Mode Media Reviews | Glassdoor

Mode Media Reviews

Updated May 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 114 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
36%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
Mode Media CEO Jack Rotolo
Jack Rotolo
23 Ratings
Pros
  • "Best work life balance, though night shift employees find it difficult(in 8 reviews)

  • "Great People, great team of professionals(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "negative environment, upper management isn't focused on developing careers(in 5 reviews)

  • "In addition to the lack of focus, there's also the fact that the company is constantly behind the tech curve(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Mode Media full-time

    Pros

    work, people, environment, culture, growth opportunities

    Cons

    nothing to mention as such

    Mode Media2017-03-30
  2. "Senior Systems Engineer Techops"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Mode Media full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun place to work Flexible working hours Good technology stack compared to Industry

    Cons

    Nothing I can think of

    Mode Media2019-05-06
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "All Things Considered - A Great Place While it Lasted"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Developer in Brisbane, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mode Media for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very entrepreneurial environment. You had a lot of flexibility to do your job and contribute. Company innovated and expanded its business over the years.

    Cons

    Never got the financial house in order. Constantly needed cash. Should have figured out how to manage the business with a much smaller footprint.

    Advice to Management

    Too late for that!

    Mode Media2017-10-20
  5. "Reason they are gone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Planner 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mode Media full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great money while it was good. Well known brand to work for, fun perks and fun access to events.

    Cons

    ALOT of internal layers, and politics. They surprisingly did not like women as much as men, and even got themselves into some trouble with that.

    Mode Media2017-10-16
  6. "Sad Silicon Valley Story"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brisbane, CA

    I worked at Mode Media full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people, very flat organization, wonderful team spirit and work culture, easy to learn a lot and progress

    Cons

    The leadership, barring a few, was awful. Corrupt, misguided, unthinking, and lead to the downfall.

    Mode Media2017-06-30
  7. "Sales Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Mode Media full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Many passionate people with great team spirit providing innovative solutions to marketers.

    Cons

    Might be too ambitious or to far ahead of time.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on execution

    Mode Media2016-12-01
  8. "Never transformed it's business model"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Operations 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mode Media for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great idea in the beginning. Built a hugely successful business first 10 years.....

    Cons

    Never transformed the business to the next thing. Inability to turn technology into products that would carry the company forward.

    Mode Media2016-11-14
  9. "Dr Technology"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Mode Media

    Pros

    Lot of Work to explore and talented People.

    Cons

    Issue with the Management style

    Mode Media2016-10-27
  10. "Office Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Manager/Executive Administrative Assistant in Castro Valley, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Mode Media full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great People, great team of professionals. Good IT, HR, and Finance team.

    Cons

    Management needed to be more transparent, no idea how things are going. Not sure how things will be in the future.

    Advice to Management

    I'd like you to be more open about what is happening within the company. I feel like I am in the dark and do not know if I'll have a job next month.

    Mode Media2016-10-21
  11. "Rear View Mirror"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Mode Media

    Pros

    Autonomy, Educational, media company, happy and friends.

    Cons

    Nearly Criminal, Narcissistic ex-CEO. And they shut down...

    Advice to Management

    No more management..

    Mode Media2016-10-06
Found 114 reviews