Modern Woodmen Reviews | Glassdoor

Modern Woodmen Reviews

Updated Aug 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 155 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
W. Kenny Massey
102 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits, and flex time was great(in 17 reviews)

  • "All departments from home office are helpful, knowledgeable(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "I've made these concerns known to the home office and local management(in 8 reviews)

  • "No salary/wage; 100% commission compensation(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work with good benefits!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Modern Woodmen full-time

    Pros

    Your hard work is rewarded.

    Cons

    Company has a long history so some areas are still pretty conservative.

    Modern Woodmen2019-02-14
  2. "Great company if you have a great Regional director and/or Managing Partner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Representative in Birmingham, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Modern Woodmen for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great if you have a great region to work in. Management can make or break an agent's career. - The business is extremely tough and extremely rewarding. Work hard in the first few years and you won't have to nearly work as hard later on and can enjoy your life with a great income. - The fraternal side of the business is wonderful. You really do get a chance to give back to your community.

    Cons

    - Can be tough to get "no's" so much but that's just business. - This is a life insurance company. The compensation, marketing and direction of the company favors selling life insurance so much more than anything else. Modern Woodmen markets themselves as a financial services company and while that is true to an extent. They are mostly a life insurance company. Most of the reps have 0 clue on how to properly build a...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Communication is vital. I feel like my director and manager are terrible communicators. I feel like I am on my own and not really part of a team.

    Modern Woodmen2019-08-01
  3. "The worst career choice I have ever made"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Representative in Highlands Ranch, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Modern Woodmen full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The opportunity to have a flexible schedule. They do offer great health insurance. I really loved the opportunities through the member chapters to support your local community.

    Cons

    They encourage their financial representatives to promote themselves as financial advisors. The job is 90% selling life insurance and annuities. Management has zero knowledge about anything else related to financial planning. 100% commission and no support. A very scary culture that encourages unethical selling - you will get treated so horribly if you sell anything that isn’t a Modern Woodmen product even if it’s the...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Train your Regional Directors and Managing Directors. They are promoting SO MANY conflicts of interest and poor practices. Consider updating your business practices to give advisors more options and better technology.

    Modern Woodmen2019-08-17
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Not what you would think."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Modern Woodmen full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Modern Woodmen is a decent company. Great healthcare and a pension if you survive 20 years. Working with the community.

    Cons

    Not well known and small compared to other investment companies. Management where I am is a complete joke and it just climbed up the ladder. Products are out dated and interest rates are super low. It’s a tough business and you need a lot of support. It’s definitely possible but you will have to become a registered representative to get anywhere in this business. Extremely old school and conservative.

    Advice to Management

    Find something different.

    Modern Woodmen2019-06-19
  5. "Commission paid sales position no base salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Financial Representative Intern in Toledo, OH

    I have been working at Modern Woodmen for less than a year

    Pros

    It is is a great company with great financial benefits. They have uncapped commissions.

    Cons

    There is no base salary so unless you make sales you won't make money.

    Modern Woodmen2019-05-21
  6. "Good benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Modern Woodmen full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and work life balance.

    Cons

    Manager can be substandard depending on the department. Pay is also low for the job requirements and demands.

    Advice to Management

    Get better managers. Slackers need fired or some type of consequence.

    Modern Woodmen2019-05-16
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Total boys club and you are only a slave to the work day"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Modern Woodmen

    Pros

    Okay pay and good benefits

    Cons

    Total boys club and the workload is not worth the money.

    Advice to Management

    Ease up and hire better managers. There are a couple of really awesome managers. You should hire more of those people.

    Modern Woodmen2019-05-18
  8. "Great benefits and salary, but can be restrictive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Modern Woodmen full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great benefits. Generally pays above market. Very stable organization.

    Cons

    Can be restrictive when it comes to positions (stay in your lane). Business dress policy is not popular.

    Advice to Management

    Move away from rigid command and control structure.

    Modern Woodmen2019-05-02
  9. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Advisor in Newport Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Modern Woodmen full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    benefits, flexibility and partners as well as clients

    Cons

    you get what you put in

    Modern Woodmen2019-04-16
  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Modern Woodmen full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Awesome work culture for all employees.

    Cons

    A lot of competition amongst departments

    Modern Woodmen2019-04-09
Found 155 reviews