Mizuho Financial Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Mizuho Financial Group Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 109 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Mizuho Financial Group CEO Yasuhiro Sato
Yasuhiro Sato
43 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work life balance (vacation days well above average); team willing to mentor junior level employees; very nice working environment(in 59 reviews)

  • "Good working environment, good for fresh grad(in 27 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (10)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mizuho Financial Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Great people to work with and place to develop your career. -Great worklife balance -Growing company

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Mizuho Financial Group2018-12-20

    Mizuho Financial Group Response

    January 4, 2019Recruiting Specialist

    Thank you for your comments. We appreciate you sharing your enthusiasm for working at Mizuho.

  2. "Good People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mizuho Financial Group full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    The people working there are super friendly compared to other comparable Banks. Benefits are competitive.

    Cons

    Pay could be better. Too much paper usage that goes to waste. Should digitalize more.

    Mizuho Financial Group2019-05-06
  3. "Would not recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Mizuho Financial Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Access to clients in Silicon Valley (SF office is focused on tech) Good senior leadership

    Cons

    Longer hours than most west coast banks, spent inefficiently Comp much lower than street, despite promises Lack of mentorship / training for junior level employees Repetitive work that's not interesting Toxic work culture Unclear exit opportunities

    Mizuho Financial Group2019-05-11
  4. "Rewarding Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mizuho Financial Group full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Competitive salary (raises as well), bonus & great benefits.

    Cons

    Demanding with tight deadlines. Need to have thick skin and clear communication.

    Mizuho Financial Group2019-01-04

    Mizuho Financial Group Response

    January 7, 2019Recruiting Specialist

    We appreciate your feedback and are dedicated to creating a positive workplace for everyone.

  5. Helpful (1)

    "A very good working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mizuho Financial Group full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    - The corporate culture values using a thoughtful approach in conducting business. - Mizuho in NY / the Americas has the right economies of scale - it's neither too big nor too small

    Cons

    - It can be too risk averse, leading to missed opportunities, both on the revenue generating side and on the corporate side

    Advice to Management

    Encourage more internal movement of local American staff across functions and also across geographies.

    Mizuho Financial Group2018-12-13

    Mizuho Financial Group Response

    January 4, 2019Recruiting Specialist

    We appreciate your comments and really value feedback from our current employees. Thank you!

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place, Great people to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Credit Administration Specialist in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mizuho Financial Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone's very helpful there and willing to teach you something always!

    Cons

    There's nothing to say about it.

    Mizuho Financial Group2018-12-03

    Mizuho Financial Group Response

    January 4, 2019Recruiting Specialist

    Thanks for your encouraging feedback. We will continue to do everything we can to ensure that Mizuho is a great place to work.

  7. Helpful (5)

    "This Is Your Warning."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mizuho Financial Group full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    New building in 2020 will be cool if you can make it that long here.

    Cons

    Leadership is the most disorganized I've witnessed in my career. Initiatives change from one week to the next so often that half your work will be unused and long term projects never come to fruition as they are constantly thrown in the back log. Technology is nonexistent here, be ready to work with small screens and slow computers that will make any large data sets hell to work with. Internal data is a mess and caused...

    Show More
    Mizuho Financial Group2018-12-19

    Mizuho Financial Group Response

    January 4, 2019Recruiting Specialist

    Thank you your comments. We are committed to making our workplace a positive environment for everyone and will share your feedback with the appropriate departments.

  8. Helpful (8)

    "Sinking ship, don’t go down with it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President, North America in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mizuho Financial Group full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    It’s an easy job.

    Cons

    Working at Mizuho is like environment in the movie Office Space. Endless, pointless paper shuffling is the name of the game there. I had no idea morale could be so low. Also beware of LinkedIn and perhaps Glass Door reviews as the company’s HR (or some similar department) is pushing hard internally for inflated reviews. They are hand selecting people and asking them to write positive things on social media, likely in...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get with the times. Treat your employees as humans and not worker bees. Stop wasting time and look for efficiencies.

    Mizuho Financial Group2018-11-21

    Mizuho Financial Group Response

    January 29, 2019Recruiting Specialist

    We are disappointed to hear that your experience at Mizuho was not positive. We have shared your comments with the appropriate departments and are taking steps to ensure that other employees do not have the same experience as you. We wish you well in your career and any future endeavors.

  9. "Good dev work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Full Stack Developer in Lawrenceville, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Mizuho Financial Group full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great work / life balance, some of the projects were cool, did unit and continuous integration testing.

    Cons

    Too far from the city

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work, but think about relocating closer to the city.

    Mizuho Financial Group2018-09-12

    Mizuho Financial Group Response

    January 4, 2019Recruiting Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoy working at Mizuho.

Found 109 reviews