Mizuho Financial Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Mizuho Financial Group Reviews

Updated June 18, 2017
139 reviews

Filter

Filter

US - All Cities Full-time Part-time

2.9
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Mizuho Financial Group President and CEO Yasuhiro Sato
Yasuhiro Sato
41 Ratings

139 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
Cons
  • Culture, work life balance, etc) (in 8 reviews)

  • Rotating Senior Management & Expats (in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (3)

    "Best place to work for the people"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mizuho Financial Group full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great people and growing business. Lots of opportunity for professional growth and learning. Lots of young talent with fresh ideas. Blue sky for your next job opportunity. I have the best manager in the world.

    Cons

    They have some red tape for process changes
    There are Japanese expats who can be hard to communicate with sometimes but they are never rude about it.

    Mizuho Financial Group Response

    Jan 31, 2017

    Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you are having a positive experience! We recognize the frustration related to 'red tape,' which is something being examined.


  2. Helpful (2)

    "Director"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in New York, NY
    Former Employee - Director in New York, NY
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mizuho Financial Group full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Strong Franchise and corporate relationships in Japan.

    Cons

    Overly bureaucratic Japanese management combined with local U.S. managers who do not understand Japan well. Lots of cultural miscommunication and ugly political infighting

    Advice to Management

    Put more emphasis on local management who really understand what is happening on both sides of the Pacific

  3. Helpful (3)

    "Terrible place of work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mizuho Financial Group full-time

    Pros

    Some of the people are worthwhile. good PTO (but taking PTO is frowned upon), decent benefits

    Cons

    No upward mobility, awful management, ultimately the company has no idea what it is doing. A lot of restructuring but nothing that makes sense. Expats are impossible to work with. Tech is unbelievably behind the times. A long career at Mizuho is a waste of time. Japanese culture is extremely exclusive and uncomfortable

    Advice to Management

    Hire some real talent, make big management changes, be more transparent, join the 21st century


  4. Helpful (2)

    "fear culture"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Current Employee - Assistant Vice President in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Assistant Vice President in New York, NY

    I have been working at Mizuho Financial Group full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    its just a job, nothing more. The stressed out staff keep a smile on and work hard.
    despite the head games, most people are decent.

    Cons

    Its a hang around the office culture, show up late and stay late. Not a fun place, most cant wait to go home. Rumor is the benefits are being chipped away too.

    Advice to Management

    Expect high turnover for better conditions, you may not care, but you will eventually.


  5. "Great place"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Investment Banking Analyst in New York, NY
    Former Employee - Investment Banking Analyst in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mizuho Financial Group (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    -Well-reasoned, respectible work environment
    -Business casual attire is preferred throughout the bank (except for some front-end sales roles, though most will leave their jackets at their desks, so there is some flexibility as long as clients are not around)
    -Frequent company-wide events allow employees to bond with eachother accross divisions and build rapport with colleagues including the catered holiday, end of fiscal year, and mid-year parties
    -Bank is slow-and-steady and tries to avoid risky propositions

    Cons

    -Not much of a con, but consensus-building can be slow at times and occassionally decision-making can become unnecessarily cumbersome.
    -Bank could seemingly afford to take more risks, although slow-and-steady generally wins the race.
    -There's general concern among some of the older guard that some former RBC employees, while contributing to growing the bank, may be posioning the well culture-wise. I can see both sides of it - I'm generally agnostic on this.
    -More consolidation likely ahead for the subsidiaries, from what I've heard

    Advice to Management

    Generally doing a good job

    Mizuho Financial Group Response

    Apr 17, 2017

    Thank you - we appreciate your feedback. Good luck in your future endeavors.


  6. Helpful (9)

    "Face time culture and no clear direction or leadership."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Director in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Mizuho Financial Group full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Hard to say. Benefits used to be the only pro, but staff are discouraged from taking PTO, no real remote work options, other benefits are diminishing as well.

    Cons

    Zero leadership, zero focus on results. All the focus is who stays the latest every night. Antiquated belief in managing like we're in the 80's. They'll never keep any real talent this way.

    Advice to Management

    Get a focus on results and impact. Lose the culture of managing by perception and face time.

    Mizuho Financial Group Response

    Apr 17, 2017

    Thank you for your comments. We encourage you to discuss your concerns with management or your Business Partner in Human Resources.


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Director"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director, Operational Risk Management in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Director, Operational Risk Management in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mizuho Financial Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Growing revenues, looking to hire strong talent from outside the company to build out US Operations, and excellent benefits.

    Cons

    Flexible work arrangements would be a good benefit for employees.

    Advice to Management

    Think strategically, invest wisely, and spend appropriately.

    Mizuho Financial Group Response

    Mar 23, 2017

    Thank you for the feedback - we will share this with management

  8. Helpful (5)

    "Dysfunctional"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Mizuho Financial Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Pay and benefits are decent. Only real incentive to stay

    Cons

    No real org structure. Very Autocratic. Job roles undefined. No real Technology strategy.
    No significant movement in stock price for a longtime. Long work days as people seem to be putting out fires most of the time. In my experience it was hard to engage with senior folks.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employees through feedback. Seems like most of the workers are not happy. Don't even have even an employee referral policy. Some managers are not manager level. should consider replacing many of their antiquated systems and have an better enterprise policy. Have worked for many financial institutions and this was most disappointing. A much better technology vision has to be communicated to employees

    Mizuho Financial Group Response

    Mar 23, 2017

    Thank you for your comments. We are sorry you did not have a better experience. The Bank does, however, have a generous employee referral program which is actively used and a good source for ... More


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Poor leadership in the tech dept"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Jersey City, NJ
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Jersey City, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mizuho Financial Group full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Worked in Mizuho Bank corporate bank.
    Good PTO benefits

    Cons

    Poor leadership specially in the ASOD. No work from remote - you've to come in the snow storm. Biased management when it comes to training employees

    Advice to Management

    Japanese management in tokyo should review/replace SNU leadership

    Mizuho Financial Group Response

    Mar 23, 2017

    Thank you for your feedback. We wish you could have raised your concerns while here with management or Human Resources. The Bank has commenced making changes with management and oversight in the ... More


  10. Helpful (7)

    "Simply horrible"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Securities in New York, NY
    Former Employee - Securities in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mizuho Financial Group full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Benefits were good. Decent office location. That is really about it

    Cons

    Incredibly average to below average people from the top all the way down. But especially in the middle .

    Advice to Management

    Stop hiring has-beens from 1980s Wall Street. Get some real talent. Get real products. There is no real chance of success in the US unless you do. Irrelevant currently despite all the money being spent.

    Mizuho Financial Group Response

    Mar 23, 2017

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you had a while negative experience while at Mizuho. We will share your comments with management. Good luck in your future endeavors.


Showing 273 of 301 reviews
Reset Filters