Mitchell Gold + Bob Williams Reviews | Glassdoor

Mitchell Gold + Bob Williams Reviews

Updated 22 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 79 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
26%
Recommend to a Friend
40%
Approve of CEO
Mitchell Gold + Bob Williams CEO Mitchell Gold
Mitchell Gold
55 Ratings
Pros
  • "(in 5 reviews)

  • "Caring work environment supported by upper management(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "MGBW doesn't have a great work/life balance(in 8 reviews)

  • "On more that one occasion, there has been discriminatory behavior by upper management specifically, against women(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food Service in High Point, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mitchell Gold + Bob Williams part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work for

    Cons

    There weren't any cons in my opinion

    Advice to Management

    They do a great Job

    Mitchell Gold + Bob Williams2017-07-05
  2. "It's a good place to work, but you just can't count on it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Counsel in Taylorsville, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mitchell Gold + Bob Williams full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice people. Laid back atmosphere. Not a lot of politics. Great manufacturer of upholstered furniture.

    Cons

    Too slow, at everything. No clear strategy to compete in retail. Underperforming stores they can't get out of. Case goods, lighting, decor design is not special and sourcing strategy is no proactive.

    Advice to Management

    Skip to the end. Unwind the underperforming stores by any means necessary. Hire a proper sourcing team for the product you don't manufacture. Stop trying to design everything yourselves.

    Mitchell Gold + Bob Williams2019-09-22
  3. "Ok company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Upholstery in Taylorsville, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mitchell Gold + Bob Williams full-time

    Pros

    Easy to get along with others

    Cons

    Want to much quality for the pay

    Mitchell Gold + Bob Williams2019-08-28
  4. "Okay but a lot of work and pressure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Design Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mitchell Gold + Bob Williams full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent income depending on sales. Somewhat creative work when designing.

    Cons

    Too much pressure to sell. Lots of micromanagement from all levels. The company became desperate. Not anything like it used to be.

    Advice to Management

    Relax. Let the employees focus on designing more than selling. Less workload and micromanaging.

    Mitchell Gold + Bob Williams2019-07-16
  5. "PRODUCT HANDMADE WITH INTEGRITY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Design Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mitchell Gold + Bob Williams full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I felt really good about being able to represent a product that is handmade in the USA, and lifetime warranties. That speaks to alot of integrity and strength of character in company values to me that I felt that supporting and working hard for. That and the beautiful designs as well as connecting with the wonderful clients was my motivation to naturally just sell more product.

    Cons

    Not sure our advertising campaign was as effective as it could have been to get our sale team numbers to where they need to be

    Mitchell Gold + Bob Williams2019-06-21
  6. Helpful (4)

    "No room for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Worker in Taylorsville, NC
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mitchell Gold + Bob Williams full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fast paced environment, great cafe, great day care, and hard working factory people. Love Mitchell and Bob.

    Cons

    Management and HR is a joke. They like to hire upper management from outside to people who never have worked in furniture and are clueless. Most of the VP's have been there many years, but couldnt tell you one customers name or order that was placed, they love to delegate while they sit on there hige horse in there offices. Doesn't matter how many complaints you make to HR that you want to be transferred out of... your department due to lack of management and unhappiness they just ignore and move on. Absolutely no room for growth in this company, worked there almost 5 years and watched them hire someone for a job I have been doing for years, to someone outside who worked in food services. Then the people who are already managers they just give them raises with ransom titles, but really they are doing the exact same job. I mean one year I received a 27 cent raise and then the next a quarter. One of the top furniture companies in the country, but pay employees the least amount of money.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees when there is a problem. Management actually do somethen. HR do your job. Hire within for management roles to the hardworking people doing all the work instead of hiring outside to people who know nothing.

    Mitchell Gold + Bob Williams2019-05-15
  7. Helpful (3)

    "COMPANY LOOSING ITS SOUL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mitchell Gold + Bob Williams full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Attractive showrooms and product. Politically progressive CEO.

