Modern Luxury Reviews | Glassdoor

Modern Luxury Reviews

Updated 30 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
39%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Modern Luxury CEO Michael Dickey (no image)
Michael Dickey
16 Ratings
Pros
  • "This internship gave me abundant opportunities to be published in a variety of Modern Luxury magazines(in 12 reviews)

  • "Learned a lot when half of my team was still around(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Exceedingly low pay and expect no rewards(in 11 reviews)

  • "A lot of people were let go the magazine industry just isnt what it used to be(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Happy Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Modern Luxury full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company events, culture, management support and products

    Cons

    I have no negative comments to say about this company.

    Advice to Management

    I worked directly under Jessica Cline and Weeda Sanchez in the San Diego and Orange County markets and had such an amazing employment experience with Modern Luxury. I always felt well taken care of, heard, respected and absolutely loved working with all of my fellow co-workers. My employment with Modern Luxury has been extremely rewarding.

    Modern Luxury2019-09-06
  2. "Not many perks, management is out of touch with reality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Modern Luxury full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    not many pros at all

    Cons

    company culture is non existent, pay is low, benefits suck

    Modern Luxury2019-10-30
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Fair place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Publisher 

    I have been working at Modern Luxury full-time

    Pros

    Flexible environment to work in

    Cons

    Somewhat lacks organizational structure overall

    Modern Luxury2019-09-03
  5. Helpful (1)

    "All Hail Sales Reps"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Coordinator in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Modern Luxury full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good experience, and very lax environment.

    Cons

    No critiques or reviews, no overtime, don’t get paid a living wage, sales reps will treat you poorly, not collaborative unsupportive environment.

    Advice to Management

    Have your teams back.

    Modern Luxury2019-09-12
  6. "Sales Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Director in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Modern Luxury full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Strong portfolio of media assets.

    Cons

    Lack of top executive leadership.

    Advice to Management

    Identify strategies working in each market.

    Modern Luxury2019-09-19
  7. "Great perks, crappy leadership and pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Account Coordinator in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Modern Luxury full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Events nice office dress code is great

    Cons

    The pay SUCKS and lack of REAL marketing knowledge/leadership

    Modern Luxury2019-09-12
  8. Helpful (3)

    "No value in employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Modern Luxury full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed environment, Fun people to work along with. Good first job but wouldn’t suggest staying longer than a year.

    Cons

    Management was a mess, zero communication, changing processes every other week if not every week. No training at all, you’re expected to know how things operate as soon as you are hired, encouraged to use your hour break but won’t allow you to work thru lunch and leave early, most employees are stuck up and won’t give you the time of day, okay pay. Not all employees are invited to events, very clicky office. Zero... opportunities for advancing your career.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate the people you have so your turn over rate isn’t bad

    Modern Luxury2019-07-15
  9. "Social Media and Events"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Intern 

    I worked at Modern Luxury part-time

    Pros

    learned a lot about social media and events

    Cons

    kind of disorganized. could be more structured and was unpaid.

    Modern Luxury2019-06-10
  10. "Great Brands, great team, trying to make the jump from print...to 360 media"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Modern Luxury full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great brands and very talented people. New senior management making real changes and lots of energy going into the business

    Cons

    print is challenging, but the new leaders are really making a difference brining innovation into the business.

    Advice to Management

    communicate all the changes with staff

    Modern Luxury2019-06-09
  11. "Solid Company, diverse product. Rough industry but pays off with hard work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Modern Luxury full-time

    Pros

    Target rich environment, lots of business out there to capture.

    Cons

    Only ever as good as your last sale.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the sales people but guide them as well.

    Modern Luxury2019-06-04
Found 97 reviews