Mobile County Public School System Reviews | Glassdoor

Mobile County Public School System Reviews

Updated Jul 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 58 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Mobile County Public School System CEO Harold W Dodge (no image)
Harold W Dodge
18 Ratings
  1. "Substitute teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Substitute Teacher in Mobile, AL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mobile County Public School System part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Control your own availability. Consistant work. Fet to see new places and people.

    Cons

    No benefits. Responsibilities outweigh pay Training class provided nothing on what to expect day to day or how to handle situations.

    Advice to Management

    Increase pay to what surrounding counties make.

    Mobile County Public School System2018-07-12
  2. "custodian"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mobile, AL

    I have been working at Mobile County Public School System full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    has the best work hours, and paid holidays

    Cons

    pay is a bit to be desired

    Mobile County Public School System2018-06-25
  3. Helpful (1)

    "After School Care Programs are fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Mobile County Public School System part-time

    Pros

    I love getting to meet new children and help them to become a better student. Some days are better than others but seeing their smiling faces helps make the days great.

    Cons

    Only downside is you dont get a lot of hours.

    Mobile County Public School System2018-04-26
  4. "Substitute Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Substitute Teacher in Mobile, AL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mobile County Public School System full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The love you have to teach those around you who really want to learn.

    Cons

    When children show aggressiveness to not follow the rules and regulations within school policy.

    Advice to Management

    To increase Teachers and Substitute Teachers pay every year. Both carry a heavy load dealing with children within the classrooms.

    Mobile County Public School System2018-01-05
  5. "Payroll specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Payroll in Mobile, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Mobile County Public School System full-time

    Pros

    Close to home. Decent holidays.

    Cons

    Not paid enough for the job I do.

    Mobile County Public School System2017-10-23
  6. "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher, Elementary School in Mobile, AL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mobile County Public School System part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I worked in a magnet school and we had programs that other schools did not have and the students were interested in getting everything mastered.

    Cons

    Changing administrators that did not believe in the goals of the school.

    Advice to Management

    See what is working before you come in and change things. Talk to your people as people, not employees.

    Mobile County Public School System2017-09-01
  7. "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher in Mobile, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mobile County Public School System full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Time off for Christmas, Thanksgiving, spring break and Summers

    Cons

    I wouldn't recommend anyone not even someone I despise such as Donald Trump to become a teacher.

    Advice to Management

    Bring by discipline in schools, no one accountable for their own actions anymore. The kids are now at the helm and the teachers and administration are afraid of the ignorant parents as well as the disrespectful Ingrate kids.

    Mobile County Public School System2017-09-21
  8. "Mobile County Public School System"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Paraprofessional in Mobile, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mobile County Public School System full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The benefits and off days are great. You are off the entire summer and all holidays plus the weekends.

    Cons

    The pay is horrible. They need to pay there employees more money

    Advice to Management

    Pay employees more money and you can keep people.

    Mobile County Public School System2017-06-22
  9. "It varies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Mobile County Public School System

    Pros

    There are some schools that have better learning environments.

    Cons

    Unless your students are taking the highest level courses, the quality of education is greatly declining.

    Mobile County Public School System2017-05-30
  10. "Speech-Language Pathologist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Speech Language Pathologist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mobile County Public School System full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Large network of colleagues to consult with; at time of employment there was a strong, competent special education director at my time of service; retirement and medical benefits; joy of working with children

    Cons

    as with any public school district special education job/ certified assignment, the paperwork is excessive and redundant and large caseloads

    Advice to Management

    consider increasing hourly pay for part-time contract slps; this would attract more and much needed part-time help to help with heavy caseloads

    Mobile County Public School System2017-04-25
Found 58 reviews