Mitchells & Butlers Reviews | Glassdoor

Mitchells & Butlers Reviews

Updated Jul 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 631 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
47%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Phil Urban
177 Ratings
Pros
  • "Discounts in their pubs and hotels(in 38 reviews)

  • "Flexible hours and working which were great as a student(in 32 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours (which is paid if you work part time)(in 56 reviews)

  • "I was on minimum wage but the tips were good(in 38 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "deputy manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mitchells & Butlers full-time

    Pros

    lots of opportunities very large company

    Cons

    venues can be miss managed

    Mitchells & Butlers2017-05-17
  2. "M&B OK, but needs to improve"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mitchells & Butlers for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of channels for progression

    Cons

    Hours are terrible and long

    Advice to Management

    Use your resources correctly and don't understaff

    Mitchells & Butlers2016-03-01
  3. "worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Mitchells & Butlers

      Pros

      goood stuff. good work. learn a lot

      Cons

      no growth. and not enough money for me.

      Mitchells & Butlers2015-12-09
    • Helpful (1)

      "Depends on the brand"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Mitchells & Butlers part-time

      Pros

      Some brands (Castle in particular) are a lot of fun to work for - they are unique, relaxed venues with a generally nice clientele. M&B offers growth opportunities for it's employees.

      Cons

      High staff turnover, schedules posted last minute, unsociable hours, long hours, minimum wage, very few tips, some brands (SPOTON) have restrictions which make it not so great to work there, and they are all exactly the same, low prices at these brands can attract undesirable clientele

      Advice to Management

      Invest more in your staff to avoid such high levels of staff turnover; provide more regular working hours

      Mitchells & Butlers2015-07-20

      Mitchells & Butlers Response

      July 25, 2017

      Thank you so much for your review, we'll be sure to pass your comments on.

    • "Bar staff"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Mitchells & Butlers

      Pros

      Good fun place to work. Worked there as a student and got flexible hours. Had good team building activities.

      Cons

      Not great pay. Other than that no real cons to working there.

      Advice to Management

      Continue with the fun team building and encourage the upbeat working environment.

      Mitchells & Butlers2015-04-26

      Mitchells & Butlers Response

      July 25, 2017

      We really appreciate your feedback, it’s great to read such a lovely review and to know that you are happy in your role. We will be sure to pass your comments on!

    • "Excellent company to work for, but very high standards, not for everyone."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - General Manager 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Mitchells & Butlers full-time

      Pros

      Live in positions, in amazing locations

      Cons

      Not enough salary, branding standards are inconsistant across brands

      Mitchells & Butlers2014-05-27

      Mitchells & Butlers Response

      July 20, 2017

      Thank you for your review. Thank you also for raising your concerns over the wages, we are always looking for ways to improve so I will be sure to pass your comments on to the relevant department so that we can look into these issues. In addition to base pay there are a number ...

      Show More
    • "Great place to grow"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Chef in Chessington, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Mitchells & Butlers full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Nice Team Great perks - discounts etc for other M&B sites

      Cons

      Can get busy at peak times

      Advice to Management

      Continue being great

      Mitchells & Butlers2019-07-13
    • "Rewarding job with rewarding benefits"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Rotherham, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Mitchells & Butlers full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Work along side a great enthusiastic team. Great benefits working for the company.

      Cons

      Can be long hours if need to cover sickness or team shortages.

      Mitchells & Butlers2019-07-10
    • "Hit and Miss"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Supervisor 
      Recommends

      I have been working at Mitchells & Butlers part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      There are always hours available and good discount for other brands within the company, with 33% off your food bills at places such as Miller and Carter and Browns.

      Cons

      Management can be varied. Worked in various pubs within the chain and some of the management is really good, and some can't run a bath, never mind a pub. Alot of older people in management that can't work new technologies

      Mitchells & Butlers2019-07-09
    • "A great 10 years and here’s to the next 10"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Bristol, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Mitchells & Butlers full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      I have been so lucky to have a fantastic time working with M&B over the past 10 years, I have been given a big level of training in every role I have had and been given opportunities to progress and learn

      Cons

      I really don’t think there is any, 10 continuous years service speaks for itself. We all have bad days in our jobs, but who doesn’t??

      Mitchells & Butlers2019-07-08
    Found 631 reviews