Modern Market Reviews | Glassdoor

Modern Market Reviews

Updated Jul 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 40 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Modern Market CEO Anthony Pigliacampo
Anthony Pigliacampo
12 Ratings
  1. "Cook"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pizza Cook in Southlake, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Modern Market part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great staff and the location is great

    Cons

    Management count improve with helpful tips

    Modern Market2018-03-12
  2. "It's a job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Leader in Highlands Ranch, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Modern Market full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Most co workers were really nice.

    Cons

    Alot of no call no shows

    Modern Market2019-07-16
  3. "Good atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Modern Market full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Team enviornment, good food, fast paced

      Cons

      Not a lot of advancement

      Modern Market2019-06-07
    • "Fun Job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Cashier in Scottsdale, AZ
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Modern Market part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Positive environment Great Coworkers Great Food

      Cons

      Lack of hours Occasional lack of communication

      Modern Market2019-05-22
    • "Great People"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier 

        I worked at Modern Market full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Very good orientation and welcoming new employees

        Cons

        It got difficult with operations when there were a lot of customers

        Modern Market2019-04-16
      • Helpful (1)

        "Decent Entry Level Restaurant Job with Opportunity to Advance"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Shift Leader in Littleton, CO
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Modern Market full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Free meals during shift, closed for most holidays, employee health benefits after one year of employment, typically a good/laid back atmosphere, opportunity for advancement

        Cons

        Poor training and communication from management, it's quickly becoming much more of a corporate atmosphere and workplace, rarely felt my efforts/work performance were valued or appreciated

        Advice to Management

        Communication and training need to be higher priority

        Modern Market2019-04-10
      • "Rewarding yet frustrating. It could be so much more but chooses to try to be like everyone else which makes it mediocre"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at Modern Market

          Pros

          Professional growth, culture, comradeship, betterment

          Cons

          Constant change, poor leadership especially from the corporate office, poor decision making leads to back and forth situations often, distrustful, poor communication, putting money ahead of people, leadership at odds with core values

          Advice to Management

          Be clearer with expectations, remember your obligations to the people and when situations or things change be more transparent, stop lying to people to get them to do what you want - have the courage to be honest

          Modern Market2019-03-27
        • "Company Focused on Expanding Business not Employees"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Crew Member in Cherry Hills, CO
          Doesn't Recommend
          Positive Outlook
          Disapproves of CEO

          I worked at Modern Market full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          The food was fantastic, some of the crew members were fun to work with. I did appreciate that they had a program that helped you learn how to better train newcomers.

          Cons

          The people who were being promoted to general manager were clearly not right for the position. A lot of my personal frustration came from dealing with management handling many situations poorly (such as co workers constantly not showing up or others creating a toxic work environment).

          Modern Market2019-03-22
        • "Great Place"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Shift Leader 
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at Modern Market full-time for less than a year

          Pros

          They care about their employees

          Cons

          Customers are at times demanding

          Modern Market2019-01-29
        • "Let's call it an eye opening experience"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Line Cook in Plano, TX
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at Modern Market part-time for more than 3 years

          Pros

          -Pretty awesome co-workers, depending where you're at -You gain better experience, provided you're prepared for some sacrifices in order to do so. -Free Shift meal for every 4-5 hour shift. -Decent starting pay, chances for some raises here and there.

          Cons

          This company claims to care about it's employees, but when push comes to shove, it's the team members that take the blame when in actuality, management is just down right inept (at least in some stores) Many managers will ignore their employees concerns or issues, instead cutting hours and overloading work just to prove a point. Furthermore, I have never seen such favouritism from upper management in a worse way than...

          Show More

          Advice to Management

          I cannot stress this enough; get both sides of every story and stop constantly taking a managers side just because they're management. Also, if you really want your best employees to stay and be successful, stop with the empty promises and lip service. That kind of disappointment can only sting so much.

          Modern Market2019-02-05
        Found 40 reviews