Marketing in Poway, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Mitchell 1

    Pros

    Good work hours, great benefits, clean office. Well known brand name in industry.

    Cons

    No upward mobility, small cubicles, No Managerial support, No training, Sales Goals set to automatically increase quarter after quarter so that you are forced out after a couple of years.

    Advice to Management

    Upper Management needs to micro manage Mid Management. More focus needs to spent on Inside Sales Management to execute company strategies.

    Mitchell 12011-11-16
Found 64 reviews