Mobile County Public School System Reviews | Glassdoor

Mobile County Public School System Reviews

Updated Jul 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 58 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Mobile County Public School System CEO Harold W Dodge (no image)
Harold W Dodge
18 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Mobile County Public Schools"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Clerk in Saraland, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Mobile County Public School System for more than a year

    Pros

    Monday through Friday job. They are dependable, steady employer. Most are super people to work with - and many departments and schools to choose from.

    Cons

    Central office not as good to work at.

    Mobile County Public School System2016-06-10
  2. "Teaching with MCPSS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Former Teacher in Mobile, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mobile County Public School System full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Excellent teachers and administrators. Great kids.

    Cons

    Sometimes required paperwork is overkill.

    Continue reading
    Mobile County Public School System2016-05-28
  3. "It's All About Who You know!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mobile, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Mobile County Public School System full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    great place to work if you are highly educated with masters and doctorate degrees

    Cons

    not much room for advancement unless you are highly educated with masters and doctorate degrees

    Continue reading
    Mobile County Public School System2016-05-13
  4. "Custodian/maintenance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Custodian/Maintenance in Mobile, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mobile County Public School System full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    They have good benefits kind of costly for a family plan. Being able to be off on holidays.

    Cons

    They have no incentives for the workers in my department. The custodians are the back bone of the school yet they are treated like they don't matter. Their pay system is horrible. When they do decide to give a raise everybody in your department gets the same amount. That's not right because you have some that do very little and hartly ever come to work.

    Continue reading
    Mobile County Public School System2016-05-02
  5. "Paraprofessional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mobile County Public School System full-time

    Pros

    The coworkers work as a team.

    Cons

    Educators are stressed to the max.

    Continue reading
    Mobile County Public School System2016-03-27
  6. "interim teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mobile, AL
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mobile County Public School System part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I retired after 27 years. I now do interim positions at a middle school. The principal and teachers are very good to work with.

    Cons

    At times the students are hard to manage.

    Mobile County Public School System2016-03-08
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Clerk/Secretary/Executive Secretary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mobile County Public School System full-time

    Pros

    Excellent health insurance, paid vacation/sick leave/personal leave/paid holidays. Strong retirement plan. Excellent CEO, Superintendent Martha Peek.

    Cons

    Impossible to increase pay significantly without a job change. Small step raises (about 1.5% of gross pay) are awarded annually at the board's discretion. Step raises are typically less than the rate of inflation/cost of living. Work environment could be excellent or terrible -- it all depends on where you work, and who you work for.

    Continue reading
    Mobile County Public School System2015-11-10
  8. "MCPSS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Mobile County Public School System

    Pros

    Great insurance benefits, retirement, summers off, kids can be great but discipline is inconsistent. It's nice having the afternoon off, but school starts so early that neither the teachers nor the students are mentally or emotionally present some days.

    Cons

    We are required to re-test failing students until they pass.

    Continue reading
    Mobile County Public School System2015-11-04
  9. "Career Technical Education"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Instructor in Crane Hill, AL

    I worked at Mobile County Public School System for more than a year

    Pros

    One of the largest school systems in Alabama.

    Cons

    Large turnover for non-tenured teachers

    Continue reading
    Mobile County Public School System2015-10-16
  10. Helpful (1)

    "It's fine if you want very part time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Substitute Teacher in Mobile, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mobile County Public School System

    Pros

    I can make my schedule so I don't have to work when one of my kids have a Dr's appt or something going on.

    Cons

    They really don't pay enough for the work we do as substitute teachers. There are many months I don't get enough work to pay the bills so I have to work 2 jobs.

    Continue reading
    Mobile County Public School System2015-09-12
Found 58 reviews