Modern VideoFilm Reviews | Glassdoor

Modern VideoFilm Reviews

Updated Feb 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 28 reviews

2.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
30%
Recommend to a Friend
25%
Approve of CEO
Moshe Barkat
18 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Account Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director/Account Manager in Woodland Hills, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Modern VideoFilm for more than 5 years

    Pros

    People were great to work with. I learned a lot from my experience at Modern. Forever grateful for the opportunities I was given.

    Cons

    Too bad the company was sold and switched ownership

    Modern VideoFilm2016-07-06
  2. "Great company but poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vault Services in Santa Monica, CA

    I worked at Modern VideoFilm full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great working environment with the staff.

    Cons

    Management staff does not project leadership skills. Very condescending.

    Modern VideoFilm2019-02-01
  3. "Joke of a Place When I Was There"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Modern VideoFilm full-time

    Pros

    Nice office facilities, coffee maker with keurig cups, sometimes had paid lunches.

    Cons

    chauvinistic and hostile boss who I could have added to the #metoo list. Completely rude, inappropriate and did not help to train correctly. Low pay for what it was.

    Advice to Management

    They are gone now but I would advise people like my former boss to learn how to respect women and be professional.

    Modern VideoFilm2018-09-20
  4. "Gone for good reason"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Modern VideoFilm full-time

    Pros

    At first good pay for getting into the business of post production.

    Cons

    A lot of bad leadership decisions. Also no room to grow, and employees were eventually treated as second class citizens.

    Advice to Management

    You lost because you couldn't hold on to talent. No matter how much money you have, once you have no talent or nothing to offer, you are doomed.

    Modern VideoFilm2018-09-11
  5. "The Mighty Have Fallen"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Modern VideoFilm full-time

    Pros

    I worked at MVF prior to it's demise and rebirth/merger with Point360 so I can't comment on the current state of things, however, here is what I experienced in the past: Very little oversight; hourly employees are OT eligible (upon supervisor approval); really nice people.

    Cons

    Low pay, especially for women; top-heavy management that doesn't listen to employees; long hours, too many projects and too few rewards/recognition. Hard work is rewarded with more work.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees, bridge the gap between senior management and everyone else and pay better wages.

    Modern VideoFilm2016-10-27
  6. "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Canyon Country, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Modern VideoFilm full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    worked there and made some money

    Cons

    Modern was acquired by Point360 and has deteriorated ever since. It was a state of the art facility, but all the talent has fled or been let go. (Moshe is no longer the CEO as stated below). Not a happy place.

    Modern VideoFilm2016-10-22
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Long time friend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Audio Operations/Audio Lead/Editor in Burbank, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Modern VideoFilm for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The employees worked incredibly well together, a well oiled machine of a team.

    Cons

    Some staff did not recognize the value of team members

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    Modern VideoFilm2016-06-19
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Curious"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Modern VideoFilm full-time

    Pros

    Great crew of workers in all departments

    Cons

    Slow to communicate any new or old changes to protocol

    Modern VideoFilm2015-12-30
  9. "Worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Modern VideoFilm

      Pros

      we get paychecks on Friday

      Cons

      they are lots of them, i'm just glad we have jobs.

      Modern VideoFilm2015-09-18
    • "Great People!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Modern VideoFilm full-time

      Pros

      Great people on my the immediate shift

      Cons

      Upper management drove the business to the ground with nepotism, ridiculous salary and doing nothing for the company.

      Advice to Management

      Upgrade your skills for your next job.

      Modern VideoFilm2015-08-28
    Found 28 reviews