Mitsui O.S.K. Lines Reviews | Glassdoor

Mitsui O.S.K. Lines Reviews

Updated Jun 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 65 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Akimitsu Ashida
25 Ratings
Pros
  • "Best work environment, amazing industry exposure(in 7 reviews)

  • "Very easy to manage work/life balance with very few occasions to stay late at work(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "lot of politics in top management(in 3 reviews)

  • "MOL America is known to have very bold unfair hiring and promoting practices within their North America customer service division(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Able seaman"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Able Seaman in Jersey City, NJ

      I have been working at Mitsui O.S.K. Lines full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Work in mitsui osk line is my foundation to apply NYK

      Cons

      Cargo operation is the top priority to fullfill costumer satisfaction.

      Mitsui O.S.K. Lines2017-10-07
    • "Good place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Director 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Mitsui O.S.K. Lines full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      fair, balanced work / life environment

      Cons

      organization fairly flat, no growth options

      Mitsui O.S.K. Lines2019-04-24
    • "Analyst"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Analyst in New Orleans, LA
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Mitsui O.S.K. Lines full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Very easy to manage work/life balance with very few occasions to stay late at work. Managers in my region were approachable which was very nice (although maybe not the case in all regions). Easy going work place with many opportunities to travel and meet people from different countries.

      Cons

      Lack of a clear onboarding process so you have to figure everything out for yourself at the beginning. It is pretty much impossible to get fired meaning low performing employees can stick around for years, unless they do something illegal. Complete lack of diversity in upper management (I know, Japanese company.. but still). Good luck finding any women in major leadership roles.

      Advice to Management

      Implement a standard, global system for employee evaluations to start measuring achievement. While employee retention is important, holding on to low performing employees for decades isn't helping the company move forward.

      Mitsui O.S.K. Lines2018-07-30
    • "Could have been much better"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Developer 
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Mitsui O.S.K. Lines full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Technically disposed adopted latest technologies hired good resources who are capable good employee benefits

      Cons

      old style pedantic management hr non existent, driven by top management of late in financial doldrums and have announced dissolution of their IT division

      Advice to Management

      Wake up.. This is an IT firm not a old school!! 8 hrs dont matter the work you does

      Mitsui O.S.K. Lines2017-04-22
    • "Administrator"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Executive Assistant 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Mitsui O.S.K. Lines full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      My boss is an amazing person to work with. Highly intelligent, as well as all other colleagues. Work life balance is a sure thing competitive salaries Great benefits!

      Cons

      Too much job safety can sometimes get in the way of effective performance Maybe its the bad moment in Logistics and Transportation, but there's not much going on, most of the times..

      Advice to Management

      Keep up the good work. Great environment.

      Mitsui O.S.K. Lines2016-08-22
    • "Largest container shipping liner in the world"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook

        I worked at Mitsui O.S.K. Lines full-time

        Pros

        Never a dull moment. Interesting.

        Cons

        Company struggling with the decrease in worldwide shipping after the 2008 financial debacle.

        Advice to Management

        Take mid-lower level employee suggestions into consideration when making immediate and future plan changes for the company.

        Mitsui O.S.K. Lines2016-06-14
      • Helpful (1)

        "Good place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lombard, IL
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Mitsui O.S.K. Lines full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        - good pay and benefits (401K with .5 dollar matching for up to 6%; Cigna Dental+Health+Vision)

        Cons

        - Fast paced - Poor management

        Mitsui O.S.K. Lines2016-01-06
      • Helpful (4)

        "Chief Executive Offers can't know what's going on in America Division"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lombard, IL
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Mitsui O.S.K. Lines full-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        I believe MOL Japan is a very loyal and fair organization to work for. Very up front in letting its employees know how the company is doing as a whole. I believe they truly want to do right by its employees. MOL Japan values family and loyalty.

        Cons

        MOL America is known to have very bold unfair hiring and promoting practices within their North America customer service division. This leaves most employees fearful of losing their jobs, While others who have been hired and promoted through these ill gotten practices never have to face those types of fears.

        Advice to Management

        My advise to MOL Japan and it's chief officers would be to implement a process where you can hear directly from the employees. I can assure you have no idea of the type of discrimination that threatens your company, or the management that tarnishes the loyal and fair image of MOL. My score is based on my disappointment of effective and fair management.

        Mitsui O.S.K. Lines2014-05-26
      • "Helpful management and a good opportunity"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Temp in Edison, NJ
          Recommends
          Neutral Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at Mitsui O.S.K. Lines part-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Flexibility, overtime (if hourly), welcoming management and colleagues.

          Cons

          There wasn't much in terms of opportunities while I was there, or at least I wasn't made aware of them.

          Advice to Management

          Maybe there should be more in terms of morale boosting and compensation incentives to increase productivity.

          Mitsui O.S.K. Lines2014-03-19
        • "Good job"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Export/Import Coordinator in Atlanta, GA
          Recommends
          Neutral Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at Mitsui O.S.K. Lines full-time for more than 3 years

          Pros

          Decent Pay, great work environment, and benefits.

          Cons

          Not much room for Advancement in Atlanta office. Would have to move to other states.

          Mitsui O.S.K. Lines2013-04-01
        Found 65 reviews