Mobile County Public School System Teacher Reviews | Glassdoor

Mobile County Public School System Teacher Reviews

Updated May 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
93%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Mobile County Public School System CEO Harold W Dodge (no image)
Harold W Dodge
5 Ratings
  1. "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Social Studies Teacher, Middle School in Mobile, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mobile County Public School System full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Having the summers off and every holiday known to man.

    Cons

    Stressful conditions with children that at times are troubled due to their home life.

    Mobile County Public School System2019-02-02
  2. "working with the kids in mobile al"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Substitute Teacher 

    I have been working at Mobile County Public School System part-time

    Pros

    you get to chance lives

    Cons

    not paid enough for the hassle with the children

    Mobile County Public School System2019-05-28
  3. "Substitute teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Substitute Teacher in Mobile, AL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mobile County Public School System part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Control your own availability. Consistant work. Fet to see new places and people.

    Cons

    No benefits. Responsibilities outweigh pay Training class provided nothing on what to expect day to day or how to handle situations.

    Advice to Management

    Increase pay to what surrounding counties make.

    Mobile County Public School System2018-07-12
  4. "Substitute Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Substitute Teacher in Mobile, AL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mobile County Public School System full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The love you have to teach those around you who really want to learn.

    Cons

    When children show aggressiveness to not follow the rules and regulations within school policy.

    Advice to Management

    To increase Teachers and Substitute Teachers pay every year. Both carry a heavy load dealing with children within the classrooms.

    Mobile County Public School System2018-01-05
  5. "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher, Elementary School in Mobile, AL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mobile County Public School System part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I worked in a magnet school and we had programs that other schools did not have and the students were interested in getting everything mastered.

    Cons

    Changing administrators that did not believe in the goals of the school.

    Advice to Management

    See what is working before you come in and change things. Talk to your people as people, not employees.

    Mobile County Public School System2017-09-01
  6. "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher in Mobile, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mobile County Public School System full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Time off for Christmas, Thanksgiving, spring break and Summers

    Cons

    I wouldn't recommend anyone not even someone I despise such as Donald Trump to become a teacher.

    Advice to Management

    Bring by discipline in schools, no one accountable for their own actions anymore. The kids are now at the helm and the teachers and administration are afraid of the ignorant parents as well as the disrespectful Ingrate kids.

    Mobile County Public School System2017-09-21
  7. "Sub Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sub Teacher in Mobile, AL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mobile County Public School System part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with Children and continuing education

    Cons

    Paid monthly and very low wages

    Advice to Management

    Better paid and on a regular payment schedule

    Mobile County Public School System2017-01-31
  8. "Middle and High school Math Teacher with 10.5 years experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in Mobile, AL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mobile County Public School System full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Insurance, paid time off with school calendar holidays are fabulous

    Cons

    Administrators are not always best suited for the job. Classes are extremely large

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees and let them know that they are appreciated.

    Mobile County Public School System2016-07-22
  9. Helpful (1)

    "It's fine if you want very part time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Substitute Teacher in Mobile, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mobile County Public School System

    Pros

    I can make my schedule so I don't have to work when one of my kids have a Dr's appt or something going on.

    Cons

    They really don't pay enough for the work we do as substitute teachers. There are many months I don't get enough work to pay the bills so I have to work 2 jobs.

    Advice to Management

    Pay us more and give us some respect. We're on the front lines teaching these kids in the teachers absence yet we get looked down upon at every turn.

    Mobile County Public School System2015-09-12
  10. "MCPSS is Effective and Operational"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Substitute Teacher in Mobile, AL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mobile County Public School System for less than a year

    Pros

    They are straight forward. They tell you what you need to do, and let you get the job done.

    Cons

    Low Pay. 50$ a day is under minimum wage given the responsibilities.

    Advice to Management

    Try to reduce the Student/Teacher ratio.

    Mobile County Public School System2014-07-26
Found 14 reviews