Modern Hire Reviews | Glassdoor

Modern Hire Reviews

Updated Oct 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
91%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Modern Hire Chief Executive Officer Kurt Heikkinen (no image)
Kurt Heikkinen
25 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "A few bad eggs makes for a horrible environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Success Manager in Delafield, WI
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Modern Hire full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    CEO seems to care about everyone and most people are kind and willing to help

    Cons

    -Sales / Account Executives feel like they run the place and go around process whenever they don’t get their way. This behavior is unfortunately supported by executive leadership. Also, a handful of folks from other teams who’ve been here from the beginning feel they can belittle and intimidate newer people when they ask questions. - Horrible benefits when compared to other tech companies - Turnover is a big problem

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Show some backbone and don’t let Sales run your organization

    Modern Hire2019-10-21
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Exactly What I Needed, More Than What I Deserve"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accountant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Modern Hire full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Having worked in large corporate settings previously, Montage is a refreshing change. Fast-paced. Quick decision-making by leadership. Friendly co-workers who love their jobs. Good pay. Results-oriented. No micro-management. Growing company. Positive feedback shared freely by managers. Open communication among all levels of employees. Truly transparent. Supportive of training and job travel.

    Cons

    Office space constraints faced by a rapidly growing company are being addressed as quickly as possible

    Modern Hire2019-08-22
  3. "Amazing Experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk Agent Supervisor in Laguna Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Modern Hire full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The most beautiful place I could have had ever imagined to work. Work life balance as well as all the perks of a 5 Diamond Resort.

    Cons

    I found very few cons, non that I can remember from working at the Montage, it was like working a job located in paradise.

    Advice to Management

    Keep setting the bar for Hospitality, even years later I still reach back out to friends I have made that work for Montage and seek leadership advice and new ideas.

    Modern Hire2019-07-14
  4. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Modern Hire full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits. Family oriented. Fun

    Cons

    Can't really think of any

    Modern Hire2019-02-08
  5. "Thankful to be on this journey with Montage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Delafield, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Modern Hire full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Awesome culture Promote within Passionate people with a winning attitude Great product Leadership with a vision and strong focus

    Cons

    Can't think of any at this time.

    Advice to Management

    As we grow, continue to maintain our great culture.

    Modern Hire2018-11-01
  6. "Better, Faster, Stronger"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Modern Hire full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    What is so impressive about this company is the unwavering focus. There is a plan to win, every employee knows it, and we are all driving toward success together.

    Cons

    Can't identify any cons right now.

    Advice to Management

    Continue the transparent, open atmosphere. Employees appreciate the candor.

    Modern Hire2017-12-06
  7. "Employer Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Modern Hire full-time

    Pros

    culture, flexibility, nice people to work with

    Cons

    lack of benefits, location and office amenities

    Modern Hire2017-07-10
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Delafield, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Modern Hire full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Strong leadership. Starting at the top with Kurt, hes as impressive as they come! He walks the talk when signing off on sales emails saying, 'in the trenches with you'. -Transparent culture -Great people! Made some friendships I'll hopefully have for life. -Sales team is top notch - Experienced, talented reps that take control of the buying experience with industry insights. Opportunity for lots of growth in your sales career here. -Positive candidate experience, reflective of your time as an employee. -Work/life balance. Everyone has families and gets the importance here, but never at the expense of hard work. -Lots more I would share if I had the time

    Show More

    Cons

    -Benefits could be better, but to be expected of a company this size. Already seen improvements in my short time there. -Nascent, unproven market has its challenges. Cannot be understated. -Updates to the UI are a MUST -Sales and marketing are still defining their relationship. Marketing needs some improvement, but newly established leaders and processes make me feel optimistic they will! -Internal technology issues were inexcusable.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the transparency in brown bags, sales meetings, 1:1's etc. Your employees appreciate your honest voice! I truly believe the company needs to expand and evolve into something more than a Purpose-Built Video Interviewing platform to see the growth it wants. How/what that looks like is above my pay grade, but I trust that Kurt and team will figure it out and get the company to where it needs to be! Excited for your future, unfortunate I won't be apart of your future success. Best of luck!

    Show More
    Modern Hire2017-06-06
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Modern Hire full-time

    Pros

    Competitive pay and bonus ability

    Cons

    You cannot have an opinion or it is viewed as a complaint

    Modern Hire2017-02-06
  10. "Great Company to Work With"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Modern Hire

    Pros

    Passionate Workers Great Working Atmosphere Management Gets It Felt Like a Team Member

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    Keep chuggin along! Sorry that I had to leave

    Modern Hire2016-10-07
Found 29 reviews