    Cons

    Growth has seemingly pushed the company away from its core values. In-store ordering process is antiquated and reflective of management's insistence that the retail is in the service of the factory and not the reverse . Frequent customer frustration. High incidence of quality-control failures at both US factory and overseas vendors

    Advice to Management

    Time for the CEO to retire and management to embrace 21st century technology. Be aware that the US market is fractionalized and the retail semi-custom experience for both professional design clients and those who are relying on in-store guidance needs to reflect regional tastes. Professional design clients are not currently being served by the lack of a dependable long-term catalog of company "go to" classics.

    Mitchell Gold + Bob Williams2019-04-14
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Who we were"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Designer in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mitchell Gold + Bob Williams full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The staff! The design team and porter are the reasons this job is fun. Helping clients design for their space and helping them in their selection of pieces for their home. Commission is great once you hit a goal that is unattainable without promotional cadences. Free lunch sometimes. Health benefits are great.

    Cons

    The focus has been highly on numbers and not the client. You are expected to send out literally thousands of emails each week. You are expected to cold call clients. You are asked for your sales that are going to close at least 4 times a week. Management will email, call, and text you on your day off for these numbers along with other questions about clients. They expect you to be available 24/7. The company doesn’t... give you a company phone or reimburse you for your phone. They put your personal cell number on your business cards. Most of your time is dealing with customer issues with delays, pieces that arrive damaged or pieces that have been shipped to another client. There is no focus on training. Support staff at corporate is difficult to get a hold of. If you want to move up in the company or want a different position it’s who you know. No careers were ever posted internally for current employees to apply. After 3 years they finally started sending open positions internally. There is no annual review or raise or cost of living increase. Time off for vacation and sick time do not match current market. The website is terrible. Operations and logistics just can’t figure it out.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Go back to basics. Stick with furniture. Cut the drapery program. Add new assortment for holiday. Get your visual merchandising team to do something with your windows besides vinyls. Give your employees a raise after implementing 3 price increases in one year. Listen to your employees when they speak. Make an operational calendar for retail. Go digital and quit wasting so much paper.

    Mitchell Gold + Bob Williams2018-12-22

    Mitchell Gold + Bob Williams Response

    January 15, 2019HR

    In a retail environment, sales are paramount, but our primary focus is to always provide an exceptional client experience. There is an expectation to develop relationships with our clients by staying in touch with them and to build new business by reaching out to trade partners. Part ...

    Show More
  9. Helpful (9)

    "To Thine Own Self Be True"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Designer in Oakbrook Terrace, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Mitchell Gold + Bob Williams full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent money , beautiful showroom and well made sofas

    Cons

    The micro management, to the point of destruction... way too corporate, greedy

    Advice to Management

    Let your DA’s do what we do best ... create lovely spaces for people and sell sell sell... Treat us as adults ...

    Mitchell Gold + Bob Williams2018-11-21

    Mitchell Gold + Bob Williams Response

    January 15, 2019HR

    Thank you for your insight, we are thrilled to have you as part of our team. Our Managers have made a conscious effort to personally support each and every one of our Designers in both the creative and sales side of the business by having frequent one-on-one conversations. “Micromanagement” ...

    Show More
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Worst Company I ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Showroom Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mitchell Gold + Bob Williams full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice showroom. Nothing more to say.

    Cons

    This company is one of the worst companies I ever worked for. They discriminate and play favorites. You especially can not trust HR. I have seen my GM use the schedule to their advantage and have seen aggressive behavior towards other associates and reported to HR and they supported the GM. There is no work life/ balance. I saw an employee get approved Vaca and have to keep switching it. Well they ended up loosing... Vaca because it doesn't care over and they weren't able to take it due to GM moving back. But the GM got all their Vaca and more than company offers. Again HR would not step in for what was right. So know if take a job at this company you will never get weekends off, they love playing favorites, and you can not trust anyone at corporate.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get a clue. Everyone is putting in there resignation in. If Mitchell is all for the good of the people in his company mabe he should actually read these reviews and do something about it. Top people in his own company discriminate and bully other employees but he is to busy in front of the cameras to notice.

    Mitchell Gold + Bob Williams2018-10-04

    Mitchell Gold + Bob Williams Response

    January 15, 2019HR

    It is no secret that finding and maintaining a healthy work-life balance can be challenging in the retail industry where working holidays and weekends is to be expected. We truly do our best to accommodate personal time off and appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention. ...

    Show More
Found 79 reviews