Modern Transportation Reviews | Glassdoor

Modern Transportation Reviews

Updated Nov 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.6
42%
Recommend to a Friend
28%
Approve of CEO
Modern Transportation CEO Patrick Cozzens
Patrick Cozzens
4 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Class A Truck Driver in Orem, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Modern Transportation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great home time, small company environment with the benefits of a large company, pay is good for the work.

    Cons

    Routes get monotonous, can be hard to work in very adverse conditions specifically due to weather.

    Modern Transportation2019-03-07
  2. "tanker driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Class A Truck Driver in Tuscaloosa, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Modern Transportation full-time

    Pros

    good rates,good terminal manager,good equipment

    Cons

    idiots at corporate level,cameras in trucks,micro managed

    Modern Transportation2019-11-25
  3. "Where is the communication?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Owner Operator in Tuscaloosa, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Modern Transportation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Safety doesn't ride your butt. (Because nobody communicates to each other). Oh wait, they are crazy about inward facing cameras, huge deal.

    Cons

    Everything. No communication between dispatch,drivers, safety, terminal Managers, payroll, most terminals lack even the basic necessities such as a bathroom or even a place to do paperwork. Slow to pay on some things. Absolutely no maintenance department, zero shops, totally up to the drivers to maintain equipment. Will close am account or terminal without any notice to the drivers and expect them to just... pack up and move... Sometimes two it three states away!! Yes, true.!!! They run off every experienced liquid bulk transport executive they hired when they decided to start this end if the business. That means everyone now running the liquid bulk side has almost zero experience doing anything OTR. ALMOST ZERO!!! Patrick Cozzens is clueless about what is going on. His executive staff will lie and throw their underlings under the bus and go behind his back to try and fix what they screwed up. It is horrible. Everything is done they email. EVERYTHING. permits, dispatch, settlement sheets, safety, even the customer has to email them wait for someone to respond. Half the time nobody can make a decision and it's left up to the driver to do what is right and then hope he/she gets paid for it. This company could be awesome. But do many at the top are too busy covering their butts and firing people. Every person that gets fired because another driver quit, got fired because someone above them screwed up. It's insane.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Quit. Walk away. Let Cozzens hire people that know this industry. Stop blowing smoke up his butt and step away. Patrick Cozzens, if you see this. You are being lied to. You have an opportunity to make a great business but the people around you are stopping it from happening. I have no way to communicate to you directly and I would love to have your ear just to see if this is intentional or if what myself... and many others at the bottom of the pond are thinking is true.

    Show More
    Modern Transportation2019-07-22
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Do not work for Modern transportation."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Driver in Ottawa, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Modern Transportation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are no pros to this job.

    Cons

    No raises for over 6 years. No chain of command. Absolute disregard for employees. Will never suggest this place as employment for anyone.

    Advice to Management

    I should not have to give advice to “ professionals “.

    Modern Transportation2018-12-23
  5. "Cushion job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Driver in Weatherford, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Modern Transportation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, supervisors on top of things, open door

    Cons

    Detention time can be long at times not good in daycab

    Advice to Management

    None

    Modern Transportation2016-11-26
  6. "Good check"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dearborn, MI
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Modern Transportation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good paycheck,do your job right and they love you.

    Cons

    Rental trucks and sharing your truck with another assigned driver.

    Modern Transportation2016-05-19
  7. "Great company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Driver in Fayetteville, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Modern Transportation for less than a year

    Pros

    Great hours. Friendly place to work.

    Cons

    The pay is not great

    Modern Transportation2016-02-15
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Modern is a good company for a year or two but not more, there are not many opportunities for for advancement,"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Driver in Loveland, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Modern Transportation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    dedicated runs, decent management, OK wage Ryder maintenance program, Most trucks are newer, most of the time will get set days off.

    Cons

    very unorganized, company cares more about the product than the drivers, equipment is not up to date mainly the trailers,

    Advice to Management

    upgrade your equipment and maintain it better, and listen to your employee's, realize that without the driver's your company won't deliver any product to any one. need to equip the trucks with blowers to open up more work possibility's,

    Modern Transportation2014-01-26
  9. "Terrible ethics."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Driver in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Modern Transportation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I had a lot of hours and some good co-workers. Even some of the supervisors were nice.

    Cons

    We went through a huge turnover in management. There were four different site managers in the the six months I worked here. They never, ever got payroll, right. In six months, they shorted me over $2,000, despite my bringing logs and spreadsheets to show where the errors were. I eventually had to file a complaint with the Workforce Commission. They lost the contract for the frac sand delivery we were working on. We... were pulling 75 hours a week, but it only lasted a few weeks. After that, they had me shoveling sand for a measly $12/hour.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get your stuff together!

    Modern Transportation2013-08-06
Found 9 reviews